We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding seafood buffet, wonderful river view, excellent service.”
Review of Lord Jim's

Lord Jim's
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #241 of 14,889 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $54 - $76
Cuisines: Sushi, European, Mediterranean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Description: Boasting uninterrupted views of the river, this seafood and prime cut grill is a local institution and one of Bangkok's most beloved places to meet. The sumptuous lunchtime buffet of seafood, roast meats, international dishes and Lord Jim's classics such as pan-fried foie gras are all offered on table-clothed tables. By night, Lord Jim's transforms in to a more relaxed and vibrant setting with an à la carte menu of sharing plates, sustainably-sourced fish and prime cuts of meat cooked over the wood-fired grill. An extensive wine list, featuring both new and old-world wines, is also available for guests to enjoy. After 6:30pm, guests are kindly asked to wear elegant attire and proper footwear, while gentlemen are requested to wear long trousers and closed shoes.
Reviewed February 2, 2016

Each time we travel to Bangkok, a visit to this restaurant is a must! The seafood buffet is possibly the best anywhere, and there is always something happening on the Praya River to see from the 1st floor vantage point of this restaurant. As you can expect from the Mandarin Oriental, the service cannot be faulted. We'll be back.....

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kikcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Dear Stewart S,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience at Lord Jim’s on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that we could provide you with our legendary service and outstanding food quality whilst you enjoyed the pictures view overlooking Chao Phraya River. We always strive to deliver the best products and experience to our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

We look very much forward to welcome you back soon again to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Marc Epper
Assistant Director Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 226 of 678 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

Went there twice and were impressed both times. The quality of food was just superb and the service was just as good. Will definitely go back again!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Burapa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Dear Burapa T,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that we could provide you with our legendary service and outstanding food quality. We always strive to deliver the best products and experience to our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

We look very much forward to welcome you back soon again to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Marc Epper
Assistant Director Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2016

Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our visit, but the price tag was way too steep for the food we got. Nothing really outrageous. You do pay for the name of the hotel and maybe the location. We have dined better in Bangkok many times, for a fraction of the price.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Cresentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

Dear Cresentina,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on TripAdvisor regarding your dining experience at Lord Jim's.

We tried to contact you to discuss further about your recent experience at Lord Jim's, however, we were unable to reach you. Kindly let us know how we can establish contact with you.

Kind regards,

Marc Epper
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage
mepper@mohg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

It's rather famous for seafood buffet. First of all I did not really know it's seafood so a bit disappointed. Sushi and sashimi are all nice and lobsters Also. But if we pay this much amount, I think we better try Sunday branch which have beef and others. .

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank triptostar2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Dear triptostar2015,

Thank you for taking the time to share a TripAdvisor review regarding your dining experience at Lord Jim's.

We tried to contact you to discuss further about your recent experience at The Authors’ Lounge, however, we were unable to reach you. Kindly let us know how we can establish contact with you.

Kind regards,

Marc Epper
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage
mepper@mohg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

The seafood buffet was by far the best we had in Bangkok, fresh and unique, Ikura, salmon and fresh tunas, varieties of dimsum made at the moment, foie gras and huge selection of fresh salads bar, diversity of meat and huge selection of sushi and sashimi...the view on the river was unique and the selection of wine from around the world. The perfect place to start the new year with friends.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank timeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Dear timeway,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our New Year’s buffet at Lord Jim’s and that we excelled in providing you with a memorable dining experience. We always strive to deliver the best quality products and experience to our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

We look very much forward to welcome you back soon again to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Marc Epper
Assistant Director Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Jim's also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Lord Jim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.