We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm finding it hard to review this hotel”
Review of Burgary Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Burgary Hotel
Ranked #185 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my first visit to Taiwan, and so I was not too sure about the best area(s) to stay in. Although I did a lot of research, I still found conflicting comments. Anyway, I chose the The Burgary Hotel in Ximen, an area that I really enjoyed.

I stayed in a deluxe room with breakfast. Even before I arrived there, the photos on the hotel's website informed me that these rooms may be "different" to other hotel rooms that I was used to. So when I opened the door to the hotel and saw the decor, I was not surprised. Im not saying there was anything wrong with it, but it is not my cup of tea. There were many pros and cons about statying at this hotel:

cons: air con instructions in Chinese, no wardrobe, just a small hanging space, slippery wooden floor, staff could hardly speak English, a large "Exit" neon light inside the room which shone all night, glass between the bedroom and the spa, no shower door, so water from the shower would go every where.

pros: Location, location, location (this was by far the best attribute of the hotel), large spa, great view to Taipei 101, very effective air conditioning,

Although breakfast was adequate, it is not geared towards westerners in any way (I am not complaining about this, but rather stating a fact - don't expect a western style breakfast).

The staff were very friendly, but there was only 1 lady who could talk broken English, so if she was not on duty, there was basically no communication.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

A great Hotel great location to Subway. Very clean
staff very friendly and speak english
good breakfast which is included in your price.

Room Tip: Always ask for quite room not near a lift. non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chez270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is my 2nd stay with Burgary in a 6 months span. Never fails to impress me.

Burgary Hotel is situation in an excellent location, which is XMD (Mrt Exit 1), across is PartyWorld KTV which has excellent ambience.

The room was spacious enough for me, and they have a jaccuzi for relaxation after a hard day of walking ! However, as some of the folks have mentioned the bathroom and shower are all in the same area, so it gets very wet after a shower. Many channels on TV (including adult), so may not be kids friendly.Not much of a choice for breakfast but that's alright considering the location.

Once again, it's a nicely situation hotel and I have nothing much to complain about.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silentscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent 4 days here. It locates in Ximending and easy to locate. It only takes a few minutes walk to the train station and it is close to Ximending shopping area. It is a small hotel, only four rooms on a floor. The room is clean, tidy and spacious. That's great to have free wifi in room. The lobby is very small and the bathroom floor will all get wet after you take a shower. No choice for breakfast and the restaurant is pretty small. The staff are nice and helpful. The price is reasonable and I would recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureLoverVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel was located within 1 min walk of XiMen Station & 2 mins walk within the XiMenDing Shopping district. Level 2 was a comfortable waiting area with Wifi before/after check-in/check-out. Security of the hotel was tight as you have to hand in your room key to reception whenever you leave and report your room number & last name when you get back. Breakfast was made to order by two lovely ol'ladies & was delicious- day 1 was bacon & egg muffins with salad, day 2 was spaghetti bolognese with corn soup, with choice of hot drinks (tea/coffee/soy milk/milo). Our room was spacious & had a king-size bed, also a sofa. Bathroom had spa & standing shower. There was a soap scum patch towards the bottom corner of the shower which was a little unpleasant to look at, but didn't bother us too much. Windows opened, room didn't have any unpleasant odours and outside air up on the 18th floor wasn't so bad. We also had free in-room wifi which was a plus. XiMenDing had so many shops and street food which suited us just fine. Also very easy to get to major attractions Taipei 101 etc as we're on the main MRT blue line. The service was great all staff were nice. There is a cute girl from reception who looked like was suffering from Nystagmus (her eyes moved rapidly & did not focus very well), she needs to look at documents at a very close range to check them. She was very lovely though so if you're checking in just be patient. Overall a great hotel to stay at if you want to explore the city and stay somewhere central.

Room Tip: Our Elite room had a king size bed, flat screen TV, hat/coat stand and a sofa. Was spacious enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coko_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights..

Pro's
1) Wifi in room
2) 2 mins walk to Ximending Area
3) 2 mins walk to Ximending train station
4) Tons of shopping and food places around
5) Reasonable Rate

Con's
1) Small hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgeMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Burgary Hotel is situation in an excellent location, which is XMD. The room was spacious enough for me, and they have a jaccuzi for relaxation after a hard day of walking ! However, as some of the folks have mentioned the bathroom and shower are all in the same area, so it gets very wet after a shower. Many channels on TV (including adult), so may not be kids friendly.Not much of a choice for breakfast but that's alright considering the location. Overall, it's a nicely situation hotel and I have nothing much to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silentscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
0.1 mi away
Airline Inn Taipei Zhong Hua
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#109 of 578 in Taipei
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#56 of 578 in Taipei
1,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
0.2 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#51 of 578 in Taipei
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burgary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgary Hotel

Address: No.168 Changhua Road, Section 1, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $64 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burgary Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burgary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burgary Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing