We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in Bangkok still but…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #12 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I know that the hotel business in Bangkok also suffers from the crisis. All try to cut the costs and during my last stay this was suddenly very visible. The towels in the public areas were replaced by piles of cheap paper towels. The quality of the breakfast is still ok but the items which made it special all disappeared. What happened to the almond croissants for example? The rooms are now bookable including both breakfast and dinner buffet but the quality of the dinner buffet is less than it used to be.

Nevertheless I also have some complaints. As a smoker I used to book a smoking room. Unfortunately the smell on the smoking floors is even for a smoker unbearable. Lack of cleaning or lack of ventilation? I think both. The rooms are completely covered by a thick layer of nicotine.

During my last stay I also noticed a lot of finger prints on the toilet door. Knowing that toilet doors are the most dirty objects in a hotel room and a serious danger for health, I decided to clean the door myself with a small towel. I found out that they NEVER clean these doors! The door was completely yellow. See attached picture of a towel after wiping this door.

Dear management, serious cleaning issues I would say! Small things but all together a reason to think twice before I will book my next stay.

Room Tip: avoid smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

May we thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we were pleased to read that our hotel is your favorite place on your journeys to Bangkok.

However, we were concerned to learn that you were not satisfied with our provided service. Certainly, this is not acceptable and for us to correct, it would be most helpful if you could share your name or, if not, the number of the room you occupied.

Regarding to your appreciated comment on your loved almond croissants, it is great to hear that our rotating breakfast dish selection meet your taste. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy it during your recent visit and please feel welcome to inform our culinary service team on your next visit so that we can serve your preferences on stage.

Moreover, we would be very happy to communicate further with you, should you wish to provide us with more specifics of your disappointments and we can be reached at nick.zilinski@lemeridien.com . Rest assured your review have been shared with all concerned departments and we are thankful on your notes as it help to improve our services where needed.

We do hope that after this explanation, you will consider to return to us and please contact my office directly as we will be happy to oversee an enhanced journey with us.


Yours sincerely,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 3,656 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

The rooms may look a bit outdated, and it all feels a bit corporate. Not really my taste of reception, although the lobby is impressive.

My suite was very nicely appointed with a good desk and a great sofa with table in front of a large TV. I was there for meetings, and did some online, so it was great to have good internet, although it would have been better not to pay for it. Why still charging fees? Well, at least this was the case in October 2013.

Very good shower (a bit dark), and mainly the quality and comfort you would expect from a property of this level.

But what surprised me the most was the quality of the room service. Not only the order was perfectly taken (which can be a problem in Asia), the food came quickly and at perfect temperature, and was just delicious. Exactly what you need.

However, I did not find the pool attractive at all. Maybe some improvements to make it nicer or look more modern would help. Also I did not have breakfast so cannot really judge, but I bet it must be as good as the room service.

Location is what it is, you have to like it. For those willing to explore Patpong, it is just meters away. Very lively area with not so complicated access by car.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My hubby treated me to a night here on Valentines day. The service was great, the room was warm and cozy and there was a nice big tub to relax in. My condo here doesn't have a tub so that's a bonus for me. The breakfast was wonderful, the fitness center was adequate. If I wanted to be hyper critical, there are 5 star hotels with nicer pools in the city but other than that, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Really great hotel. Very stylish, great location and terrific service. My room was very nice. Top floor of the hotel. The bed was really great. One of the best nights sleep I had while in Thailand. Breakfast was pricey but they offer a really wide selection of food. The rooftop pool area was quite nice and relaxing. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaiDoughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your detailed experience during your recent visit to Thailand.

We are so pleased to hear that you had the best night sleep on our signature bed and enjoyed our pool area and the hotel’s location.

It will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with our service team, and we are grateful of your praises. We hope to see again soon.

Meanwhile, we wish you all the best!

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Amazing Staff - GM Christian is welcoming, personable and mindful of details. The entire experience from the wonderful lobby and over-looking lofted restaurant to the terrace pool and spa/fitness are are kept in impeccable condition. This is a must stay and a great representation of the Starwood brand and culture.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have become a regular at this Bangkok hotel since 2009. Never been disappointed. Amiable and consistently good service. Great cocktails and food choices at the Bamboo Chic bar. Certainly one of my first choices when staying in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Bangkok, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you always enjoyed your stay with us since 2009.

Moreover, we are delighted to know that you were pleased with our unique and vibrant atmosphere at Bamboo Chic Bar and that our team have been able to meet your expectations.

We would like to share your excellent comments among our talents and we look forward to welcoming you back.


With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Can't find anything bad to say about the Le Meridien except that there are simply better 5 star properties to be had in Bangkok. I enjoy a hotel that exudes some warmth and comfort, Le Meridien hotels simply don't belong into that category and have a cool, artsy feel to them and lacks regional touches. Rooms are exceptionally well appointed. The location is in the heart of the Silom nightlife and night market district, this can be a pro or con depending on your needs and wants...
Breakfast buffet was very good and offered a wide variety of cuisines.
Overall a top notch business hotel in a very central location.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank wolfmedic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Zilinski, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with Le Méridien Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your compliments.

Our hotel has indeed a unique design and ambiance. We are very proud to hear that you liked these elements that contribute to our identity. Moreover, creating for our guests a stunning start into the day by providing an wide range of breakfast dishes is one of our key priorities. To learn that this facets have delighted your visit brings us much joy.

Thank you again for you kind patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,623 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $134 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Silom commercial district and just metres from the vibrant Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok is renowned for its outstanding service levels. Easily accessible to both the BTS skytrain and MRT subway station, exploring the city’s cultural sights and shopping malls has never been easier. Featuring 282 chic guestrooms and suites combining modern-day comfort with luxury, each room captures scenic views of Bangkok’s cityscape through floor-to-ceiling windows. An innovative all-day restaurant and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus of stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool, enjoy an energetic workout in the gym or simply unwind with a signature spa treatment designed to achieve total purification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing