We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Budget Hotel very near to shopping malls at bangkok.”
Review of The Ecotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ecotel Bangkok
Ranked #657 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Imphal, Manipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Budget Hotel very near to shopping malls at bangkok.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came to Bangkok for a conference and stayed here between 23rd - 29th april '13.
Booked through online using Goibibo ( booking .com ). Booking got confirmed and paid money through debit card on day of check in. Rooms are very clean, non - smoking hotel, Bathroom facilities are nice and clean. Toilet amenities are provided daily ( towel , shampoo , soaps .... )
Room cleaning is done daily and very neat. Hotel is just 5 min away from indra market, pratunam, about 10 - 15 min from siam square, where are the best shopping malls of the world are located.
Indian restaurants are just a minute away from the hotel. Bluestar restaurant is very to the hotel and they also give room delivery for all types of indian foods.
Breakfast buffet has to be improved a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srkthehero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    203
    162
    45
    55
See reviews for
137
129
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We (4 adults) stayed there for 4 days 3 nights recently, the rooms were decent though the bathroom doors could use some cleaning. The housekeeping staff were alright. The front desk some were quite friendly some not so maybe it is the communication barrier? hotel, tourism = have more english speaking staff possibly? They have a western and thai restaurant "Cafe D'Elite" - food service and ambiance there good. The thai restaurant "Tom Yum Thai Restaurant" food and service is acceptable but furnshings looks quite dated. The staff are sometimes shared between the two restaurants. Overall no major complaints about the rooms and restaurant The area "pratunam" has a lot of traffic i.e. human and vehicles though generally acceptably clean but many buildings looks run down and old and in need of some "face-lift". When travelling in asia, as always make sure you check prices whether taxi fare or purchases. There is always bargaining to be done for e.g. the floating market tour can be from 250 Bhat to 1500 Bhat and that is just the floating market tour, the water is dirty, you can get stuck in "boat traffic" . Not a tour recommended for those with litle children as some boats are motor driven and some manually using oars. some boats had cover, some didnt have and it was not pleasant if you are going in the afternoon, with the heat.

Check weather before visiting as the humidity and heat may be not comfortable for some. http://www.1stopbangkok.com/about_bkk/seasons/#monthly-weather

December appears to be the best time to visit when it is the coolest time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocoa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very good hotel, the rooms were really clean and hughe, the price was just excellent. Only a few blocks away from the skytrain station and ratchaprop street. I tried to stay there a second time but it was fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeoAngelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel is clean and well maintained. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Buffet breakfast was very good and kept you going for long time. All services needed you will find nearby (massages, taxis, street food, laundry....), as well as many shopping malls. For taxi drivers it was sometimes difficult to find the hotel, they know better Bangkok Palace and Ramada so those are better landmarks for them. Great quality for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvesteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I booked a triple room at the Ecotel for New Year's Eve when most other hotels in the area were full or had driven up their prices. The staff was very helpful and the free breakfast was a large spread with plenty of options. The room was very large and the AC worked great. Overall, it was a nice place to catch up on sleep after a long trip from the States.

While the Ecotel is centrally located in Bangkok, cab drivers had a difficult time finding the hotel and we found it easiest to have them take us to the nearby Ramada. Avoid the taxi stand just outside the hotel as they refuse to use the meter and tried to charge us more than double for a trip to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

There are 3 things which are most important to any place I stay at, The Bed, the Bath and the fulfillment of key services promised by the hotel. [In my case, internet connection is usually quite critical since I need to check on my work mails.]
I will often find a compromise for these along with location and price.

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when in Bangkok.

Summary: If you are looking for a budget hotel and willing to overlook lack of internet, you should consider this hotel. It has a decent breakfast for the price, a really attractive location which would save you even more money traveling from the airport. You will get average staff service at best but do remember that this is not some up-market 5 star hotel and I have no complaints about the staff. (The hotel staff outside the reception do their job mostly as if they have got a grudge against you but they do it and that's most important.)

Details to my summary are highlighted below:

Location: The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the train station which is connected directly to the airport. This is a very good advantage if you do not mind a short walk.

Bed: Totally acceptable. Bed was firm, clean and sheets were changed everyday. I am quite happy with them.

Bath: The bath was reasonably clean for the type of hotel but the water for the shower was inconsistent. The water pressure changes even during your shower and this was also reflected in the ever changing temperature of the water.

Key Services: One of the reasons I booked at this hotel was for the free wifi service. For the entire 4 days I was in the hotel, there was no wifi in my room. No cable alternative either. When I asked the staff in the front desk, they gave me no answer except to tell me that the access point was spoilt for my level and that they will try to fix it. I was willing to overlook this and not kick up a fuss seeing that I was on a holiday instead of a work trip but this would be completely unacceptable if I had work to do.

Staff: The only staff who smiled at you were the front desk. You will find that the room service and restaurant staff gave you a look as if you owed them something. To their credit I want to stress that this is only surface level, they will do their job. [Remove your plates, clean your room, bring your water etc.]

Other points: The buffet breakfast was acceptable to above average given the price of the hotel. Hotel is completely non-smoking for rooms which is an advantage for those who do not smoke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Vadodara, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A very good budget hotel at extremely affordable rates. The staff is also quite courteous. The highlight of the location is the streetfood that one can find in the nearby areas. Gives you a good flavour of life in Bangkok away from all the glitz and glamour.
The rooms are very clean. Of course, one can't expect five star service, but for the rate you pay, it definitely is very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitDH2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Alpine
Grand Alpine
#690 of 861 in Bangkok
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada D MA Bangkok
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#525 of 861 in Bangkok
796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#706 of 861 in Bangkok
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bangkok
Hotel de Bangkok
#257 of 861 in Bangkok
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bangkok Palace Hotel
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#161 of 861 in Bangkok
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ecotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ecotel Bangkok

Property: The Ecotel Bangkok
Address: 1091/333-4 New Petchburi Road 35 | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #657 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ecotel Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ecotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecotel Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ecotel Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Ecotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing