We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome adventure...”
Review of Absolute Explorer

Absolute Explorer
Ranked #70 of 212 Tours in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Absolute Explorer are specialized in tailor-made travel itineraries for discerning travelers seeking authentic experiences in Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar and Laos.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“Awesome adventure...”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

From the first moment being greeted by Sim (our tour guide) to saying good bye, What an awesome experience. If its getting back to the raw bones on a holiday and wanting to experience the culture and learn a couple of things about the people. This was it. A local train ride to the country side then on a push bike around the farming district with short stops to try out the vegetation on the side of the road. Stopping at a little village for a nice cool drink and a chat to the locals, this is fantastic, Their warm smiles and genuine curiosity makes you feel special. Lunchtime was a real treat and very delicious then hit the road again (bike) and seeing the local farmers waving as you passed made you feel blessed. We felt very privileged when Sim suggested another quick break at a school where we were encouraged to talk a little about ourselves and teach a song in English to the students. Remarkably they understood and sang wonderfully. Our day was slowly coming to an end. Back to the station for a hour train ride to Bangkok and absorbing the days events. The emotional journey is hard to explain you just have to do it. P.S Sim, Thank you so very much for looking after us and sharing your country with us, Without this experience it wouldn't of made our holiday complete.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bellisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    19
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Such a fun day!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Chose this tour as we have done almost everything on offer in Bangkok. My friend and I (both ladies in our 50's) arrived at the pick up spot 30 mins late due to some bad taxi advice only to find that our guide had already gone to the train station. A phone call to the office had her rushing back to collect us calling that the train was about to leave. It was pulling out as we got to the station so after frantic gesturing and yelling the train driver was called and it came to a skreeching stop. So relieved as there are limited trains to our destination. A 1 hr trip along lush green fields and then we were assigned bikes for the day. Not brand new models but adequate and safe.The terrain was lovely and flat with a few crazy bridges, a stop at the chiefs house for fruit, stops along the way visiting and resting. Our trip included a stop at the local school which was probably the highlight listening to the kids practise their english and ask questions. Took loads of photos here and all the kids ham'd it up. Sad to leave but left them with enough candy to rot all their teeth. Lunch was amazing. Great food in a lovely purpose built shelter which, during the right season would be over the carp nursery but alas the fish had been harvested and the water drained. All in all the day was one to remember and we would definately recommend this to anyone looking for a little exercise and something different.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mog11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Panida is such a lovely guide, friendly, fun and gives you lots of infomation along the way, we were a small tour of only 3 people which was great, the highlight was stopping for lunch WOW! Something I will not forget. I would reccomend this tour to anyone!! there are no hills! Dont worry about the weather it is very refreshing if it rains!

Thanks again and see you when we are back in Thailand!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GGPP2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Bangkok hilight”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My friend and I had the most brilliant day with Absolute Explorer in Bangkok. Our guide Pew met us at our hotel, gave us a quick tour of a local food market, bundled us onto a train and gave us an amazing day. We travelled for an hour on the train before commencing our tour. We then had an easy ride around a rural village. We were taught about local foods, customs and rural life. Our lunch was provided and can only be described as a culinary banquet. We visted a local school and joined in on a class. We had a fantastic time with our lovely guide. Pew returned us to our hotel. The service was amazing, ranging from providing a vegetarian lunch as requested, to the supply of bottled water and chilled clothes. I can not recommend this tour company (and our guide) more highly...10/10 from me!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Take this tour!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Other bike tours are offered in Bangkok, and some tour places did not have information on the Absolute Explorer one... but this would be our daughter's second time with them so we persisted. It was worth it. It was just the three of us and our guide. Panida was wonderful. Travelling with the locals on the train and then seeing the countryside on a bike was a great change from the tourist side of Bangkok. Highly, highly recommend this and don't be worried if you haven't ridden a bike for years!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absolute Explorer also viewed

 

Been to Absolute Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing