We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True urban oasis”
Review of Baan Saladaeng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Saladaeng
Ranked #134 of 753 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Urban Oasis - this is what the owners call this place themselves. And they have every right to do that.
We stayed here for four nights at the beginning and the end of your Thailand trip. The hotel is located in a small alley, but very close to Silom Metro station and Saladaeng Skytrain station. So you have perfect transportation connections, are right in the middle of the city, and still, the hotel is so quiet and peaceful you can hardly believe it.
Staff was extremely friendly and very helpful with finding trains and hotels for our onward journey. The breakfast was simple but good. And we even had a beautiful garden loggia at your room (number 501 - "Urban Resort") with a small bathtub on it, where we could cool our feet after having walked long hours through this exciting city.
A true urban oasis, to where we have come back already, and where we will come back next time we go to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuuttipukki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 148 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

I travel a lot in SE Asia and pass through Bangkok 4 or 6 times a year. Baan Sala Daeng is perfect for what I need: a low-cost, safe, clean room, breakfast included, within a few minutes walking distance of Silom Road, the MRT (subway), and skytrain. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast filling. It's a very small place with only 11 rooms that was converted from a couple of side-by-side row houses. Each room has it's own style and theme. As a small guest house you should not expect a lot of amenities. No room service, and no elevator although some rooms are on the 3rd or 4th floors.

If you are passing through Bangkok and need a reasonably priced and centrally located place to stay for a night or two then the Baan Saladaeng is a great choice. If you are coming to Thailand for the first time as a tourist then you would probably be better off staying in the Khao San Road area (for young backpackers) or at a nice 4 or 5 star hotel with a swimming pool (for those with a bigger budget or higher expectations for accommodations).

Room Tip: If you are looking for an inexpensive room close to Silom Road and don't need a lot of space, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctordonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

excellent newly renovated rooms very close to the gay area of Bangkok. 5 minute walk from the "DJ station" the best gay night club in Asia. Also minutes from shopping and the train. Can be noisy at night until 11-12ish, but hey... you are on vacation! Party HARD~!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in the room called New Siam, big and comfortable, really nice, friendly, balcony to a quiet dead-end road. The staff was extraordinary nice, breakfast was good. The big rooms seem to be a good option. You can see all rooms (each is different) on their website.

Room Tip: Look on the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank womenonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Look no further if you are on budget and looking for big, clean, designer concept rooms 5 mins walk to Silom shopping, night market, BTS, Patpong pubs and great food. Baan Saladaeng swept me off my feet when I booked and stayed in Neo Siam suite room for 2 nights.

Jin Jin the hotel owner personally looks into every need and speaks good english. The only setback is that there's no lift in the hotel but the highest room is on 5th floor. This will deter my stay here because I met Europeans, Americans,Thai locals and Asians who enjoyed their stay here, a few even on long term basis.

Check it out!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lijewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

So we were at a loss about where to stay in Bangkok in terms of area, but through a bit of research we stumbled across this beauty. It was quite hard to find at first being located down a small badly signposted side road, but when we eventually found it the location was great (near to the public transport network). The staff were wonderfully warm and friendly and showed us to our room. The room was immaculately clean, spacious, had a huge bed, a nice bathroom and the air conditioning was very VERY welcome. The hotel was very calm and quiet being tucked away from the main busy roads so we got a very good nights sleep.

In the morning we went downstairs to check out the breakfast which was perfect. They offered eggs cooked anyway you wanted, the full continental breakfast etc. We were pretty happy. The only problem is the limited space for eating - but the other guests were pretty friendly so shuffled along to accommodate us.

We were so impressed with the place we extended our stay, and also booked it for the end of our Thailand trip before we flew home. It is a great place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1m0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel has a very good location and the room was big, illuminated. Everything was clean and all the furniture was new. Maybe, the breakfast could be improved but it was good enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignacio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Inn Saladaeng
The Inn Saladaeng
#332 of 893 in Bangkok
257 reviews
Silom
Bed by City Surawong-Patpong
Bed by City Surawong-Patpong
#313 of 893 in Bangkok
67 reviews
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
#275 of 893 in Bangkok
1,609 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
#137 of 893 in Bangkok
625 reviews
Silom
AT EASE saladaeng by AETAS
AT EASE saladaeng by AETAS
#344 of 893 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Saladaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Saladaeng

Address: 69/2 Soi Saladaeng, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 753 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Saladaeng 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bangkok's newest designer residence, situated in the heart of Bangkok’s downtown Silom. Baan Saladaeng consists of 9 individually designed guest rooms, suites and penthouses each with its own unique style and feel. Baan Saladaneg is the destination for all discerning business travelers, leisure tourists and long-term visitors alike, seeking the comforts of a unique stay in Bangkok. Located in a quiet cosy soi just off Soi Sala Daeng, it is within 5 minutes walk of Silom Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Saladaeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Saladaeng Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing