We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Original Irish in Thai Community” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molly Malone's Irish Pub

Molly Malone's Irish Pub
Ranked #678 of 10,632 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Thai, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Silom
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Original Irish in Thai Community”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

You have to try lamb burger there. Another twist is Stirred fried beef with basil on rice. ummmm yummy !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pongtorn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly M, Owner at Molly Malone's Irish Pub, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear K. Pongtorn,

Thank you for your kind words. I am a big fan of the two dishes you specified too, though am trying to eat less burgers and more Thai food. I hope you come and visit us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    104
    36
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food is good but a little pricey. Staff need to do a course in customer service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I work nearby to Molly's. I like some of their food such as the club sandwich, but the prices are a little too high for what you get on some of the menu.

My biggest gripe however is the pushy staff who lack customer service skills. They usually push you to order something straight away before even getting chance to settle down and have a quick conversation with friends before deciding what to order.

Asking the staff to give service with a smile appears to be out of the question.

The bar staff don't seem to show any clue of what customer service means. Very disappointing considering this is an Irish themed pub.

Pros:
- The design of the place is very authentic so give a home from home feeling.
- The food is usually fairly good from what I have had so far. Although, don't bother ordering the onion rings. They are practically swimming in oil.
- The location is great. Right around the corner from Sala Daeng BTS.
- They have happy hours offers. Although many original priced drinks are very high in price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveSteve1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly M, Owner at Molly Malone's Irish Pub, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear K. Steve,

Service above all should be the cornerstone of a pub's focus - so we take your comments very seriously and I apologize on behalf of my staff. We are looking into your constructive criticism and I hope next time you visit us there is a marked improvement.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walked in and walked out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Was looking for a pub grub on a Friday night but as soon as we walked in we were told flat at the door that there were no tables for food. Maybe we're getting old but dim lighting mixed with haze resulting from the smoking inside wasnt very appealing (even though smoking is officially upstairs)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Jack Daniel's on the rock please!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a pleasant find - pool table and nice Irish pub - I did notice they had people smoking in the pub and thought that wasn't good - but enjoyed myself - even though I lost the 3 games of pool!

Nice place to chill out - not pushing or shoving - quite cool with air con - great selection of drinks. Enjoy!!!

Tom

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly M, Owner at Molly Malone's Irish Pub, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you Tom for your kind words. We hope you have a safe trip home to Norwich & come and visit us again next time you are in Bangkok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still good breakfast but not great service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Popped into Molly's for breakfast for the first time in almost a year. Although the price has gone up the quality is good.

A few comments I would have is that there were several flys around the tables and that the service was not that friendly or fast. It just seems like you are troubling the staff when you want something.

Another point if you want to use the parking and get a free stamp from the bar is that you still end up paying 40 baht an hour. To avoid this I've been told that you need to get the parking stamped again at a different office, can never find it though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly M, Owner at Molly Malone's Irish Pub, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Craig,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast - but apologise for the less than excellent service you received.

We have looked into your complaint very seriously to ensure all customers - whether early in the morning or late at night always receive energetic and friendly care - and hope your experience is never repeated. As a pub we pride ourselves on friendly service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Malone's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Molly Malone's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing