We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Ranked #224 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nice little hotel. Staff are friendly, especially the bellboy, Ad, who is an absolute diamond - very helpful and very likeable. Only problem I had was that the shower was not so good, not much pressure and not that hot. But I'd still highly recommend the hotel...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidP2426AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear DavidP2426AV,

Thank you very much for your kind support at Salil Hotel and rewarding best valuable feed back us an experience as your facing during stay at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 We appreciate for your satisfied during stay and sharing you experience through website.

We would like to welcome you and your family with our best hospitality service in the future.

Best regards,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    214
    72
    16
    13
See reviews for
40
147
119
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, its a fair way down the soi, but this makes it quiet and away from the traffic, and their is a free buggy that will shuttle you to the top of the soi..the rooms were modern and clean, wifi worked well in the room, decent hot shower, minibar,kettle etc..I found all of the staff polite and friendly, and its handy having a small restaurant within the reception..the restaurant has a limited range, but breakfast was good and the staff in the restaurant were really nice...going the extra mile in my opinion...would reccommend and would stay again.
Great location in the heart of Sukhumvit and the Nana BTS station is at the top of the soi, for easy getting around town

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Forest1965,

Thank you very much for your kindness support at Salil Hotel Soi8 during visit in Bangkok. You comment made us to encourage staff to keep remainding great hospitality service, We appreciate for your satisfied during stay and sharing you experience through website.


We would like to welcome you and your family with our best hospitality service in next time.

Best Regards,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saumur, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

After an absence of 12 months I returned for my 5th stay at the Salil. Many of the core staff are still at the hotel and the service remains at its usual high standards. Much of the refurbishment needed especially in the public areas had been completed. The rooms are being progressively refurbished.

Soi 8 is one of the gems of Bangkok and once again it was a delight to stay in The Salil Soi 8.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the street are cooler when you return in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjhSaumur_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Mr. vjhSaumur,

Thank you very much for your keep loyalty with Salil Hotel Soi8 and thank you very much for kindness advice feed back and satisfied during with us, all your comment which great for us to keep remainding we work hard in everyday to ensure our guest received good service, it would be pleasure to host you back to Salil Hotel in the future.

Best Regards.,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have been to Bangkok six times now and this hotel is as just what I was looking for, all the facilities at a sensible price. The room was comfortable although I did find the bed a bit firm but after mentioning to to reception it was changed to a softer but still firm setting, now that's what I call service. The only problem I had was with breakfast and try as I may I always seemed to confuse the Chef, but there again I am fussy and hard to please. When I come again I will certainly see if they have rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Eddie Lewis,
Thank you very much for kindness advice feed back and satisfied during with us, all your comment which great for us to keep remainding and improving which made a bit incomfortable promptly.
We look forward to thewelcome you back the the future, thank you once agian for share your experience
Best Regards,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights when we arrived in Thailand. The staff are very welcoming, especially Ad. The hotel is clean, even though they were painting on our floor they moved us to another room without us asking. They have a little golf buggy to take you to the main road. The small road it's on has a few bars, a shop, exchange place and restaurants. There are also taxis available outside the hotel. There were slippers, shampoo, conditioner and tea making facilities in the room and the air con worked well. Overall we had an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Hayley0161,

My associates and I, esp Ad are extremely pleased to have created for you a positive memorable experience.We hope to welcome you back again soon to experience yet another memorable stay with us.

Sincerely
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I booked this hotel looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor, which I have been doing since last so many years. But this time it was an utter dissatisfaction. I moved to this hotel after I was disappointed with the rooms at their other hotel at Thonglor. They guy over there convinced me that this is a better hotel. On my first day I noticed that the bathroom door had a few pointed wooden chips come out and it could hurt someone. I informed the same to housekeeping lady and she told me that she will inform this to the front desk.

Everything was going good for my first 3 days of stay. Suddenly, one morning one of the wooden chips pierced a finger of my leg and it started bleeding. I had no option but to use the hand towel lying in the bathroom to press the spot from where it was bleeding. Had I walked inside the room the entire floor would have blood stains and hence, I preferred to use a hand towel in the bathroom to stop the blood. I informed the same to one of the boys at the lobby since I could not find the main staff and I left the hotel for some work.

On my return, I was surprised that the Manager (his name is Win) handed me a written notice that I damaged the hand towel (which had a couple of blood spots) and asked me to pay 200 Baht for the same. He was not bothered that I was bleeding because of their careless attitude and didn't even check with me if I was Ok. Instead, he was more concerned for the damage of a completely worn out hand towel and charged me 200 Baht (approx $7). He also threatened me that he has my credit card and he can even retrieve more money from it than 200 Baht so better I agree to pay at that moment itself. I didn't want to get into an issue and I agreed to pay. I have never seen any of the hotel staff ever threaten their guest, this was the first time.

What caught my attentions was the written notice that he had handed over to me. The back side of the notice had a print of some guest's booking confirmation and it had all the sensitive details about that guest's credit card including complete credit card number, expiry date, CVV number and the full name. That means the hotel is storing guests entire credit card details inside their computers without the knowledge of the guest........EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. They reused the back side of this paper that had all credit card details to print the notice. Who all have stayed at this hotel, will never know how many hands have exchanged their sensitive credit card details. Please think......are you or your credit card safe with this hotel before you book to stay at this place.

As a proof of what I am writing here, I have attached the pictures of the notice as well the back side of the notice which has the booking information of some other guest including the entire credit card details. The masked numbers you see are done by me and not by hotel....I have masked them so that the credit card can't be misused.

You have everything in front of you in black and white. Please note, it is mandatory for this hotel to capture your credit card so there is no escape. They store your credit card details inside their personal computers.........ARE YOU SAFE?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TraavelGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Tavelgreek,
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. We hereby confirm that we have secured for the credit card system in the store credit card information because the hotel realizes this as well. What you say is probably referred to caused by a misunderstanding.
However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenient which caused you from this case.
We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome and serve you again.
Sincerely,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying here. Everything about the hotel is realy good. Friendly staff who are always smiling. Great food. Highly recomended. Good location away from the hustle and bustle of bangkok. I will stay here when i return in january

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nibble26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Nibble26,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. My associates and I are happy that you have found our entire staff friendly. We would be more than happy to have you back with us again.

Sincerely,
K.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Sawasdee Hotel @ Sukhumvit Soi 8
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#99 of 858 in Bangkok
893 reviews
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#159 of 858 in Bangkok
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8

Property: Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Address: 50, 50/1 Soi Sukhumvit 8 | Sukhumvit Rd., Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#133 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 is a small boutique accommodation with Thai-colonial architecture. The hotel is centrally located in Sukhumvit Soi 8, only 2 minutes by Golf Cart to the Nana BTS Sky Train station. All main business districts, shopping centers, restaurants and tourist attractions are in very close proximity. The Suvarnbhumi international airport is only 30 minutes away. The 30 luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated in Thai-Colonial style which provides you with the ultimate bygone era in Thailand experience. The 25 sqm Superior rooms and 35 sqm Deluxe rooms are fully furnished and equipped with deluxe amenities. The hotel provides free wifi internet and free shuttle service to/from Nana BTS Sky Train Station 24 hours. Thus, Salil Hotel is suitable for both the business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salil Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing