We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh air and enjoyable trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maokong Gondola

Maokong Gondola
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Tea of Taipei: Small-Group Tour with Taipei City Sightseeing
Ranked #5 of 546 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh air and enjoyable trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Did not get to do this in 2008 as gondola was under renovation. relatively easy to get to by subway, fresh air during the journey and range of walking trails

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Terence1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,625
    1,515
    483
    50
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My ride on the Maokong Gondola was at night. I took the crystal gondola which has a transparent floor. It is very safe but I was nervous. I enjoyed it. I bet the experience is better with day light.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripnena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the view but not the queues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had some spare time and decided to check out the gondola. Enjoyed the cool weather and scenery while the gondola ascended at a leisurely pace past the different stations. Quite memorable as we had a bird's eye view of the vast landscape (from the forested regions, lush farms below, power station with painted giraffe and even Taipei 101 in the distance). As it was near sunset during our return trip, it was quite a magical to witness the burst of sunrays peeking through the clouds before the sun set. Once atop the mountains, there are several tea houses although they were fairly packed during our weekend visit.

On the downside, I would definitely not recommend visiting the gondola during the weekend. We queued between 30-45 minutes per trip to board a normal cabin (crowd control was awful and the timing for the crystal cabin seemed to be even longer than the normal cabins). As the gondola would stop at 2-3 stations on each leg, it was already packed at the main station and impossible for the queues at the zoo to board the train.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank adelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We chose the all clear option and I highly recommend it! It was so cool to look through the floor to the mountain below. The views were gorgeous and allowed us to see Taiwan from a truly unique perspective. When you reach the top of the mountain try some tea a the tea house directly across from the gondola exit, it was delicious!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank meg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great value for money for a superb view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent value for money and loved the tea houses at the top! A must in Taipei. The view is worth the effort.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank p0rtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maokong Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing