We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time but mind the weather” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maokong Gondola

Maokong Gondola
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Tea of Taipei: Small-Group Tour with Taipei City Sightseeing
Ranked #5 of 549 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
“Fun time but mind the weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Enjoyed the trip up. It was extremely worth it to get the glass floor and as a party of 2, we got bumped up the line to help fill a cabin with a party of 3. Enjoyed exploring Maokong and having tea ice cream. BEWARE: There is an add for a free tea chocolate in the Maokong terminal gondola station, if you visit the Tea Promotion center and get a stamp. We did that and the Tea Promotion Center was a lot of fun but... the free tea chocolate is a sample of it, not a full chocolate. I thought it was gonna be an ice cream. We did enjoy getting a tea ice cream but order water to wash it down, because it gets really tea-y. We headed back to the gondola around 2:30pm to head back but some bad weather closed the gondola. There was a huge line of people waiting to get back down and they employed 1 or 2 buses to take people down. We waited about an hour and they were really nice. The gondola workers gave out water, pencils, and the bus down was free. A down side for me though was there are no phones in the station, so I had to borrow a desk phone to alert a family member I might be late. Would do it again, but mind the weather!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virchual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,590
    1,486
    473
    50
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience at an amazing price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Do wait for the Eye of the Maokong Gondola experience. The glass floor will reward you with amazing views. On of the best cable-cars I've used. The package for 120TWD (round-trip+1 ride) is a steal for this. We also had the experience of a thunderstorm while on the mountain. The Gondola employees were exceptional in arranging for buses for us to return to the base of the mountain, refunding our tickets (since we couldn't make it to the top), as well as offering water and paper fans to alleviate the heat/humidity. I was very impressed!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great inexpensive adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

One of he longest gondolas in the world and cost less than US$2 one way. There is someway to prebook the glass bottom carts (I did not know how) and you will avoid the queue. Beware that the gondolas are not air conditions and can be very hot inside, especially on a sunny afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holein1_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cheap and fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The tickets were really cheap at NT100 for a return ticket from the Taipei Zoo Station all the way to Maokong station. One will get a bird's eye view of the city.
There are quite a number of tea houses at Maokong and one can try the different teas and tea ice cream, whilst enjoying the view. My kids had a lot of fun. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank XiaoMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Stunning views of the city and 101 tower without the need to climb mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Gondola is located next to the Taipei Zoo MRT station. When purchasing your MRT pass ask the station staff for one that also includes the Gondola.

The view is amazing as the carriage makes it's way across the mountains. There are lots of tea houses at Maokong to purchase refreshments at the end of the journey. About 400m from the station you will find Redwood house which has stunning views across the mountains to the city, good coffee and delicious waffles.

It is also worth getting off at Zhinan Temple station to go exploring.

You need to be aware that the opertion of the gondola is subject to the weather conditions. A thunderstorm will cause it to be closed and you may need cash to get a cab back down the mountain to an MRT station.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maokong Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing