We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
PRIVATE - STEET FOOD TOUR CHINA TOWN incl. food and drinks
7

Book in advance
from
$58.59
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience SiamRise Travel
from $58.59
More Info
from $42.75
More Info
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
78
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
78
7
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 86 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Met up with Junior at our appointed time and there was a group of seven who,took the walking tour with him. We had paid a small deposit ahead of going to cover entrance fees and boat fares. Junior took us to the Golden Mount temple then to a couple of places within the community of Old town.
The best parts were seeing the craftsmen and women fashioning beautiful metal bowls by hand then going onto the original houses of old Bangkok. These are built on brick foundations and were finished with teak entirely throughout the buildings. They were quite beautiful but, alas this was also the worst part of the tour as the Thai government were in the process of demolishing them to make a Park. It was so, so,sad to see a part of history that was being almost disregarded. I don’t know the reasons behind it but the site would have made a fantastic tourist stop to show the history of the city.
Junior was an excellent guide, showing and explaining as best he could with all the noise of the city going on around him. His self-taught English was very good and he looked after his group well.
Voluntary leader, free walk, pay what you think he’s worth is the policy on this offer from Siam Rise. I would highly recommend doing this tour with them while there is some of Old town still to see.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank andrewpK5362QT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in village for 2 nights at NanNorth of TH.
We got wonderful trip with lovely guide.
The activities also amazing , we did pottery, local woven fabric.
Food is from local of Nan but it’s wonderful.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank nuttha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018

Our guide Thanawut Supangkaratana (GoOd) was outstanding. He took us to places that only locals would know about, through alleys leading to the local water commuter boats. He lead us through local artisan neighborhoods that made bowls for the monks even though they are now mass produces, these dear people still toil and slave over making these bowls from what looks like the tops and bottoms of 45gal. drums and work at them until they are beautiful. We saw way too much to describe here and the conversations about customs in Thailand such as weddings was amazing. We learned so much. Take the tour, it's worth your time.

Date of experience: December 2017
3  Thank lovetotravel339
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile

We met our guide, Good, outside the BTS station as planned.
My dietary requirements meant that I could not sample any meat dishes and the guide was pleased to ensure that alternatives were available.
We set off for Chinatown passing the Chinatown gate and temples along the way.
We learned a lot about the history of Chinatown.

The first dish we got to try was the famous fish maw (belly) soup. It was not to our liking, lacking in depth of flavour and the fish belly had a gelatinous (jelly-like) texture. Perhaps others would have a different opinion of this dish.

The second dish was rice cakes with fried pickled radish. This was sumptious and flavourful, and an excellent appetiser, although the portion was more than generous! This dish would be impossible to find by yourself as we only saw a single vendor the entire tour.

The third dish was a Chinese style Pad Thai. Sadly we were again disappointed. It was completely bland, under-seasoned and devoid of any flavour. There was no sweet, sour, salty or spicy taste at all. A sprinkle of lime juice and dried chilli could only help the dish out so much. A tastier pad thai could be had almost anywhere else in the world, and that is a bit of a shame, as it is supposed to be one of Thailand's national dishes.

The fourth dish was a mussel omlette. The mussels were fresh and the omelette cooked perfectly with golden crispy bits to add texture. A good dish overall.

The fifth dish was a hot dessert of dumplings filled with sesame seed in a ginger broth. I thought the ginger was overpowering, however my husband who had the flu found it to be perfectly soothing for his sore throat! Again this dish might go unnoticed if you were to walk around yourself, and there were only perhaps 2-3 vendors that we saw.

We rounded up by taking a tuk-tuk ride to a riverside roof top bar overlooking the Chao Praya river with excellent views of Bangkok all lit up. The mango milkshake which Good recommended proved to be an excellent palate cleanser. My husband gad a soft drink. Local beer was offered. The guide walked us back to the BTS station and we said our goodbyes.

In summary the tour guide was pleasant and informative, and there were a few good dishes(3 out of 5), but nothing that we would consider as being quite memorable or outstanding.

It's definately worth taking a guided tour as navigating Chinatown by yourself and deciding what and where to eat could be quite a daunting experience.

Date of experience: December 2017
3  Thank JessicaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Thailand is a well-known shopping & Spa paradise for most of our Hongkonger. This trip we are 3 friends expect something special to do and to see. Therefore, we go nature this time.
Among different tours in the web, we are by chance and picked the Canal tour and Leisure tour which organised by our guide Mr GoOd (with his sunshine smile).
Very impressive for visiting Lotus farm, rice cracker workshop where we could self made the yummy snack, Fruit farm to taste many fresh & dried fruit. To meet the "fashionable" salt farm owner....and the excellent chef Auntie Sim who cooked us a seafood lunch banquet. The local people showed us great hospitality, their happiness from living simple and passionate to their job. This will be the memorable trip for us.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank HazelL486
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews