We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Picked this hotel due to excellent TA reviews, convenient location and great offer on Expedia.

The hotel is right in the middle of the action in Patpong. The night market is just across the road and there are hundreds of bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. The metro station is about 5-10 minutes walk and the best way to get around Bangkok if you want to avoid gridlocked traffic.

Arrived at the hotel at 10am after an overnight flight. We had realised that it might not be possible to check straight in. The receptionist said our rooms were being given their 'final inspection and would be ready in 10 minutes'. We decided to go for a late breakfast in the hotel restaurant whilst our rooms were 'inspected'. Returning to the reception 40 minutes later we were told that the 'final inspection' was almost complete and we would be given our keys in 5 minutes. 20 minutes later we were handed our room keys! Whilst grateful to have been given rooms at 11am rather than the usual check-in of 2pm or 3pm, I just thought it would have been better for the receptionist to have been more honest with us at the start. Perhaps its just down to a cultural difference?

Our rooms were at the back of the hotel on the top (24th) floor so very quiet. I don't know but expect there may be noise from the nightmarket and road if in the rooms at the front on lower floors. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and had clearly been recently updated. They were large with spacious bathrooms with separate shower stalls and bath tubs.

We tried out the gym and pool. Both were fairly compact but well equipped and well designed. Le Meridien have certainly made the best of the small pool area and it is perfectly acceptable for a city center hotel. If you want a larger pool area for sunbathing then the hotels on the river (Shangri-la, Mandarin, Hilton etc) are a better choice.

Where Le Meridien scores above the hotels on the river is its easy acccess to the public transportation system. Its less than 10 minutes walk to the nearest station where you can take a Skytrain or Metro pretty much anywhere in Bangkok. The cost never seemed to be more than $1 and the trains frequent, clean and comfortable. I'd recommend taking the Skytrain to the station on the river (about 3 stops) then taking a fast ferry boat up river. The boats runs about every 10-15 minutes and give great views of the city again for very little money (the locals use them as regular transport). The boats stop off near most of the temples etc you might want to see.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,540
    806
    116
    31
    16
See reviews for
330
1,268
570
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We just came back from Bangkok and we stayed in this wonderful hotel for several nights.
This is the best hotel in Bangkok, I have loved the design , the spacious rooms and bathroom with all the little details that make the difference between a 5 stars hotel and a top 5 stars hotel.
At our arrival at the airport, the limo pick up was perfect and a relaxing way to arrive to the hotel after a long flight, once there a nice surprise was expecting us as SPG we had been upgraded (circular room with so confortable beds!)
We had drinks and dinner twice at Bamboo Chic and were very impressed the food was excellent as well as the style this is a top restaurant, we were four all of us have eaten different things and we all agreed to say that the food was amazing.
The breakfast was wonderful and my husband is still dreaming about it!
We use also the swimming pool very nice to relax after a long hot day, I like its design and the service was excellent; I did not use the gym but I saw it and it was brand new located in a nice setting.
The hotel location for us work well, we use taxi to go everywhere for a few baths, it was close also from the shopping area.
Let's talk about the main asset of Le Meridien: the people! The hotel staff is amazing, they will do anything to help, from the reception staff, the doormen, the restaurant staff and the concierge everyone was fantastic and very professional.
The concierge has been fantastic with us, he was a master ! He has sent us to wonderful restaurants based on our tastes, booked the Oasis spa and give me good advices for my shopping day.
We had an issue with a taylor (Excelsior) , as soon as I have seen that the issue won't be solved I crossed the street and ask to the doorman of Le Meridien for some assistance, 2 min later the general manager was joining us in the shop in order to assist us to solve the problem.
During our tour in Thailand and Cambodia when the hotels or the services were not perfect I was thinking of LM wishing I could be there
Le Meridien is the best and I hope to go back soon to Bangkok in order to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La_Viaggiatrice075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

As our valued guest and SPG member, we appreciate your feedback and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Bangkok.

Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays.
At Le Méridien Bangkok, we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests personalized services and in satisfying their every need. We are pleased that you were able to experience this first hand.

It will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with our service team, and we are grateful of your praises. We hope to see again soon.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Excellent service, luxurious property, warm atmosphere.
Very well appointed room with a lot of thai handicrafts.
Pretty wide breakfast buffet.
The hotel is located just a few steps from Patpong night market and the skytrain station is even walking distance.
I will be surely back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is one of the best hotel I have stayed in Bangkok (and elsewhere).

FOR:-
a) Very friendly staff
b) Nice ambiance
c) One of the best buffet breakfast spread
d) Nice lobby lounge
e) Contemporary furnished room, modern design, trendy and cozy

AGAINST:-
a) just a bit too far from subway/train, probably just about 10 minutes walk, but not for me under the hot weather

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfaromeo8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Recently renovated, relaxed 5-star hotel with spacious rooms, nice big windows and fantastic bathrooms. I stayed on 11th floor street facing overlooking the pool and the lively evening scene on the street. 5 minute walk from BTS (Skytrain) and MRT (metro).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I was staying at LM BKK for 3 nights. Very hard to stay about this hotel just beacuse it is so nice. Think about for a while, a few words come to mind :

First class service, Chic, Trendy, Friendly staff, great location, Good Food ! What do you want more ? Just come and Enjoy with LM BKK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingLovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your compliments with us.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service culture, culinary moments, hotel design and location.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Bangkok.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

So as a faithful Starwood-ite, I can get quite particular about my expecations of quality. I was traveling with a few friends, many of whom are also frequent business and leisure travellers - our opinion was unanimous - outstanding!

Upon arrival the staff and attention were excellent and most helpful. They quickly processed our Best Rate Guarantee claim and though there was a question about one of the rooms, they checked us in and we sorted it all later.

Rooms were perfect - really did enjoy everything from the bed, to the extremely modern bathroom - including the opportunity to fully open the bathroom sliding wall into the main room. This proved useful for bathing in the tub with a view of the city!

I rarely use hotel bars, but we decided to use this one at the start of each evening. The design, live band and singer, inventive drinks - though sometimes extrememly slow service - had us coming back.

Cannot sing the praises enough. This is probably my favorite Starwood property for the modern design and best value for money I have ever seen.

On a final note, one the best managed and serviced hotel swimming pools out there - though small - its well done.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusLeisTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 867 in Bangkok
4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Property: Le Meridien Bangkok
Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Silom commercial district and just metres from the vibrant Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok is renowned for its outstanding service levels. Easily accessible to both the BTS skytrain and MRT subway station, exploring the city’s cultural sights and shopping malls has never been easier. Featuring 282 chic guestrooms and suites combining modern-day comfort with luxury, each room captures scenic views of Bangkok’s cityscape through floor-to-ceiling windows. An innovative all-day restaurant and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus of stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Take a dip in the hotel’s outdoor swimming pool, enjoy an energetic workout in the gym or simply unwind with a signature spa treatment designed to achieve total purification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing