We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in Shilin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort
Ranked #272 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Initially, I was a little disappointed because the taxi driver couldn't locate the hotel. The hotel entrance too wasn't impressive until I reached my hotel room. I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious room and the size of the bathroom. The bed too was very comfortable that I didn't feel like getting out of it. But I do wish they had more closet space.
Even though there is no fitness centre, there is a park and swimming pool just opposite the hotel. So I found it interesting to watch the people in this neighborhood. However, there were a couple of times when the neighbourhood seemed noisy because of some religious ceremonies conducted by the temples near the hotel. Thankfully the noises didn't carry on for too long and I was able to get back to sleep.
The location of the hotel is great if you plan to do a lot of shopping as Shilin night market is just a 5 - 10 min walk. Or you could hop on the mrt at Jiantan station for some higher end shopping at Zhongshan or enjoy the seabreeze at Tamshui or the hotsprings at Xinbeitou.
Breakfast was ok but maybe a little too oily for my liking.
Definitely this hotel comes highly recommended for its location, comfort and good service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 202 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I love the bed so much. It's very comfortable. Because of my short leg, I think that the location is quite far from MRT. I walk around 10 minutes to subway. I don't like breakfast here. Because of short period of breakfast, I wake up so late that I cannot have breakfast on time. I stayed here for five days but I have breakfast only one day.

If you come from airport. You should take the taxi from Shilin market or Jiantan station to Hotel. It costs around 80NTD. There are many minimarts near the place. Staff can speak English well in the daytime shift.

The comfortable way to go back to airport is taking a taxi to main station. Taxi charges not over 160NTD. Then, take a bus to airport(TPE).

Room Tip: I got the corner room near elevator. I think the space is smaller than other room. The Bathroom is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thipsusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just check in today, we are early so we came back at 4pm to check in in which supposed to be 3pm but again we can only check in at 430pm due to some issue with the room. Small issue ....

But when reach the room, we tried to on the heater in the room as was quite cold , the heater was spoilt after checking with the staff but was offered to send us a heater for our room to keep us warm n cosy in this cold weather. Small issue too. Really appreciated it.

Simply feel ridiculous as its the 1st time receiving this type of orders from hotel management.
Lastly, reach our room around midnight n was watching the tv after a hot bath, n to our surprise, we received a call from the front desk saying our tv volume is too loud but my tv volume was already less than 10. We already couldnt hear the tv conversation clearly N insisted that we need to turn the volume down as after midnight, if the volume is still too loud, I believe the hotel should do something to improve the soundproofing to the door or wall. Or else, they might as well state, no sound from tv after midnight or provide headset for guest.

I guess they should state in the room details, tv/sound off after 12am....

Hmmmm what if I have a guest next door who snore very loudly when sleeping? Can we ask him turn down his volume?
Pray hard this don't happened.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryytheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Took my wonderful wife on a short break to Taipei, and we elected to stay at the Starbeauty - a small hotel, in a rather 1990s style. We got one of the nicer rooms, on the 10th floor, with good views from the rather small windows. The hotel is solid, but nothing special, which is what we had hoped for. The staff are professional without overdoing it, and we were really only let down by the breakfast - we ended up going out rather than eat in...

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deputyjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small hotel near to Shihlin night market. Nothing special, but ideal for spend some night during business trip. Only Chinese foods for breakfast. Subway only 2 minuts by foot. Park, swimming pool near at hand. Internet, satelite television in rooms. Some of staffs doesn't speaks English.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterKulimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautyhotels, supervisor at Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thanks for your suggestion.The benefint from your idea will increase our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for any young couples who are having a compact trip in taipei and want to make the best out of it. Being near to Jiantan MRT station, shilin night market and also the national palace museum, it saves us ALOT of time in travelling. Also, the surrounding small eateries and convenient shops gave us the experience of "living like a local". While the room is small and the facilities may be abit old, it is very comfortable and clean. What really impressed us was the service rendered by the staff, with special attention to the receptionist Kuma. We had a short trip and stay in sun moon lake in the middle our trip, and we left our big luggage and bags with the staff so that we can travel light. They took good care of it. We also had problems in arranging our trip to Taroko Gorge and we don't speak good mandarin. They helped called the hotel we booked there MULTIPLE times to confirm time of arrival and pick up, even to the extent of booking a train trip for us. We look forward to stay there again if ever traveling to taipei in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautyhotels, supervisor at Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thanks for your propagate our hotel.We look forward to serving you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The last day in 2012, i had a historical bad experience with this hotel and booking.com.

In Mid Nov i booked this hotel for the new year holiday in Taipei. There were not many hotels available and this one seemed to be a good option based on the previous reviews. The hotel room pictures look quite spacious and trendy on its website too. So i paid Taiwan $ 21,911 for 4 nights.

However, when i arrived today. I was totally shocked. They had an outdoor ad saying it cost from only 1980 per night... It is more like a inn or a shabby motel. When i arrived around 1pm, they said i could only check in at 3pm, so we left our luggage and when we came back at 4:30, they still kept us wait for 15 mins and then said they ugrade us to the luxury room for tonight because the standard king i booked was sold out...but asked me to move tomorrow.... The so-called luxury room was actually very small and the worst thing is there is even no heater in the room....so i had to wear what i wear outside in the room!

I couldn't believe that such a room will cost me over TW$ 5000 per night in average. So i asked the reception, they said the rate for tonight is TW$15,000!!! And from tomorrow it will be 2400. What the hell, if i had known that, i could have booked a real 5 star hotel for the same price.

Very disappointing experience and I totally lost my trust in booking.com.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ursulaliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
UiNN Business Hotel
UiNN Business Hotel
#67 of 578 in Taipei
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Grandee
Les Suites Grandee
#148 of 578 in Taipei
202 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Beautique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Hotel Bchic
2.3 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Roumei Boutique
2.7 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Hsuanmei Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort

Address: No.38-1 Qiangang Street, Shilin District, Taipei 111, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $66 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort is conveniently located in Shihlin District. Starbeauty Resort offers a delightful location for both leisure and business travelers. Starbeauty Resort is within walking distance from MRT Jiantan station and Shihlin Tourist Night Market. And bus stops are just steps away to connect to Shihlin Presidential Residence, Beitou Hot Spring, National Palace Museum and Danshui Old Street in a short time. Starbeauty Resort is your second only home. The ease of transportation and wonderful location make Starbeauty Resort a nice accommodation for your Taipei travel.Starbeauty Resort has dozens of delicate guest rooms which all designed in special different characters. Starbeauty Resort has free wireless internet, business center, laundry services, currency exchange and valet parking. Guest rooms are equipped with LCD television, free mini bar, 24 hours high speed internet access, separate shower/bathtub. In addition, complimentary mouth-watering breakfast buffet is available during your stay! Welcome to Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort. Starbeauty Resort is a preferred accommodation choice for guests seeking a comfortable stay. Starbeauty Resort is a good hotel which near Shihlin Night Market and meet your needs for lodgings and entertainments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Starbeauty Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing