We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to see more of Bangkok”

Co Van Kessel Bangkok Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.39*
and up
Experience Real Bangkok by Bike
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Bangkok's original award-winning bicycle tour (including walking & boat tours). Our mission at Co van Kessel Bangkok Tours is to provide our guests with a singularly unique and rewarding travel experience in Thailand. All our tours use Co's extensive topographical knowledge of the greater Bangkok area as well as his keen eye for the interesting to take you where nobody else can or will.We aim not to bore you with talk, but to immerse you in an experience where your individual fascinations emerge.Bicycles, boats, and our feet are our tools to gain access to the inaccessible (by car), behind-the-scenes lifestyle of the Thai. Here the roots of an ancient culture will become evident in a way you never could have imagined.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice way to see more of Bangkok”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We did a nice 5 hr tour. Starting 13:00. After leaving the busy traffic we got on a boat a went through the outskirts of Bangkok by bike and boat. At around 15:00 we had a tasty local lunch and some more cycling followed. We had regular drink and toilet stops.

Overall a nice day. Do not expect any information from the guides, they just show you the way to go. We had group of 14 people with 2 guides. If you had any questions you could ask them, but it was mostly just cycling. But the good thing is that you go places you wouldn't go otherwise. And i liked the parts in the longtail boats, having a rest in the breeze.

I would recommend this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,051
    270
    56
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must do, even if you have only one day to spend in Bangkok”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A friend recommended us this tour company, and we are so happy he told us about it. We are only 1,5 day in Bangkok, and wanted to have an idea about the real Bangkok. Thanks to our cycling trip we discovered a lot of places where tourists never go. We decided to go on trip 1, which takes 5 hours, and which includes two longtail boat trips. We changed our booking from the afternoon to the morning, and were very happy we did this. The morning tour starts at 7 and it is still cool in the morning hours.

The group was not too big, which is good when cycling through very narrow streets and paths. They were very friendly, and the quality of the bikes was allright. They often stop for drinking and sightseeing, and it's an easy ride.

Really a must do! Next time I'm in Bangkok, I'll try another of their tours.

Helpful?
3 Thank MarianKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As a family of 4 we enjoyed the combined bike/boat trip very much! Maybe it was the highlight of our Bangkok visit. Riding through small backstreets of china town, we saw how and where people are living and working. Crossing the river and moving into a more rural Bangkok showed us a side of that city nobody would expect, when just knowing that busy areas suspectely most travelers just learn to know.
We booked a private tour which was conducted by a fluent english speaker (Paddie), who explained everything we wanted to know.
That Co van Kessel -Tours are worth every Bath and each minute (although they are not a real bargain).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pkabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We did the tour on Jan 3 in the morning and we loved it! We saw parts of Bangkok that we would have always ignored otherwise, places where you see the real life in Bangkok. Despite what we read in the most recent comments, we loved biking through the narrow streets and the markets. But I guess it's just a matter of preferences. The staff was friendly and was telling many stories behind the history of the places. It included two long tail boat tours of about 30 min each. I would recommend it to anybody! One last thing, it lasted 5 hours, but was not tiring at all.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsytraveller_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We just finished Tour #2 this afternoon, and were both very dissatisfied with the tour. Rumblings from a few of our fellow riders echoed our own sentiments.

We spent three hours navigating narrow residential alleys/corridors visiting markets and temples that all looked the same. Seriously, if you left the tour after the first 35 minutes you wouldn' have missed a single thing. The only people that had a clue as to why we stopped to look at something were the first 2 or 3 riders after the tour lead; everyone else was left in the dark. Again, in this tour it's not a big deal because you're only seeing markets and temples (of which we had already seen plenty of on our own).

We just did 2 bicycle tours in Hoi An, Vietnam, and both were fantastic. Maybe we were expecting too much from Bangkok and Co Van Kessel Tours.

Helpful?
10 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Co Van Kessel Bangkok Tours also viewed

 

Been to Co Van Kessel Bangkok Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing