We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, excellent location, friendly staff”
Review of Baan Saladaeng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Saladaeng
Ranked #121 of 698 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The place is clean, modern, airy and friendly. I booked room 502 and my jaw dropped at the size of it - I'm used to rooms in budget hotels where you can barely walk around the bed, but this one was large and came with a well-illuminated balcony with a moderately pleasant view. Even the bathroom was spacious to match. The furnishings are minimal but extremely functional, the staff is great and breakfast in the tiny lounge is enjoyable. Wi-Fi works wonderfully everywhere. It's hard to say what more could be expected at a price of under 2000 baht (65 US dollars) per night in a convenient downtown area. I consider it a gem and I'm sure I'll be back.

A word about the staircase: some reviews led me to think the staircase becomes narrow on higher floors, but that is not the case. The steps themselves become narrow and that makes the staircase rather steep. But anyone who can do ordinary brisk walking and is capable of climbing a few floors will have no problem.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are larger and more airy, but that is to be set off against the climb - for those h...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SM-Bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Baan Saladaeng
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 146 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Don't be put off by some of the less-than-positive online comments. Give this inn a try and you will be happy with your choice like I did.

I came with a family of 4 adults and stayed in 2 rooms on the 2nd floor. These rooms are the smallest and cheapest in the inn, but nevertheless, they are of decent size and are bright and clean. We even noticed that they change the shower curtains almost daily during housekeeping, so thumbs up for that despite being just an inn!

The breakfast selection is pretty standard with the usual ham/sausage and eggs, toast with jam, cereal with milk. However, I find myself looking forward to breakfast every morning. The food is fresh, properly/hygienically covered and neatly placed on the counter, making it look appetizing though its just simple fare. Ham/sausage and eggs is prepared upon request, so these will always be served piping hot (which is not the case in many hotels).

I also love the staffs' absolute dedication to their work. They are always replenishing the food, topping up the juice (even though the jug is still 3/4 full), rearranging the plates and aligning the cutlery in the same direction. Hence its always a joy to have breakfast in the very cozy lounge, and watching the wonderful staff work.

The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Some of the speak excellent English though not everyone.

Location wise, there is nothing much to complain about. The inn is within walking distance to both the BTS skytrain and the MRT.

Overall, a very nice experience staying in Baan Saladaeng. Would recommend this to anyone who is not looking to stay in a hotel.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the guesthouse, only stairs. So for the elderly who have problems climbing...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Bangkok was our first stop on our honeymoon and let me just say that San Francisco is enough "city" as I can take, so I was completely overwhelmed and cranky! As soon as we walked into Baan Saladaeng and were greeted by B, I breathed a sigh of relief! We stayed in the Urban Loft (I would have like something a bit floufier, but the hubster liked the Urban Loft a lot), which was very spacious, clean, and definitely an oasis in the hustle and bustle that is Bangkok. We adored the staff- everyone was so kind, helpful, and friendly. Special shout out to B and Greg (I'm not the best with names, I hope that's right! He had studied at UC Berkeley and we had a great conversation about the Bay Area). The breakfast was tasty and plentiful as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and frankly, aside from Lumpini Park and the amazing street food, Baan Saladaeng was one of my top Bangkok highlights!

Room Tip: I recommend paying a bit extra for the bigger ensuite rooms as you get much more for not much!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girl_Ito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a very good experience in this hotel. Our first impression while entering the hotel’s street was anxiety! But once in the hotel, we felt completely at ease and secured. The rooms are clean and tidy with lot of originality. We had the Pop Art mania room and then moved to the Urban Loft one. They had different atmospheres but both cool and pleasant.
All the staffs are extremely friendly, kind and caring. Their excellent attitude is the essence of this hotel. We were surprised how each new staff we met was equally so nice and professional. The room service and the breakfast service are noticeably good too. They prove customer care to be much worthy than a site. They provide exceptional 24H service and security.
The hotel is close to markets, night clubs, shopping malls, banks, restaurants, pubs, taxi & tuk-tuk services, sky train, massages and any other good things in Bangkok.
We will sure get back there if we ever go to Bangkok again.

The laundry service next to the hotel has the same friendly and caring service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Overall: A lovely oasis tucked away on a backstreet in a central neighborhood in Bangkok. Excellent value for the money.

Pros:
- The staff were amazing, friendly and knowledgeable. All had a perfect command of English. They recommended restaurants, bars, and arranged transportation.
- The room was stunningly nice. Large, airy, and tranquil, with a little balcony. The bathroom looked a little older, but was still clean and functional.

Cons:
None

Room Tip: We stayed in the Royal Blue room. It was fantastic. I imagine the other rooms would be equally nic...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstravels-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at Baan Saladaeng twice for a total of 7 nights, in the same room each time. Recommend looking at the photos on the web site to pick a room, as each room has a different design and individual decor. Very close to the Skytrain station at Sala Daeng which is a good option to get around Bangkok.

I had a minor problem with my room which was rectified by the manager to my complete satisfaction.

A good Bangkok accommodation choice!

Room Tip: Consider a lower room as the stairs are very steep.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this guest house. A big plus is the proximity to both the sky train and the underground. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us good advice concerning activities in Bangkok and routes to travel. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the breakfast good value.

The only negative is that the guest house is hidden down a side street with a very smelly drain at the top, but then again, all the drains in Bangkok are rather smelly!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Inn Saladaeng
The Inn Saladaeng
#342 of 881 in Bangkok
244 reviews
Silom
Park Saladaeng
Park Saladaeng
#44 of 698 in Bangkok
94 reviews
Silom
Silom One
Silom One
#28 of 698 in Bangkok
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Urban House
Urban House
#81 of 1,283 in Bangkok
178 reviews
Silom
The Pad Silom Convent Serviced Apartment
Silom
Silom Forest
Silom Forest
#505 of 1,283 in Bangkok
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Saladaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Saladaeng

Address: 69/2 Soi Saladaeng, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 698 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $32 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Saladaeng 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bangkok's newest designer residence, situated in the heart of Bangkok’s downtown Silom. Baan Saladaeng consists of 9 individually designed guest rooms, suites and penthouses each with its own unique style and feel. Baan Saladaneg is the destination for all discerning business travelers, leisure tourists and long-term visitors alike, seeking the comforts of a unique stay in Bangkok. Located in a quiet cosy soi just off Soi Sala Daeng, it is within 5 minutes walk of Silom Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Saladaeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Saladaeng Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing