We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable friendly hotel in prime location.”
Review of Royal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #163 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable friendly hotel in prime location.”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Royal Palace hotel in late Oct 2011, it is a very nice hotel located in the best and busiest neighborhood in Taipei.

Taxi ride from airport was about 1,100TWD, took 45 minutes in good traffic, driver knows the spot, said he heard on dispatch radio many rides going to same hotel. It is one very short block from the busy Chunghiaso E Rd and subway station and popular DingHao market. 1,000 restaurants and shops next to the hotel. Further down Da An rd is a market with many food stands and a coin Laundromat, many 2nd hand designer bag stores.

The front desk is friendly, free coffee and tea in the lobby 24HRS, they always stood up whenever I walked pass the lobby even 2AM. We had a spacious corner suite with a living room on 3rd floor with no noise from the street, view is bldg across the streets, so curtain must be pulled. Big bathroom, clean, comfortable bed, good size desk with free internet. Full house yet we saw few people, fast elevators already ready. Free parking for guests in the basement.

No free breakfast but low 300TWD cost, does not look too impressive, no matter, too many places to eat nearby. We had a great time staying here, what a great location to go all directions in Taipei. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacJourney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    87
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
52
39
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Frankly, I did not expect too much before I actually stayed in this hotel.

The location is good as it is near to the subway station. However, you will only feel that way during your stay because you can only get to its vicinity if you take the airbus/subway from the airport. If your baggage is bulky, well, you would not be too happy during that 5-minute walk from the airbus/subway station. (The return trip is more or less the same)

The building itself is not a new one, it is not tall or big at all. Honestly it looks a little bit old-fashion or shabby from the outside, but the room is all right. New and Clean, reasonable space, LCD TV on the wall, good audio system with subwoofer(!) and i-products dock, electric toilet seat, free mini-bar... etc. Their staff members are all very polite and helpful. I stayed there for 3 nights with a very reasonable price, I think it really costs.

Also, it provides free wifi, but it is not too stable at all. Users always get disconnected and have to sign in again and again.

I particularly like the i-product dock which shows the hotel is in pace with the trend. Many hotels fail to do that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingcolt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamnik, Slovenia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Business partners recommended this hotel to me and choice was good. Hotel have small lobby but very clean and comfortable (free coffee, tea). We booked standard room and choice was excellent (clean room, free coffee, tea, fruit, drinks in fridge,..). Most important is that it is free internet access, business room with printer..
Near lobby is breakfast restaurant and they offer European and Chinese food.
Staff is so nice, helpful and smile is always on them face…
The location just perfect for you if you have time for shopping. Small shops, markets, shopping malls is just near hotel on main street..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaskaSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Pros: A comfortable and convenient hotel with free visitors parking, business centre and gym - even if the latter 2 are a bit small e.g. 6 computers in English and Chinese; friendly and polite staff who would readily help out with our luggage and not hassle us for tips. The frontdesk staff also readily provided us with travel tips of other states.
Excellent location for business and leisure travellers alike for its convenient location to MTR and shopping malls/boutiques. The MTR is just a few paces away so it makes this hotel an excellent starting point to other sites. SOGO is across the road and there are lots of smaller boutiques nearby.
It's also relatively safe and quiet, as it's one of the busy business districts; a local friend said the more affluent society lives in this district.

Cons: The entrance can be a little difficult to find because it's not off the main street; rather, the entrance is at the back of the main street. The airport buses also don't drop or pick up from this hotel. If you're travelling with huge luggages, it's best to take a cab. Otherwise, the MTR is conveniently situated a few walks from the hotel.

Summary: Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

hotel is v comfy. located btw 2 stations. my kids love this hotel. if it rains, take the one with underground path. if it's a sunny day, take the one below sogo ( fuxing). the japanese rest near hotel, the one w ramen n pork cullet rice was yummy. a underground shopping alley open till 10pm!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janemoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This is a wonderful Hotel in the middle of the Taipei City. The location is fantastic. It is close to every where but it is on the back of a busy street. So, it is quiet at night.
The hotel was recently renovated and it is very comfortable. It is worthy to book a delux twin with spacious room and huge bathroom. It is very clean and well mantained. The breakfast is so so but with very etiquette amount of choices.
Hotel price is good compare to other hotel and this is the hotel I will stay if I come back to Taipei again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ycheng8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Had a marvelous time staying here. Reception was fast, personal and they can speak proper English. Room was clean, good size for the us and we love the bathroom, cute old fashion style bathtub with a separate double shower room and the toilet comes together with Japanese style automatic warm toilet seat and auto washer, very modern. The room even came equipped with latest stereo player and huge plasma television. Amazingly the rooms were soundproof. Bed was superb and very comfortable. Best of all, free and fast broadband in the hotel. We also had free fresh fruit platters everyday and the drinks in the fridge came free of charge and replenished everyday. Location is superb, really tucked in a quiet street, behind one of the busiest roads in Taipei. It's also in close proximity to a lot of great restaurants and shopping malls and countless of high street and even bargain clothing outlets around and banks. Just five minutes walk either side of the hotel and you are at a mass rapid transit stations. For me traveling around Taipei with a working spouse and left to handle the toddler alone, from the hotel it's hassle free to take the trains to nearly every destinations you want to go to in Taipei city, pushing stroller was easy too, and there are lifts and wheelchair/stroller ramps everywhere. The staffs were very polite, eager and helpful with every demand we had and not fussy with small children, they even sincerely loved to play with our boy. Best of all, for coffee lovers, they have free flow gourmet coffee maker at the reception for all residents. Just bring down your gold-rimmed coffee cup (yes gold trimmed bone china cups and saucers in the room) and the concierge will help you dispense the coffee at your own sweet time, and all these time only when we stayed in Marriott do we get this service. I really recommend this hotel to all my friends traveling to Taipei. Not so expensive but has such privacy and personal care a 5 star hotel can't give you and it is just a 3 star hotel and they offer airport transfers direct to and from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe or superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnabyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Deja Vu  Hotel
Deja Vu Hotel
#151 of 571 in Taipei
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastin Taipei Hotel
Eastin Taipei Hotel
#220 of 571 in Taipei
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#94 of 571 in Taipei
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home Hotel DaAn
Home Hotel DaAn
#77 of 571 in Taipei
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Suites Taipei Daan
Les Suites Taipei Daan
#83 of 571 in Taipei
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green World Hotel - Zhongxiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel

Property: Royal Palace Hotel
Address: No.81-1 Section 1 Da-An Road, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palace Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing