We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
51
63
28
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
63
28
8
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 156 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a very good experience in this hotel. Our first impression while entering the hotel’s street was anxiety! But once in the hotel, we felt completely at ease and secured. The rooms are clean and tidy with lot of originality. We had the Pop Art mania room and then moved to the Urban Loft one. They had different atmospheres but both cool and pleasant.
All the staffs are extremely friendly, kind and caring. Their excellent attitude is the essence of this hotel. We were surprised how each new staff we met was equally so nice and professional. The room service and the breakfast service are noticeably good too. They prove customer care to be much worthy than a site. They provide exceptional 24H service and security.
The hotel is close to markets, night clubs, shopping malls, banks, restaurants, pubs, taxi & tuk-tuk services, sky train, massages and any other good things in Bangkok.
We will sure get back there if we ever go to Bangkok again.

The laundry service next to the hotel has the same friendly and caring service.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Overall: A lovely oasis tucked away on a backstreet in a central neighborhood in Bangkok. Excellent value for the money.

Pros:
- The staff were amazing, friendly and knowledgeable. All had a perfect command of English. They recommended restaurants, bars, and arranged transportation.
- The room was stunningly nice. Large, airy, and tranquil, with a little balcony. The bathroom looked a little older, but was still clean and functional.

Cons:
None

Room tip: We stayed in the Royal Blue room. It was fantastic. I imagine the other rooms would be equally nice.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstravels-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at Baan Saladaeng twice for a total of 7 nights, in the same room each time. Recommend looking at the photos on the web site to pick a room, as each room has a different design and individual decor. Very close to the Skytrain station at Sala Daeng which is a good option to get around Bangkok.

I had a minor problem with my room which was rectified by the manager to my complete satisfaction.

A good Bangkok accommodation choice!

Room tip: Consider a lower room as the stairs are very steep.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this guest house. A big plus is the proximity to both the sky train and the underground. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us good advice concerning activities in Bangkok and routes to travel. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the breakfast good value.

The only negative is that the guest house is hidden down a side street with a very smelly drain at the top, but then again, all the drains in Bangkok are rather smelly!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

At Baan Saladaeng, there are only 11 rooms, each individually designed (though not spectacularly so): you can expect most of the rooms to be fully booked during peak season. The owners are quite decent in the sense that the price is very reasonable. The rooms in the 2nd floor are smaller and cheaper than those in the higher floors. The staircase gets steeper and narrower if you stay in the higher floors (4th upwards), and so be careful when you lug your suitcase upstairs. The building itself has a bit of musky smell, and so fans are installed along the stairwell to increase air circulation. You may have to bring your own shampoo and soap since the hotel supplies two tiny vials that are not sufficient to wash your hair or body. Although the idea of individually designed rooms is an excellent one, the workmanship is poor as you can see dents in the wall and plastered gaps in bathrooms. Still, how can you complain at such an affordable price? Breakfast is usual eggs, bread, coffee, and some fruit. Service is very friendly, especially by Rioben and the female owner. If you are suffer from claustrophobia, you may not want to stay here because the stairwell is very tight & steep, and breakfast lounge area allows only 3 or 4 tables (many guests have to sit outside). Cozy as the dining area may be, you can hear every conversation next door to you. Final note: this is a very gay-friendly hotel because of the location (Saladaeng & Silom form part of the gay ghetto of Bangkok).

Room tip: (a) If you don't like to climb stairs, don't choose the upper floors. Stay in rooms at the 2nd level. (b) If you book this hotel on your own, cash payment gets a good discount over credit card charges.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews