We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wednesday Buffet.......Just OK”

Great American Rib Company
Ranked #6,495 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Barbecue, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: 1st authentic American-style barbecue restaurant in Bangkok, Thailand. Created 4th of July 2004, Great American Rib Company is home to authentic wood smoked U.S. style BBQ.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wednesday Buffet.......Just OK”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Arrived @ 7pm to an entirely empty restaurant & bar. After a few beers (San Migs @ 105b) we hit the BBQ buffet.

We enjoyed a selection of freshly grilled Ribs - Kebabs - Sausages (Thai style) & beef burgers.

Salads were limited with a very basic Ceaser & coleslaw available. Taco shells, beans & other related sauces were available.

Other than the burger/hot dog buns, no other breads were available as was the case with no potato variants.

Service was average - facility OK - Food was approx 500b per head.

Its unlikely we will return. The overall value equation is poor. There are some far better alternatives in BKK.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    36
    18
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wednesday BBQ Buffet: not bad.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Been there for the first time about a week ago for the Wednesday BBQ Buffet: food was decent, but the place was almost empty..shame, because the place DOES look nice.
I would have liked to see a bigger diversity for the buffet: a few more side-dishes like bbqed corn, bread and more salads..and some more meat-fish items as well, like bbq chickenbreast and some prawns. Their burgers are grilled freshly for you..nice. The ribs were tender, not to fatty, but a bit heavy on the bbq-sauce flavor for me.
Not the best BBQ, but money-wise the Wednesday BBQ Buffet IS a nice deal.

Helpful?
Thank FransRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Ribs!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The St. Louis style ribs here were great! I ordered the half-slab and was very satisfied with the portion. The ribs were very meaty with little fat. Their house BBQ sauce was the perfect balance of sweet and tangy. However, the best part of the experience was the service. The manager Tony, came to our table to check on how we were doing and to make sure we were happy with the food. He was very personable and gave us some excellent tips on things to do during our stay in Bangkok.

Next time I'm in Bangkok, i will definitely return to The Great American Rib Company to try out the Buffalo Wing special. (24 wings with a free pitcher of Singha)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Bad Experience”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I am writing to relay our experience at the Bangkok Great American Rib Company “restaurant”. We had a company function on the evening of March 20th 2014. This comprised about 70 people in our party. I will start with details of the initial ordering which was done far in advance of the event. We were reassured by their staff that everything would be fine as they had been in business for 10 years and that they knew what they were doing. YEAH RIGHT!!!!!!!!! The evening started off with a chaotic assigning of orders to each table by the on duty manager. This was not entirely successful due to the nature of it.
But then the real fun started! When we ordered our drinks, they were delivered in plastic cups like at some dive of a streetside drink den. How does that work? We were told that they didn’t have enough glasses. Well they mustn’t have had any, since hardly anyone got one! Next on the non-stop road of “delights” was the serving of the food. To say this was done in a totally unprofessional manner would be giving them far too much credit. It was done table by table serving starters and mains before addressing the needs of successive tables. This resulted in some tables being served or finishing mains before others even had a whiff of their starters. But what was really the bow in their ribbon of shame was that some members of our party had to wait almost 4 hours for their main courses. Now I’d like to know on which planet that is considered good service. Some members of our party did not get what they ordered or GOT NOTHING AT ALL!!! When we addressed these concerns with them, their response was that it was because we all showed up at once. Well WE BOOKED AND PRE-ORDERED A WEEK IN ADVANCE!!!!!!!!! How can that lame excuse possibly address their total incompetence. If you are a company or any large party considering using these people for a similar event, please take our experience into your consideration and go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
53 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“awesome wings. average ribs.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I ordered from here a couple of times now through foodbyphone.com so i can't comment on the service etc...
first time i ordered the ribs and authentic buffalo chicken wings. the ribs had a nice flavour but there was next to no meat on them. i know that ribs in general don't have a lot of meat but these had so little it left me feeling dissapointed.
on the other hand the wings were awesome. infact i couldn't quite get them out of my head so i ordered them again about a week later. something about them is addictive and sticks in your mind.
the second time i ordered them though they were different. the flavours were still great but the bone was disintegrated and splinted into little peices. possibly overcooked, never seen that before in a wing.
i also tried the caesar salad and pulled pork shoulder.
the caser was literally just lettuce, cheese, croutons and dressing. no bacon, anchovies or egg. somebody must have forgot. so it wasn't really a caesar salad in my opinion.
pulled pork wasn't bad but wasn't quite as tender as i expected and i felt it was a bit strong flavoured. i was trying to eat the sides to mellow it out but the coleslaw and potato were over powered with sweetness themselves so they weren't helping.
also i ordered the baked beans as a side but instead got corn bread.
overall i think somebody seems to be forgetting vital parts of orders in the kitchen however the wings are awesome and i am still thinking of the flavours!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nak_lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Rib Company also viewed

 

Been to Great American Rib Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing