We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning Scenic, Night Romantic”
Review of Maokong Gondola

Maokong Gondola
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Tea of Taipei: Small-Group Tour with Taipei City Sightseeing
Ranked #5 of 549 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Morning Scenic, Night Romantic”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have only good things to say but to queue for the crystal cabin is somewhat... funny. Suggest to hop on to any cabin. Have fun!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Halo_Crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,655
    1,542
    491
    51
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant but Busy”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was a great view but during Chinese New Year it is very busy. We rode this after going to a very crowded zoo. It was still nice to do.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
610 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Do It!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Although I did not get to ride the Maokong Gondola until in the evening, the views of Taipei along the ride were still very cool. I can imagine that on a clear day the views would be even more spectacular.

In my opinion, The Maokong Gondola is best attraction ride and sightseeing tour you will ever get for under US$4.

To have an even better experience than I did I would recommend going up in the late afternoon then having dinner (for under US$4) near the Maokong Station or just walking around the area until dark.

Afterward take the ride back and enjoy the sparkling lights of Taipei down below as you climb and descend hills on your way back to the Taipei Zoo Station.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkou County, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gondola Ride”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Beautiful views of the entir areas. There is a glass floor- great for looking at the "fern" that must be 10' wide. Walked from the top of the mountain down to the next stop. Beatiful walking on a two lane road. Lots of little tea houses all along the way. You can see the tea growing. Very breezy on the top! Take your camera and a jacket!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marni_lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Gondola Ride but rude ticketing staff”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The crystal Gondola is definitely worth waiting for. We waited about half an hour for it but well worth it. The ticketing staff were quite rude though which spoilt the day for us. It didn't make sense why we needed to go to a counter to tell them how many people were travelling only to go to another counter to say the same thing and then buy our tickets. Very inefficient way i reckon. The staff at the Gondola itself were the opposite and quite friendly and efficient. The ride takes about 20 minutes to get right up to the top.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wi-Hean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maokong Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing