We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best thai meals I have had on this trip (and i tried many!)”

Kinnaree Gourmet Thai Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #659 of 10,703 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“one of the best thai meals I have had on this trip (and i tried many!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

excellent food in a lovely setting. the service is very good and the food is delicious. try the appetizer that have shrimp that come served in a lotus flower leaf. If you like soft shell crab you must try the soft shell crab in curry. The banana leaf salad and the steamed fish with lime were also highlights. It is in an old house surrounded by lovely gardens about 500 feet down soi 4 on the left. I recommend sitting inside even though the outside looks lovely, as there can be mosquitos in the garden!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank admglick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    122
    33
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Went to Kinnaree for lunch last Sunday, because my favorite restaurant was still closed. I had heard from Kinnaree Restaurant before, so I wanted to give it a try.
However, it was a very disappointing experience. The food was pricey and wasn't any special. I expected good quality food for the price I had to pay, but it was just an average meal.
There are a lot of great restaurants in the area (for example, try Suda in Soi 14) where you pay half the price and can get delicious food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Numanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best thai food in Thailand,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

charming atmosphere a service
Beautiful music and dance. The staff are charming and speak fluent English Spanish a day Thai. Wonderful night out.
Really recommend Crying Tiger

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjostone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food; Romantic Atmosphere; A Little Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

First, it's a little hard to find--tuck away down a driveway off Soi 8--probably a large two-story house converted into a restaurant. Beautiful exterior patio with huge tree and outside bar. Service was friendly and impeccable. An extensive menu of authentic Thai cuisine with excellent seafood dishes in particular. I had the sea bass; she had the river prawns--both were superb! With a deep fried shrimp egg roll appetizer added in, I was a little taken aback when the bill arrived. Reminded more of overpriced restaurants in California. But we had no complaints about the food, the atmosphere was fantastic and the service was impeccable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Appaling Service and below average Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My family and I visited this restaurant on our recent visit to Thailand. When we arrived at the restaurant we were very impressed by the decor. It is a lovely looking restaurant. There was a performer inside playing an instrument which added to the lovely ambiance.

We were all excited for some great Thai food but it was not to be. Not even close!

We ordered our starters. No issue there.

Waiting for the mains, they brought every meal at different times rather than all being served within a couple of minutes of each other so we could all eat together. 3 of the meals were stone cold and had to be reheated. One of the meals we didn't even order and after telling the waiter we did not order it he then came back on two more occasions to question us and ask if we were sure we did not order it. In the end we had to be quite abrupt for him to understand.

After all that only 5 meals came out and we had to repeatedly ask how long the sixth meal was going to take and were told each time 'soon soon'. When it did finally arrive everyone else had finished their meals.

Despite the lovely decor of this restaurant everything else about it was an absolute let down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinnaree Gourmet Thai Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Kinnaree Gourmet Thai Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing