We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JL Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JL Bangkok
Ranked #141 of 615 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

i have stayed there twice in the past 2 weeks and each time it hasnt let me down..its not 5 star so dont book and think it is!
The place is clean and basic..does have english tv! and the staff i must say are just wonderful...take it from a honest reviwer abd someone who has lived in Thailand and this is a good place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
29
31
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am just now enjoying my favorite papaya salad at the Blue Restaurant of the JL Bangkok hotel. Coming back for a second time to teach at Ramkamhaeng University, it was a pleasure to be greeted by Meow at the airport and to arrive at what feels like a second home and see wonderful familiar faces. The owner, Julie and her husband, are so lovely and gracious as well as their son and daughter-in-law, and sweet grandchild. Their warm and friendly family is exactly the atmosphere of the hotel, restaurant and staff.

There was no doubt that I would stay here again as I did the first time in the Fall of 2011 since it was such a great experience. Staying here for a month to teach immersive courses is a great experience itself, but alot of work and it can also be exhausting and stressful. Therefore, coming "home" to such a wonderful oasis in the midst of busy Bankapi is perfect.

The hotel is small and charming with very clean rooms, wifi, cable and phone. The restaurant is wonderful--both the atmosphere and the food! As well, they also provides room-service, which can be handy. There is also a lovely garden that is well-kept and a perfect spot to relax away from the "hussle-and-bussle".

As I did last year, I'll stay on a bit after I finish teaching and while I could relocate to one of the more center city neighborhoods I won't because I enjoy so much staying here and it is central enough and easy to navigate to all of the neighborhoods and easily access the airport. As well, the room rates for such a great hotel with its outstanding staff can't be beat!

It is nice to come "home" again!

(i rarely write reviews because i'm always running around and busy, so that i take a time-out to do this means something!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great location with a 20 baht bus (20 min. walk) to the Skytrain, it makes it easy to get around. The biggest bonus is the friendly & helpful staff, who really make you feel welcome. Good price for a squeaky clean room.This will become our spot as we transit Bangkok...Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Girdwood_AlaskaSgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Firstly location. Great location for the airport. From the skytrain is a 50 baht taxi ride or a 20 minute walk, but everything you need is within walking distance of the hotel. Supermarket, cinema, shops, restaurants etc. Apart from the cinema however there is little else to do in the evenings unless you are prepared to take a taxi or skytrain ride.
Congratulations to the staff at JL, very friendly and welcoming and will go out of their way to help with any problems. I was having great difficulties booking onward flights and hotels but with JL's vauable help I got the problems sorted out.
My room was great, good size with a large queen or king size bed and was very clean. I had one evening meal in the downstairs restaurant and this was well prepared and good value.
Just a few niggles stops me from giving this hotel a higher rating and they are just minor niggles but I feel I should mention them so that future guests are aware of them before they arrive. Firstly there is no soap in the bathroom, just a very small bottle of shower gel, which for a couple would hardly last a day. Being a traditionalist I do like soap so my first purchase at the 7/11 was a bar of soap. Also the shower is electric and the water pressure is very poor.
Breakfast was adequate although the food was served luke warm at best, cold fried egg is not the choicest of food ! But there was a reasonable selection,
Please be aware that although your booking agent may have taken your credit card details, like mine did; at check out i found that payment had not been made by credit card and I had to pay the bill in cash which meant a speedy trip to the atm.
All in all JL was good value for money, but i have to admit that the shower and location might just make me look for an alternative hotel next time. But thank you JL staff, you were great !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I recently visited Bangkok on a business trip and stayed at "one of the most relaxing and comfortable" Hotel I can remember for a long time. for the price and the convenient location having access to department stores and of course 7-eleven, there is even a mall close by. The hotel restaurant served excellent food and seemed to be very clean, the service was fantastic. For the money and a most comfortable and enjoyable stay in Bangkok, Try the JL Bangkok.

Room Tip: The single room with a queen size bed was great. Other folks I talked to that stayed on the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We did expect little for the price and that's what we got. We choose the hotel because of the good and quick connection from the airport. Actually nobody said how far it is to walk from the railway station which connects to the airport, and the hotel website indicates a five minutes distance but this means by car!! In the map it seemed to be close but with laguage better take a cab!! Room was clean and had Wifi. But there was this big motorway bridge passing just 150mts. from the hotel which was an annoying noise at night! The breakfast was too little, but once again we did not expected much for the price.
The streets around the hotel are busy and there is street food as well as food stalls in the near by malls. I guess there are better hotel options close to the airport so I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolivia-Online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was my fifth trip to Bangkok and staying at the JL Bangkok. Actually, I feel like coming home. The hotel management and staff, the cozy ambiance, smiles and welcoming attitude, JLB is certainly the best place to relax and get to know Thai wonderful people. I enjoy being able to walk around the neighborhood, “window shopping” through dozens of vendors along the sideways, or at the two close by malls, visiting the temple across the street and to go around the city I may take the river taxi two blocks away from JLB, or an inexpensive taxi …your choice: car or motorcycle.

Good food is also a JL Bangkok attraction that goes beyond exotic tastes. A meal at JLB is enriched by a family like environment regardless of the language and culture barriers.
Definitely, if you are looking for fanciness and extravagance then JLB is not your place. If you want comfort and respectful friendliness “the Thai people way” all the signs point to JL Bangkok.

Room Tip: Corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Educadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seasons Bangkok Huamark
The Seasons Bangkok Huamark
#708 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dynasty Hotel
The Dynasty Hotel
#543 of 852 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Patra Suvarnabhumi
The Patra Suvarnabhumi
#693 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sunshine Apartment
#722 of 1,155 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Aleaf Bangkok Hotel
#299 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Ramkhamhaeng
Regent Ramkhamhaeng
#639 of 1,155 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JL Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JL Bangkok

Property: JL Bangkok
Address: Soi Ramkhamhaeng 23, Huamark | Bangkapi, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — JL Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 50 rooms of contemporary design and hi-technology provide a sophisticated experience for both leisure and business travellers. Guests can stay connected to the world with our wireless Internet access in all rooms. And at the end of a great day enjoy a night of blissful sleep on our exclusive bed. We're just 15 minutes away from the International airport and is located near one of the best night markets in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your JL Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jl Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing