We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen's Garden Resort at River View
Ranked #570 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Out travel agent in Phnom Penh booked this hotel for us after I asked her for a somewhat "upscale" hotel near the Bangkok airport to end our trip. I agree that the rooms were clean and neat, but "upscale" - decidedly not.

* our room at "River View" was on the back side of the hotel, which meant we could have reached out of the (one) window (located in the bathroom alcove) and touched the apartment in the next building
* the "River" is a canal, and it appeared that most of the adjacent businesses were closed. We felt decidedly unsafe walking along the canal as dusk approched.
* food in the restaurant was fairly good, but the first three items we requested were not in stock or a substitution had to be made (shrimp for Tiger Prawns). The food was overpriced as well, but we were "stuck" since there really was nowhere else.
* At check-in we asked for a taxi at 0330 to get to the airport. When we arrived downstairs at 0320, they didn't seem to know anything about it and sent someone to get a cab. FORTUNATELY they DID return with one at about 0335.

I WISH I could offer a better review, because we were looking forward to a "special" night for our last evening in Bangkok. What we got was a "memorable" one...

Room Tip: If you ARE going to stay here, get a room on the FRONT side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennKVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    135
    96
    40
    16
See reviews for
24
64
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

It was difficult for me to choose between a 3 and 4 rating, but I've opted for an overall 3 rating. Although the charms of the place includes the convenience Queen's Garden offers by being so close to the Bangkok International Suvarnabhumi Airport (BKK), having comfortable and fairly clean rooms, the price, the staff being nice, and for having a convenient shuttle service to/from the airport. My husband and I chose to stay at Queen's Garden again, our fourth time, as we had an early morning flight returning to the States. After trying out a variety of rooms I now have my favorite. I ask for an upper level double facing the river. These rooms are fairly simple, but offer a nice view of the river and Buddhist monastery (Wat) that's across the street. If you're lucky you'll also hear or see the large jumping fish that have pretty much overtaken the pond. It is clean for the most part, although the bathroom has some open vents so you can get some visiting bugs, as well as hear the outside sounds quite easily. But, there's a door to the bathroom and changing area so you can tame down the noise and control the potential bug issue. With a good working air-conditioner you can pretty much block out the majority of outside sounds, with the exception of some low-flying airplanes coming into the airport and also the barking dogs across the river that call the colorful Wat their home. There's not much around for eating, except for Queen's Garden's own restaurant which has average to good food. If you are staying earlier in the day just up the narrow street (the opposite direction of the footbridge that crosses the river) there's a local's eatery. It's a busy place with a friendly vibe. It is only open in the mornings but they serve up some great duck, etc. There is also a quality coffee and tea stand which will make most jet-lagged travelers happy. I would not recommend Queen's Garden for longer stays though. See my reviews for Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza and Sri-Ayuttaya Guest House for some other ideas. However, I do recommend Queen's Garden for short stays. We'll happily stay again on our arrival and departure from Thailand.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are the upstair ones facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElephantDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I can't say this was a terrible place, because it really wasn't. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It is quite close to the airport and within walking distance to the Airport MRT, which is nice. The reason I don't give it a higher rating is simply because it is too overpriced. The current rate is 950THB for a double occupancy room. For that price I expected much nicer rooms. I also needed some laundry done and was going to have them do it for me until I found out the insanely high prices they charge for laundry. I would have expected that from a Hilton or Intercontinental, but this is far from that quality. I also felt like the staff was ruder than necessary. They want to be a higher end hotel, but it's clear they don't want to put in the work. All that said, it would get a "very good" review from me if it were priced closer to 500THB per night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bballbronco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

we were booked in here by our tour operator as it is thai owned, and is very close to the airport. we didn't feel that it was up to standard for westerners, and there was nowhere nearby to walk out to.

having said this, the food was good, and the staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorriemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I booked a one night stay here as it's pretty much on the end of the runway at Suvarnabhumi airport. It can be very noisy as you would imagine but nothing a couple of earplugs won't resolve! The rooms are big, clean & comfortable and you are giving a wake up call in the morning. The food from the restaurant is VERY GOOD! The only gripe I had was the location. I planned to finish my shopping in BKK before I flew to the UK but the hotel won't provide you with one of their own taxi's to the tourist spots (even though they don't do much else!). They advise you to take the skytrain, but unless you know where you are going then there's not much else to do... there is nothing to do within walking distance of this place and acess to transportation is limited!
Be aware that they do offer a full American breakfast but not until 0730 onwards...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Like the previous review I have stayed quite a number of times and was happy with the hotel, although I do feel it has gone down hill.

The staff seem disinterested and a little rude, and the place is looking a little run down.

Not bad place but certainly not good, better hotels close by.

Also wifi cost 200 baht, this comes free with some other hotels

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roosta21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

ive stayed at the queens garden resort 20 times as a stop over for 1 night . when i first stayed there in 2008 it was a pleasant and clean hotel good speaking reception staff and maids did keep the hotel rooms very clean. but have just returned from bangkok on the 12/02/12 and my experience this trip with the queens garden will never stay there again.
everytime i travel into bkk i have to phone hotel for pickup to hotel cannot find staff waiting for me at airport . this trip they had me waiting in airport 55mins so i had to get taxi meter to hotel. which i complained to the reception staff and was like talking to a stone wall all i got sorry sir. room air conditioning was leaking water all the time and had to use towels to dry floor reported to hotel reception and all i got was i will phone man to fix never came. on leaving the hotel in there shuttle there driver told my wife in thai as my wife is a thai national that every room the same water leaking from air condtioner and the big boss japanese company that own queens garden will not spend money on the hotel so many employess leave as have problem with customers complaining often about the condition of the hotel. me personally i have seen every time i travelled to the queens garden differant staff faces . i will not be staying there again .pity good location and shame gone down hill.

Room Tip: choose a differant hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
2.4 mi away
Siam Place Airport Hotel
Siam Place Airport Hotel
#492 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#289 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.9 mi away
BS Premier Airport Hotel
BS Premier Airport Hotel
#680 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sinsuvarn Airport Suite
Sinsuvarn Airport Suite
#677 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden Room Hostel
Garden Room Hostel
#378 of 1,158 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panini Residence
Panini Residence
#155 of 1,158 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Garden Resort at River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Garden Resort at River View

Property: Queen's Garden Resort at River View
Address: 22 Soi 7, Lat Krabang Road, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #570 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:2 star — Queen's Garden Resort at River View 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen's Garden Resort, one of the few true Bangkok Airport Hotels, conveniently located just five minutes from Suvarnabhumi International Airport and twenty five minutes from Bangkok City Centre. Queen's Garden Resort is two modern four story buildings with a hundred en-suite bedrooms, and, for the comfort and safety of our guests is completely non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Garden Resort at River View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Garden Resort At River View Hotel Bangkok
Queens Garden Hotel
Queens Garden Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing