We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From ok to bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Ranked #210 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“From ok to bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have stayed at this place about 10 times in the last 3 years. This time I noticed change for the worse in terms of cleanliness, service and comfort. Many other establishments (new or renovated) in the same road have come up and offer better value for money. Most annoying is that they are asking for a credit card surcharge upon check-out. Nice try... but it does not go down well. The competition does not sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Fuzzyguy,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and for the feedback. Please accept our deepest apologies; we are sorry to have given you this unsatisfactory experience. we are deeply concerned when our regular guest was not satisfied with our service. I will indeed make a special mention to the rest of the team about the matter and the cleanliness.Should you have any suggestions which you feel would help to maintain and possibly improve our standard of service, we would sincerely appreciate your advice.Hope to have the pleasure of a return visit from you again in a near future.

sincerely,
w.sirikul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    209
    70
    16
    13
See reviews for
38
145
118
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our travels around Thailand. We found the hotel to be satisfactory. the room was very small but i guess it did the job. theres a tv and dvd player with lots of DVDs available for you to borrow. that was a nice touch. the room was clean and bathroom was the same. there is a safe. the second day we were out from 8 am and got back at 3pm, the room still wasnt made up. had a quick shower and we went back out again got back at 12am, the room was then done. i think they could be a bit quicker with making up the rooms as all they did was change the towels and make the bed ( didnt change sheets), couldnt have taken that long to do. Didnt get a fresh bottle of shower gel also so we had to use the shampoo instead. we also got smelly towels, so had to go to reception to ask for fresh ones which i would rather not have to do at 12 am. but the guy at reception went to find fresh towels and brought them to our room. breakfast was good and had eggs, cereal, toast, rice, noodles usual mix.
the hotel is located right next to Nana BTS, which is why we chose this hotel. the area is busy, lots of shopping as there is a night market, restaurants, bars anything you want. the only drawback is the road it is on is veeery long, and the hotel is at the end of it. they do have a complimentary golf buggy that takes you up to the main road which is great, but on the way back you always have to walk as they never park at the top of the road. after a long day of sightseeing or shopping, its very tiring. also on arrival you have to pay 1000 baht deposit for the key, which i think is pointless.

still all in all it is good value for money, and i proably would stay again, but it's definitly not a 4 star hotel, 3 at best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

It is our first time to book for a hotel in Bangkok, so we just relied on the comments here in tripadvisor and we are happy to know that all the feedbacks here are true and exactly what Salil Hotel deserves. The area is peaceful, no bars or clubs neighbouring Salil Hotel. It is not located on the main road but the idea of walking back to the hotel after you had dinner of every Thai food your stomach can take is just so right to give your tummy time to digest what you just ate. :) Every part of the hotel is clean, the cafeteria, our room, toilet and shower room. The staffs are nice, accommodating and always wear the best smile. And also all of them can speak English. The water heater, aircon unit, tv and dvd player are in good condition, WIFI also is great, except for their telephone because we did an international call and the connection is not clear, there’s a lot of noise during our conversation. I guess that’s the only thing they need to improve. BUT if you don’t have to do an outside call Salil hotel is the best value for your money. Given another opportunity to visit Bangkok, we will no doubt book again at Salil Hotel.
Btw, special thanks to one of their staff Apisit K. for the warm service he showed us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eiramana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very conveniently located with the Nana Skytrain station situated at the top of the road. This has got to be the best mode of transport in BKK. The road traffic is just horrendous. The Skytrain will take you to any number of shopping centres. Also located very close is the night market on Sukhumvit Road and a variety of restaurants.
We arrived early and were allowed to occupy our room before checkin time as soon as it was made up. We had made a reservation for 3 family members in one room and on inspection of the room we found that there was a misunderstanding about deluxe and superior rooms. Once this was sorted out we were moved to a larger room and paid the extra charge; the accommodation was very comfortable. Not quite a 4 star hotel as noted on tripadvisor or by many guests but close enough.
The hotel has a golf buggy that will take you up to the main road, and bring you back if you’re lucky enough that the buggy is at the top of the road when you need a ride back with all your parcels after a long day of shopping!! All staff were very pleasant and helpful. If you're planning on doing a day of touring and are being picked up before breakfast the hotel will give you a light breakfast package to take with you.
The inhouse breakfast was very disappointing and leaves a lot to be desired. Bacon had been cooked way in advance and was sitting on sliced bread to absorb the grease, and ‘juice’ was cordial. In fairness, you could get eggs cooked fresh and with toast, fresh fruit and cup of tea or coffee, that was good enough to get us started for the day. The breakfast staff could possibly be given some training in how to run the dining room, to keep dishes replenished and tables cleared away quickly. If you don’t take the ‘breakfast included’ option, there are many, many restaurants in the street that serve a great American style breakfast at reasonable prices.
Overall a comfortable stay and a great experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the difference between superior and deluxe rooms. Check with the hotel befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TL_AusTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu, Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

we've stayed at salil with my sister for more than 3 weeks. Staff were very accommodating.
very reasonable price with free buffet breakfast where we can chosen either american or asian style buffet. excellent signal on wifi. the place were just a few minute walk to the BTS. Salil were just like our home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alna_ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Alna_Ph,

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments

We hope to welcome you back again soon to experience yet another memorable stay with us.

Sincerely
Salil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Salil for two nights. The room was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Though small, it had everything that even large hotels do not. The mini bar was well stocked, there were biscuits available, a tea/coffee maker, a safe, cupboard, extra pillows and even a video player with free CDs one can choose from! The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, the breakfast good, and the location at the end of the soi was no problem as there is a golf cart service to and from the main road. The fixtures, quality of bed and linen, and the bathroom were all of a very high standard. Certainly a good bargain!
I would recommend this hotel highly for its service, location and overall friendliness.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilua_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Lilue,

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments

We hope to welcome your family back again soon to experience yet another memorable stay with us.

Sincerely
Salil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed at The Salil Hotel on a weekend trip to Bangkok recently, I must say we had an enjoyable stay throughout, we found the price to be extremely reasonable for what you get and far exceeded our expectations for what we paid. We checked in late on Friday night and the guy at reception and concierge were extremely helpful and very friendly, our twin room was spacious, extremely clean and very beautifully presented. The location is at the bottom of the road so nicely tucked away from the chaos to give you solitude when you need it and centrally located to many restaurants and the BTS. There is a golf cart service to take and pick you up from the top of the road 24 hours a day. Apart from the cheap shopping our stay at The Salil was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saccoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Saccoche,

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments

We hope to welcome you back again soon to experience yet another memorable stay with us.

Sincerely
Salil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sawasdee Hotel @ Sukhumvit Soi 8
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#112 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Sukhumvit
Majestic Suites
Majestic Suites
#214 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8

Property: Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Address: 50, 50/1 Soi Sukhumvit 8 | Sukhumvit Rd., Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#83 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#133 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 is a small boutique accommodation with Thai-colonial architecture. The hotel is centrally located in Sukhumvit Soi 8, only 2 minutes by Golf Cart to the Nana BTS Sky Train station. All main business districts, shopping centers, restaurants and tourist attractions are in very close proximity. The Suvarnbhumi international airport is only 30 minutes away. The 30 luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated in Thai-Colonial style which provides you with the ultimate bygone era in Thailand experience. The 25 sqm Superior rooms and 35 sqm Deluxe rooms are fully furnished and equipped with deluxe amenities. The hotel provides free wifi internet and free shuttle service to/from Nana BTS Sky Train Station 24 hours. Thus, Salil Hotel is suitable for both the business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salil Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing