We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Co Van Kessel Bangkok Tours

Co Van Kessel Bangkok Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.27*
and up
Experience Real Bangkok by Bike
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Bangkok's original award-winning bicycle tour (including walking & boat tours). Our mission at Co van Kessel Bangkok Tours is to provide our guests with a singularly unique and rewarding travel experience in Thailand. All our tours use Co's extensive topographical knowledge of the greater Bangkok area as well as his keen eye for the interesting to take you where nobody else can or will.We aim not to bore you with talk, but to immerse you in an experience where your individual fascinations emerge.Bicycles, boats, and our feet are our tools to gain access to the inaccessible (by car), behind-the-scenes lifestyle of the Thai. Here the roots of an ancient culture will become evident in a way you never could have imagined.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We travelled with our two children to Bangkok and were recommended by a colleague to do the bicycle tour. We booked the 3 hour tour and had a really great time. In fact, my son (11 y/o) liked it so much that he wanted to do it again the following day! The staff at Co van Kessel are professional and informative and overall this tour was an excellent way to experience Bangkok in a different way.
Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank senninha888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,596
    224
    44
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was before.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We did our first bicycle tour with Co van Kessel 3 years ago. Because we had an incredible nice day that time we booked the same 5-hour Bicycle/Boat Tour again. But this time things have changed. We were disappointed because our group was much larger than the first time. Three years ago their groups had a maximum size of 8 participants. Since then they changed their policy and they allow a lot more participants. This time we were with a group of 17 and (only) 2 guides from Co van Kessel. We also missed the ride through the narrow streets of Chinatown. This time we only stayed on the bigger streets, maybe because of the larger group.

We love to bike through Bangkok and its surrounding areas. We would never do this on ourselves. We made a long boat trip to the outskirts of Bangkok and biked new roads and paths. But here we also missed the extreme small bicycle paths we did the first time. Our guide in front of the group (see pictures) sometimes stopped to explain things we saw along the road. But she started talking when the first participants arrived. By the time the last ones were there she has finished her story already. When they want to do the tours with large groups they should take care of this.

We booked this tour with lunch included but half way we discovered we were in the group without lunch. This was not a big problem, we only became a little hungry, but the first time the lunch was one of the highlights of the trip.

Despite the fact we love to bike in and around Bangkok we would not do this tour with them again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank CorTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fast ride through back alleys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've been to Bangkok before and even went through the spots we toured on the bikes (Chinatown and the other side of the river known for its canals) but I didn't see them nearly as well as with the Co Van Kessel 5 Hour Bicycle/Boat Tour. We went down some ridiculously narrow alleys (considering we were on bikes) and it was great to get a behind-the-scenes view. I was also surprised how quickly we went from dense urban houses to suburbs to farm fields - it was an interesting perspective.

The pace is quite fast and at some points when we jumped on and off the bikes/boats, I felt like I was in a getaway scene in a movie. Quite fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank allisonlaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magic Bangkok by bike at night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I couldnt recommend more to do the cycling by night instead of during the day. It feels like magic, you get to see places you would never walk or cycle through yourself. It feels safe and the temples etc look amazing at night (no other tourists...). We just loved everything about it. My parents (60+) also found it easy to cycle so no worries about cycling difficulties. We did the boat tour as well in the morning but if you have to make a choice, go for the cycling at night. An experience you wont easily forget.

Helpful?
Thank Mururoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Great tour, great and very tasty lunch, friendly staff and best of all: a unique visit of bangkok. Youll see places where no touristbook would send you. It's pricy but worth the money!

Helpful?
Thank 360degreees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Co Van Kessel Bangkok Tours also viewed

 

Been to Co Van Kessel Bangkok Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing