We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Italian restaurants I have been to in Asia”
Review of Gianni Ristorante

Gianni Ristorante
Ranked #102 of 10,823 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the better Italian restaurants I have been to in Asia”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had lobster salad, goose liver, squid ink spaghetti, veal and wagyu cheek beef. It was great, super tender and very tasty. Also the dessert was very tasteful. I can certainly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meeuwsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    87
    29
    16
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
190 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Italian”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Italian food, cant say it was more impressive than any other Italian eatery I have dined at in Bangkok. Gianni seems to have a reputation so maybe this is the reason for the more expensive prices. It was ok but nothing exception. Food was fine. All ok, if my colleagues booked again I would go again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MG22Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food in Bangkok!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

So, after two days of Thai food, which I love, I was actually headed to another Italian restaurant for dinner on Saturday evening, but they were unable to accommodate a party of just 1 person. Instead, I received a recommendation from the JW Marriott Executive Lounge Concierge who said this was her place to go for "Special Dinners" with her significant other. The location itself was set off the main street in a small but extremely comfortable and safe setting, with the interior reminiscent of a small high end Trattatoria in Firenze. My first course was a Soft Shell Crab, prepared Tempura style over a salad of fresh greens. Zuppa was a Lobster Bisque, with chunks of fresh Thai Lobster in the mix. My main course was Rigatoni noodles (short wide fluted tubes) tossed with extra virgin olive oil, a bit of basil, some oregano, chunk tomatoes and melted Ricotta Cheese on top. The pasta was cooked to perfection and the gravy was excellent. Dessert was a perfect plate of Profiteroles with Vanilla Ice Cream covered in Chocolate Sauce and the expresso used is "Illy".. The wine list, while very good, is also very expensive. You can try one of numerous Australian or New Zealand wines, or one of your favorite Italian that should be on this extensive list. I found a Puggio al Lupo which was the house red wine special for the evening, a nice blend (73% Cabernet, 20% Alicante, 7% Petit Verdot) with an excellent full body and wonderful flavor to taste. And, you must also be prepared for Chef Gianni to step out of the kitchen after your meal is delivered to insure what you have ordered meets your expectation. And, if there is something you would like prepared especially for your table, I was told to ask when I made my reservation and they would try to accommodate my request. It seems that Chef Gianni's is all about excellence in quality and service for his customers.
So, a bit expensive but well worth the additional cost for a wonderful Italian dinner in Bangkok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pftambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful afternoon ambience and good food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Had the degustation menu for Lunch and it was really good! The best Italian food in town. Especially the beef cheek and eggplant starter. We also ordered a spinach ravioli which was full of flavor. The waiters are very friendly and the sofa seats are really cosy :) a tad expensive but thumbs up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olipopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing special for the price..”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I try and try again but really nothing special except the price .We ask the owner to recommend
a wine and it was not good at all and did not match at all with what we ordered .
The food was overcook but there is a very good service.
Any way,it is still an experience,it 's been here for a while now so I understand that there is no challenge any more .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ngblackpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni Ristorante also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Gianni Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing