We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Baan Saladaeng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Saladaeng
Ranked #147 of 742 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A hidden gem
This small, friendly boutique hotel is hidden at the end of a quiet dead-end, soi which doesn’t even have a name.
Most rooms are large and comfortable although some rooms are smaller. Each room has a theme and is decorated differently, so no 2 rooms are the same. I stayed in 2 rooms and in both rooms, the TV was not working correctly when I arrived. The problem was simply that the previous guests had played with the controls and got everything out of sync. Reception will help if your TV doesn’t receive a good selection of channels. The air-con worked quietly but the curtains do not keep out the light and the room was very bright in the mornings.
My only unfavorable comment is that there is no lift and the stairs are narrow with low ceilings in a couple of places. Reception is glad to carry luggage, but people who have difficulty climbing steps should request a room on a lower floor. Breakfast is limited but perfectly adequate.
The Sala Daeng Skytrain station and also the Central World Mall are about 5 minutes away. A night market and the Patpong area are close too.
The MK Gold restaurant just across Sala Daeng street is good If you enjoy cooking your own food at your table, hotpot style. It belongs to a large chain of MK restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 147 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Cool little hip hotel with very friendly staff. The room are nice and comfortable with air conditioning (a must in bangkok). You defineately get more for your money here.

The location is near some street dinning but you can get everywhere in town via cheap taxi ($1-4).

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had been staying at the So Sofitel on Saton Road and was loving it, but the 200 + a night bill was too much. Tripadvisor suggested Baan Saladaeng so I booked it and it worked out brilliant. The lobby is nothing special, but the staff was helpful and always keen to help with any problem. My Suit was on the top floor of a five story walk up, and I wasn't expecting much, but when to doors opened I was blow away by the huge well appointed suite with tasteful design, and a comfy bed. It was bigger than my room at the Sofitel and for 1/4 of the price. There is an great afternoon Market right next door, where you can get an amazing meal fifty Baht, and it's just a block away from the sky train. For travelers who don't have bottomless pockets, you will be very happy with your stay here. Next time I'm in BKK, it's where I will be staying for sure.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor, a bit of a hike to get to but worth the climb. Absolutely loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Centrally located at a walking distance from BTS (Skytrain) and MRT (Subway) stations.
We stayed for 2 nights in the spacious and very clean Pop-Art Mania Room.
Breakfast included
All and all, this guesthouse give great value for money

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I doubted a long time about whether I should share this with anyone... or keep this just for myself.

Baan Saladaeng is my favorite place in Bangkok. It is at 5 min walk from crazy-chaotic Silom Road, with connections to both the BTS skytrain and the MRT subway, and 5 minutes away from Sathorn Road, with all the offices and embassies, but it is an oasis of calm and quietness, located in a quiet subsoi (so sub it even has no name or number).

Baan Saladaeng is actually two adjacent converted houses, turned into a designer B&B. Each room has a special theme and design. The lower-floor rooms are slightly smaller; the higher-floor rooms are actually very spacey ! One of my favorites is 502... and it is huge, even including a terrace.The place is absolutely quiet (I guess the staircase noises other reviewers commented about only apply to the lower floors, as I never heard a thing). Bathrooms are good and spacey. Aircon is working well. WIFI everywhere and it is for free (really for free).

Many people have written about the stairs... yes, climbing 5 or 6 floors in the Bangkok heat is sometimes a bit of a challenge.

And then the staff... they are absolutely wonderful. The cleaning ladies are oh so charming and not intrusive at all. They keep the place immaculately clean. One could (and I would if challenged) eat from the floor... The reception staff (a few of them are from the Philippines and speak English very well; others are from Taiwan or local Thais) are extremely friendly and helpful and always in good humor. And Jin... is nothing less than a gem.

It is always with pain in my heart (Bangkok does this to me) that I leave this place... and it is with great anticipation (to return) that I quickly book my next visit. Baan Saladaeng, Room 502...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDBGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean, centrally located and reasonably priced B&B this is the place for you. One could be critical but what do you expect for £40 per night. Clean, Air Con. The only downfall is the stairs. We were on 6, that's a long climb when worse for wear or carrying bags. All the rooms are off the central stairwell, with people coming and going and flip-flopping up and down the stairs all night I can see how this could be a nightmare. Room 601 is basically a glass box on the roof. Good view, but needed the air con on continually to stay cool. The electric motor on the water pump by the room was irritating....anyway enough said....you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I think the main problem that people have with this guest house is that they are expecting a hotel. It's not, it's a guest house. It is a (mainly) clean, comfortable, nicely set up and well run guest house. It can be a bit hard to find, down the end of the small Soi, but once you are inside the staff are truly friendly and eager to help.
We had the Mediterranean room on the top floor and the 6 flights (there is no elevator) were a bit of a struggle in the heat some days. Of course when we arrived the staff were only too willing to carry our bags up for us (poor guys). Once in the room with the aircon on full, with its cool white tiles, or standing under the rain shower on the deck, the room was quite lovely.
Breakfast was nice every morning with toast and jam, decent coffee and eggs and sausages or ham.
We particularly loved the cleaning lady who was slightly OCD. With our shoes lined up in order of size and everything on the counter tops the same.
I was in a foul mood when we arrived for a number of reasons but it only took about half an hour before I calmed out and started to enjoy this place for what it was - not The Ritz, but not The Hotel From Hell either.

Room Tip: Unless you want to do the stair master several times a day, try for something on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Inn Saladaeng
The Inn Saladaeng
#330 of 891 in Bangkok
254 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
#137 of 891 in Bangkok
614 reviews
Silom
Bed by City Surawong-Patpong
Bed by City Surawong-Patpong
#315 of 891 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
#276 of 891 in Bangkok
1,594 reviews
Silom
Silom One
Silom One
#29 of 742 in Bangkok
98 reviews
Silom
Park Saladaeng
Park Saladaeng
#43 of 742 in Bangkok
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Saladaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Saladaeng

Address: 69/2 Soi Saladaeng, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 742 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Saladaeng 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bangkok's newest designer residence, situated in the heart of Bangkok’s downtown Silom. Baan Saladaeng consists of 9 individually designed guest rooms, suites and penthouses each with its own unique style and feel. Baan Saladaneg is the destination for all discerning business travelers, leisure tourists and long-term visitors alike, seeking the comforts of a unique stay in Bangkok. Located in a quiet cosy soi just off Soi Sala Daeng, it is within 5 minutes walk of Silom Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Saladaeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Saladaeng Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing