We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, service was ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #11 of 1,193 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hostel, service was ordinary”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hostel is good - quite, clean, with clean bathrooms and bedsheets. The service however was poor. The staff are unhelpful, don't respond and were plain rude at times. Though they could do something about that. The location is good - away from the crazyness of khao san road but still well connected through the sky train and not too far away from the river either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rp1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't receive service from our staff as expected. If possible, we would like to know more about it so we understand the situation better and be able to identify problem thus find ways to improve our service for future guests. Kindly email details of the incident(s) to Lub d Management at contactus at lubd dot com. Your help will be much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    263
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
4
153
299
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I loved my stay here. It's in a great part of town. Only 5 minutes walk to the sky train. Little restaurants nearby (starbucks is also walking distance if you need a little home comfort!). The sky bar and shopping centres are also walking distance.

The stay were so so helpful and friendly. They really bent over backwards to help me and my friends. I cannot praise them enough.

The rooms were really clean, the security good. It was a little annoying to have to put a password in every single time you wanted to use the wifi, and the girls bathrooms could have been a tad cleaner. But I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koala_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at Lub D and had a great experience with that hostel! The staff is very friendly and it's very clean all over the hostel.

If you want to chill and drink a beer or realy want to go make some pardy, you just can go to the lobby, there's always somebode to talk to or make pardy with :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was first keen to stay somewhere closer to the heart of Bangkok, near Khao San Road and The Grand Palace, but ended up being delighted that my first experience of Bangkok was at Lub D. This place has friendly staff, great amenities - and best of all, a guitar in the entrance, there for anyone to pick up and play. It's a fantastic place to meet other travellers. I stayed in the ladies 10 bed dorm and met a few lovely female travellers, went out for dinner with them at the markets down Silom Rd (five-ten minute walk) and shared stories over the hostel's continental breakfast (80B for tea or coffee, juice, croissant, toast and banana). There are a few sites within walking distance and it is conveniently close to the train system but you'd have to catch a taxi or tuk tuk to the main traveller's centre and this can cost from 150B to 400B, depending on traffic. Rooms were clean and the set-up is good in that there are lockers next to each bed (bring your own padlock) and each bed has it's own small shelf, reading light and power sockets - powered by your key card. I might stay somewhere closer to Khao San next time, just to experience something different, but definitely recommend this place, even though it's a bit pricey. A few extra dollars is sometimes worth it for comfort and the chance to meet other travellers in a welcoming environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich_traveller_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here for 5 nights in a double room. The room is new and clean and has a good air conditioning. The staff were always friendly, helping us anytime we need. The location is good, just a few blocks from the BTS Skytrain, with restaurants and shops around. If you are looking for a good place to stay in a good location, you have just found!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janapoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Considering that we are talking about an hostel, I totally recommend you this place, personnel is friendly and rooms are clean.
Not easy to find for a taxidriver. Not really in the center of the city, but BKK taxi fares are pretty affordable from everywhere u r!
I stayed in a room with a private bathroom, but public toilets were quite clean too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giacomo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The staff are so helpful - any queries welcomed and they help as much as they can, its clean and very sociable. We stayed in when landing in Bangkok and loved it so much we stayed when we left too. There's free wi-fi and computers, a t.v room, a litle bar which also serves breakfast and it's also secure with 24/7 reception and cards needed to go upstairs. A must stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VixB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,433 reviews
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#49 of 858 in Bangkok
1,031 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,193 in Bangkok
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,193 in Bangkok
700 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#17 of 1,193 in Bangkok
887 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,193 in Bangkok
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,193 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing