We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garlic chicken and garlic prawns - so good”
Review of Tapas Cafe

Tapas Cafe
Ranked #373 of 10,929 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Garlic chicken and garlic prawns - so good”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This and Zaks (also reviewed) easily the best venues on this brilliant street. Tapas is small and cosy with amazing authentic Spanish tapas. We must have ordered half the menu but the garlic chicken and galirc prawns (yes I love garlic) were sublime. I really mean that - not just good. Service was efficient and one Thai lady manageress was very competent. A nice place on a cool little street- its just off the main street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    152
    41
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“popular amongst ex pats, great little place behind soi 11”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

homely easy atmosphere nice place to relax and have some really tasty tapas snacks plus more. It is placed in a qiete little street 1 minute from the joys of soi 11.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank petethepistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for fresh Spanish seafood tapas”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went at an odd time (around teatime) for tapas and it was 6 small tapas for 385baht. That's great value. The selection, I'm told, was smaller than usual dinner/lunch times though but for those, you'd have to make reservations and not stroll in like we did on a balmy Saturday afternoon to escape the heat.

The seafood tapas we chose fared better than the peppers and gazpacho. The fried calamari is a must-have because of the yummy garlic aioli it came with. The gambas (prawns) were perfect and the roasted squid too. I didn't see sardines on the teatime tapas menu and also didn't see my favourite fried green peppers with salt (pimento del pardons). They should look into serving pimentos that way, its almost always so yummy.

The drinks were good solid sangrias. Perfect little place to go to, in a nook off Soi 11.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphneghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice for some food and drinks”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I like going to soi 11 once in a while , have some drinks at Cheap Charlies or Oskars for food there are many options but the Tapas bar is one of my favourites. The prices are ok, the drinks good and you can seat in the little terrace outside all in all a good place specially if you been missing spanish flavors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is THE tapas place in Bangkok”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was skeptical before visiting this tapas bar after reading the mixed review. But soon after i was served and tasted the food i concluded that this is THE tapas place in Bangkok. The place is well managed by manager Xavier from Barcelona. I had a great red granarch from Calatayud. I tasted the Serrano jamon, pulpo with potato, prawn in garlic oil, plancha little squid and chorizo of iberico pork. Marvellous. You must try it for yourself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yalitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Cafe also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Tapas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing