We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply worth it!”
Review of The Ecotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ecotel Bangkok
Ranked #556 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We've stayed at Ecotel for 6 days, the service is above average with the rate that we got, its all worth it, a mere 10minutes walk to the shopping centers, good for a morning exercise,a lot of street-foods selling at night near the hotel, the service is good, they clean our rooms everyday even without putting the clean room card on the door knob, complimentary bottled water everyday, breakfast buffet with a selection of Thai and western dishes, in-room free WiFi is fast, i don't know why other guest said that there was no WiFi in their room, maybe their room is far from the router, our room is near the router in the 4th floor, front desk personnel's are also friendly, the surroundings is more quiet compared to other hotels near the shopping centers. the only cons that i don't like is the taxis and tuk-tuks waiting outside the hotel, they will try to con you if your not aware of the scams in Bangkok, avoid them. and overall stay its a great stay! I will be back here again. Khob Kun Ka!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the wifi router for fast speed internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TWIzManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 523 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Do not expect to much here. More like a motel 6 back home

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fungmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

So, with great curiosity we commenced our first Thailand trip on reaching Bangkok. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Its walking distance from nearest rail link. For taxis, u can mention hotel Ramada or Ratchaprarop station to the driver. MMost of the shopping destinations are close-by, nearly 15 minutes walk to Panthip, Pratunam, & night markets. Hotel is clean with locker facility. Staff is friendly & co-operative. A good accommodating bathroom with hot water & comfortable double bed is all it takes to make the stay perfect. Will stay there definitely on further trips.

Room Tip: Not a great view from room. But u need it for sleep, dont u?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Roaming_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The best part of this hotel is its location. This hotel is 10-15 minutes walk to Bangkok's most famous shopping destinations - Pratunam, Platinum fashion mall, Pantip Plaza. In fact, it is just 5-10 minutes to Indira market. Very convenient for those who want to do shopping and come back to hotel to sleep. This hotel is 10 minutes walk from Ratchprop station that is on the airport link. Plenty of Indian restaurants around the hotel and Indira market for those seeking vegetarian food.

Otherwise, the rooms are very basic with not much amenities. They do not supply tea / coffee / electric kettle in room. Wifi is free but is very weak in the rooms. You can access wifi only at the lobby. This hotel charges 2,000 Baht as deposit while taking the room which is returned upon check out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mast07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

First of all, NO taxi driver knows this hotel. So we had to use Ramada as the landmark everytime.
The location is pretty crowded with narrow lanes. I wasn't too pleased with that. But it is quite accessible to the Pratunam Market and all the wholesale malls which is a plus. The price was the only reason we booked the room. We had a late check-in and the receptionist seemed polite. But suprisingly, they had no one to take our luggage upstairs so we had to fend for ourselves. When we entered the room, it just felt so stuffy! The room is very tiny, plus the windows are locked. Anyway, not like we had a choice. But the strangest bit was, when we tried opening our main piece of luggage, we found the lock clamped and it had to be pried open. So we called the reception to help us out . He just refused to! Said its late and he will send something at 6am. This went on for a good 5 Minutes. We actually didn't know how to react to that. Tried explaining it to him that its urgent since all of our belongings are in the main suitcase and it had to be opened now, he just refused to understand. My friend tried asking for a pair of scissors, to which he replied- Can not. no scissor. We had almost given up trying to make sense of it when there was a knock on the door. He did come by to give the scissor which we said we will return in 15 minutes. But he said NO, i will stand here and continued to supervise us. If he thought we were trying to kill ourselves with a pair of scissors, thanks for the concern!

That aside, the shower makes this loud shrieking noise when it goes down the sink. You wont hear it when you shower but the person outside definitely will! And the air-con. Wow. It was 45 degrees in Bangkok when we were visiting, and the air-con was barely working. Even if you kept it switched on for hours, it would only barely do some cooling.

The breakfast was ordinary with the same options everyday. Not really appetizing. Oh also, it is a strictly non-smoking hotel.

I was the happiest the day we checked out of Ecotel! Couldn't wait to get out of there. Undoubtedly the worst part of our whole trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I turned up tired and stressed after leaving my first hotel which was shocking, they bend over backwards to accommodate me, the two restaurants which are part of the hotel but on the corner of the hotel, the food and service was as good if not better than I've received in restaurants at home in Sydney, it's a shame there not busier, which I don't understand, so defiantly worth go!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hotel was ok but I was very annoyed with the deposit fee that I was charged when I arrived. That was the only place in all of Thailand that asked me for a deposit. I asked the guy at the reception, isn’t the copy of my passport enough but they insisted. The room was fine, unfortunately I can’t comment on the breakfast since I did not have it there. I hope next time ( if there will be a next time ) they will tell the customer ahead of time that they require a deposit charge on their arrival.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billrybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patralak, Manager at The Ecotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Dear Mr. Billrybak,

Greetings from The Ecotel Bangkok.

First of all, thank you for choosing The Ecotel Bangkok for your accommodation in Bangkok.

In regards of your review on TripAdvisor.com, the hotel do require the deposit from guests in form of cash or credit card.

Normally, the hotel charge THB 2,000 deposit by cash and THB 1,000 by credit card. We will return this amount of money to you when you check-out.

We do apologize that this deposit process made you feel annoying.

We do look forward to welcome you to The Ecotel Bangkok again for your next visit to Bangkok.

Thank you and have a nice day.

Yours sincerely, Patralak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.1 mi away
Bangkok Palace Hotel
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#159 of 889 in Bangkok
1,678 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada D MA Bangkok
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#504 of 889 in Bangkok
836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Alpine
Grand Alpine
#748 of 889 in Bangkok
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
#213 of 889 in Bangkok
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
P2 Boutique Hotel
P2 Boutique Hotel
#541 of 889 in Bangkok
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ecotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ecotel Bangkok

Address: 1091/333-4 New Petchburi Road 35 | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #556 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ecotel Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ecotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecotel Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ecotel Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Ecotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing