We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for couples!!! The twin room is just like a jail cell.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #16 of 1,276 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A jail cell: no window, depressing, with uncomfortable bunk beds, and the best of all: urin smell in the room. Also very far from the train station.

The showers room is quite clean and comfortable though.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Silom, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear guest, We are sorry that you did not like your stay and our room. The Railway Twin room is a private room equipped with one bunk bed (for 2 persons) and other equipment such as one electronic safe box, study table and 2 towels. This room is perfect for travelers who come in two and prefer to have their own privacy, compared to a dormitory room. It is a one step upgrade from dormitory room, with a very small fee increased. It is possible that a couple may not find this type of room to meet their expectation since the room may be small and the bed is bunk bed. We think that a private room en suite is more suitable for a couple, in which we do provide this type of room at Lub d too. About the bad smell in the room, we were shocked to hear this comment and we will investigate it immediately. Thank you for your comment. In any cases, we thank you very much for staying with us and give us a try. We wish you the best on your remaining traveling plan. All Lub d staffs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
There are newer reviews for Lub d Bangkok Silom
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 824 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived at Lub d Silom around 7am in the morning after a very bumpy night bus from Chiang Mai. The staff there said the room was ready for us so we checked in 5 hours early.... result!

Lub d is very clean and incredibly spacious. I felt like a kid again being on the top bunk of a room that included sharing showers/toilets. Don't let this put you off! They are always kept clean and showers and toilets are always available whenever because there's so many of them!

The communal area is great for interacting with other people. Don't be afraid to communicate, everyone is in the same boat! You can also sign up for daily/weekly events (bar crawl, sightseeing on a certain day of the week etc), book tours, use the computers available if you don't have your own and have breakfast/snacks when socialising with the crowd. If you have any problems then the staff are always happy to help, no matter what time of the day it is!

Lub d is very close to the BTS skyrail, 7 elevens (pretty much one around every corner in Bangkok) and Pat Pong Market Lumphini Park and the shopping centres (Siam and MBK) are easily accessible by the sky train. If you want to go to all the temples or take a cruise along the river then it would be better to take a taxi (on meter!).

BEWARE of the tuk tuks hanging around outside the hostel, they are not to be trusted! They say they will take you near the river for 20 baht and recommend you try out a certain river cruise package (they constantly wave it under your eyes). Always stop a passing taxi or tuk tuk as they tend to be more genuine, the ones that are parked up and are bugging you usually have another motive.

Big shout goes out to Ngae, who works at both Lub d's. She took a couple of us to the Amphawa Floating Market, another group of us to the local temple on Buddha Day and a bunch of us from both hostels to dinner and Khao San Road. She made the trip to Bangkok that much more fun and interesting. Thank you again Ngae!

All in all, a great place to stay. The place isn't that noisy (don't know what the dorms were like). If you want somewhere to stay that isn't right on Khao San Road but want easy access to all the sights and places to go then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hostel is between a 3 and a 4.5 depending on your criteria. I rate it highly for cleanliness, organization, safety and beauty. The location could be better. A recent review said its easy to 'make a party' but I did not find that to be the case as the seating arrangement did not facilitate that kind of interaction. There was indeed a movie room with a large tv if that's what you want to do with your time. I would rather have a movie going in the main room to watch during coffee breaks and sporadic downtime. The room was very nice and very clean with a pop of color. Location wan't bad but not the best. Walking distance to skytrain (and a couple stops from the very convenient water bus). Also walking distance to red light district, some coffee shops, and in the other direction the big shopping area. The massage place nearest the hostel does a really good Thai Massage. Not many vegan or vegetarian options in the area. See a few temples along the water bus route-and then get back on the waterbus to go on to Khao San (Soi Rambutri is more fun though) for a coffee or bite to eat or drink. Platinum mall is a must see for 14-39 year old females. Very weird-cute-cheap. The jade Buddha is overrated. It was a very small Buddha on top of a large mound of ornaments and obscuring it all further he is clothed in a jacket and hat. Do not patronize any elephant begging, riding or painting. These are all cruel (google Pajaan training) and instead visit Wildlife Friends Foundation Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The atmosphere was fun and lively and the clientele was very young. The showers and toilets were clean. The 10 person women's dorm was as clean as it could be under the circumstances. It would have been better if the lockers hadn't been so small. The room was really too small for 10 people, but the bed was really comfortable and the sheets were sparkling white and crisp. They had large towels and the most crisp sheets I've ever had in a hostel and most hotels. There are 4 floors and no elevators, unfortunately. It seemed secure. There were lots of free computers for guests to use (at least 6) and there was a cafe. I can't vouch for the food since I didn't eat there, but it looked pleasant and clean. It was okay for one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0vejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We choose this hostel because we wanted to stay near a BTSstation for the last night before leaving to return home.
We liked the modern interiour. The separated toilet and the safe in the double room was a nice surprise. No fridge and a noisy aircon not so nice.
Also the hot atmosphere in the stairway while climbing the stairs for the 4th floor did not make me happy. Lucky for me there was a galant young men from the reception who took it over.
The Wifi was ok and the advices for cheap vegetarion restaurant helpful.
But we think 40 euro for the room is a bit too much.
Maybe the prices for the dorms with shared bathroom are a better choice for budgettravellers.
Overall I can understand that young backpackers love this place.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TorretjedeCorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hostel is good - quite, clean, with clean bathrooms and bedsheets. The service however was poor. The staff are unhelpful, don't respond and were plain rude at times. Though they could do something about that. The location is good - away from the crazyness of khao san road but still well connected through the sky train and not too far away from the river either.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rp1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Silom, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't receive service from our staff as expected. If possible, we would like to know more about it so we understand the situation better and be able to identify problem thus find ways to improve our service for future guests. Kindly email details of the incident(s) to Lub d Management at contactus at lubd dot com. Your help will be much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I loved my stay here. It's in a great part of town. Only 5 minutes walk to the sky train. Little restaurants nearby (starbucks is also walking distance if you need a little home comfort!). The sky bar and shopping centres are also walking distance.

The stay were so so helpful and friendly. They really bent over backwards to help me and my friends. I cannot praise them enough.

The rooms were really clean, the security good. It was a little annoying to have to put a password in every single time you wanted to use the wifi, and the girls bathrooms could have been a tad cleaner. But I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koala_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,276 in Bangkok
1,046 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,276 in Bangkok
541 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#5 of 1,276 in Bangkok
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,276 in Bangkok
713 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#30 of 1,276 in Bangkok
1,049 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#23 of 1,276 in Bangkok
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,276 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $16 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing