We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy hotel in a quiet Soi off Sukhumvit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Ranked #210 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel in a quiet Soi off Sukhumvit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is on Soi 8 (not to be confused with the same hotel on Soi 11). This Soi is in a quiet location and good relaxing get away spot off Sukhumvit...without being too far away.
Walking distance off Sukhumvit would take a good 10 minutes so I would suggest using the free hotel tuk tuk which will run at any time upon request. The hotel porter/staff was exceptionally nice and friendly.
On arriving at the hotel reception I was greeted and checked in with no problems. However had to pay a fair deposit for the room key (maybe 500Baht?)
My room was cozy but a bit on the small side. Apart from that it had everything you would expect from a 4* hotel - safe, air con, tv, double bed, etc.
Recommend :) :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesG111186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear JamesG111186,

Warmest greetings from Salil Hotel (Soi8).

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us at Tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us recently and that you enjoyed the hotel’s products, facilities and services. Total guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and thanks to your positive comment and feedback that we are able to maintain on our service standard.
Again, thank you for choosing Salil Hotel (soi8). We certainly look forward to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit to Bangkok.

With best regards,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    209
    70
    16
    13
See reviews for
38
145
118
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Thank you to all Salil hotel staff for looking after me so well during my 3 week stay at your hotel.
I found your hotel to be clean, well located close to the city centre and in a quiet street.
All your staff have been very friendly especially the waitress Pum, all reception staff and your cleaning ladies are excellent and have done a great job every day.
I've enjoyed your chef's cooking as well.
I would happily stay with you again providing that you don't bump up the price anymore: the hotel is well priced (during the high season) for what it offers and compared with others in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Ms. Elizabeth A.,

Thank you very much for your kindness support at Salil Hotel Soi8 during visit in Bangkok. You comment made us to encourage staff to keep remainding great hospitality service, We appreciate for your satisfied during stay and sharing you experience through website.


We would like to welcome you and your family with our best hospitality service in the nearest.

Should you have any further queries or more information please do not hesitate contact me at you convenience.

Best Regards,
K.A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed 7 nights in total. Although the hotel and rooms were clean, adequate supplies of mini bar and toiletries, but they kind of try to suck your money out of your pockets.

I arrived early at 10 am in the morning and I requested the hotel staff that if you have the room ready and available, I would like to check-in early because I had a very tiring schedule in Phuket and an early morning flight as well. In response, they asked me that I can only check-in early if I pay them 25% of the cost of room for these 2 hours between 10-12 (12 being the check-in time). I was totally shocked at their reply that they do not have any hospitality towards guests.

Paying an extra 25% cost of the room just for 2 hours, even if they had my room ready and available. They did not even account for the fact that before checking in again at the hotel, I actually left the room 6 hours before the allotted check-out time to catch my flight to Phuket.

No courtesy towards guests. I will not probably stay here again in my life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOvais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear MOvais,

Thank you very much for your kind support Salil Hotel Sukhumvit soi8

According you were not satisfied & weren’t given a good impression about hotel service provided when you arrival. We sincerely regret that a situation you met with the hotel policy Check in time at 14.00 hrs. and check out time at 12.00 hrs. as standard.

However if you would like to returning please inform us directly we will offer the special benificial to you for next travelling.

Should you have any further queries or more information please do not hesitate contact me at you convenience.

Best Regards,
K.A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nice little hotel. Staff are friendly, especially the bellboy, Ad, who is an absolute diamond - very helpful and very likeable. Only problem I had was that the shower was not so good, not much pressure and not that hot. But I'd still highly recommend the hotel...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidP2426AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear DavidP2426AV,

Thank you very much for your kind support at Salil Hotel and rewarding best valuable feed back us an experience as your facing during stay at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 We appreciate for your satisfied during stay and sharing you experience through website.

We would like to welcome you and your family with our best hospitality service in the future.

Best regards,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, its a fair way down the soi, but this makes it quiet and away from the traffic, and their is a free buggy that will shuttle you to the top of the soi..the rooms were modern and clean, wifi worked well in the room, decent hot shower, minibar,kettle etc..I found all of the staff polite and friendly, and its handy having a small restaurant within the reception..the restaurant has a limited range, but breakfast was good and the staff in the restaurant were really nice...going the extra mile in my opinion...would reccommend and would stay again.
Great location in the heart of Sukhumvit and the Nana BTS station is at the top of the soi, for easy getting around town

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Forest1965,

Thank you very much for your kindness support at Salil Hotel Soi8 during visit in Bangkok. You comment made us to encourage staff to keep remainding great hospitality service, We appreciate for your satisfied during stay and sharing you experience through website.


We would like to welcome you and your family with our best hospitality service in next time.

Best Regards,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saumur, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

After an absence of 12 months I returned for my 5th stay at the Salil. Many of the core staff are still at the hotel and the service remains at its usual high standards. Much of the refurbishment needed especially in the public areas had been completed. The rooms are being progressively refurbished.

Soi 8 is one of the gems of Bangkok and once again it was a delight to stay in The Salil Soi 8.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the street are cooler when you return in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjhSaumur_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Mr. vjhSaumur,

Thank you very much for your keep loyalty with Salil Hotel Soi8 and thank you very much for kindness advice feed back and satisfied during with us, all your comment which great for us to keep remainding we work hard in everyday to ensure our guest received good service, it would be pleasure to host you back to Salil Hotel in the future.

Best Regards.,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have been to Bangkok six times now and this hotel is as just what I was looking for, all the facilities at a sensible price. The room was comfortable although I did find the bed a bit firm but after mentioning to to reception it was changed to a softer but still firm setting, now that's what I call service. The only problem I had was with breakfast and try as I may I always seemed to confuse the Chef, but there again I am fussy and hard to please. When I come again I will certainly see if they have rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Eddie Lewis,
Thank you very much for kindness advice feed back and satisfied during with us, all your comment which great for us to keep remainding and improving which made a bit incomfortable promptly.
We look forward to thewelcome you back the the future, thank you once agian for share your experience
Best Regards,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sawasdee Hotel @ Sukhumvit Soi 8
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#112 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Sukhumvit
Majestic Suites
Majestic Suites
#214 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8

Property: Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Address: 50, 50/1 Soi Sukhumvit 8 | Sukhumvit Rd., Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#83 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#133 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 is a small boutique accommodation with Thai-colonial architecture. The hotel is centrally located in Sukhumvit Soi 8, only 2 minutes by Golf Cart to the Nana BTS Sky Train station. All main business districts, shopping centers, restaurants and tourist attractions are in very close proximity. The Suvarnbhumi international airport is only 30 minutes away. The 30 luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated in Thai-Colonial style which provides you with the ultimate bygone era in Thailand experience. The 25 sqm Superior rooms and 35 sqm Deluxe rooms are fully furnished and equipped with deluxe amenities. The hotel provides free wifi internet and free shuttle service to/from Nana BTS Sky Train Station 24 hours. Thus, Salil Hotel is suitable for both the business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salil Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing