We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Budget Option”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dong Wu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dong Wu Hotel
Ranked #112 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Budget Option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We just spent 5 nights at the Dong Wu on our family vacation with 2 rooms for the 4 of us. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I needed train information as we went to Hualien and they came back with details and included bus information to Taroko Park even though I hadn't specifically asked for it. They were also very helpful as I needed to scan and email some documents which they did happily. Wifi was free and fast. We went away from Taipei for 2 nights and returned, and they cheerfully let us leave some of our luggage while we were gone. Laundry is cheap and fast while the breakfast was adequate with some western options. There was a lot of noise on the street but we never noticed it as the rooms were comfortable and very quiet. The location was good with an MRT station a block away and Shilin Night Market just 3 stops away. There are also a couple of night market options within walking distance. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    181
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
99
152
102
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Good price. Helpful staff that speak English. Spacious room. 5 minutes walk to metro, 20 minutes walk to downtown. Breakfast included which has a good selection.
Was one of the cheaper places in Taipei but was better than the more expensive choices.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I liked the "home" feeling once we checked in to Dong Wu Hotel. This was the reason for choosing the same hotel for our second visit to Taipei in March 2014. Again, we had an enjoyable stay!

Location:
The hotel is next to the Family Mart and the 7-Eleven store is just a few steps away. Infront of 7-Eleven store, there is a bus-stop where we took the public buses (274 and 699) to Taipei Main Station within 10 mins. Also, it is convenient for us to travel around on our own by metro line from Daqiaotou MRT Station.

Cleaniness, Room & Service:
We are impressed of the upkeep of its hotel facilities in high standard. The guest room without window (Economic SGL type) we stayed for 3 nights, is very clean, cozy and comfortable
The hotel management is thoughtful to provide a heater in the guest room when comes useful during winter season. Guests are provided with the in-house printed copies of Taipei metro train route map and its location map around the vicinity for our handy guide.
Hotel staff are polite and helpful. Overall, their service level is prompt and reliable.

Value:
Direct online booking with the hotel, can enjoy 30% discount rate. Moreover, the discounted room rate includes daily buffet breakfast. Best is the check-in time at 12PM. Highly recommended for the excellent value!

All the best to Dong Wu Hotel in Taipei!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owlnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Traveled from March 20 to March 25, 2014 with husband and parents. Very nice location as it is very near Daqiatao MRT station, around 10 to 15 minutes walk. Reasonable price, at around 90 SGD a night which includes buffet breakfast! Very clean, quiet and staff are very accommodating!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enialra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was in Taiwan for a business trip, and I spent a few days at the "Dong Wu Hotel".
Very clean, central location, extremely friendly staff. Breakfast of good quality, although not extremely wide choice of products.
Overall: absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmerSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Dong Wu is not located in the centre of Taipei. However, its location felt safe and there is plenty of street food just seconds away. The hotel is also only a 5 minute walk from the metro station and there is a convenience store next door. A 5 minute walk away is also a big carrefore, as well as a fantastic tea shop where the multilingual owner really knows his tea. Cab to the centre costs 150-200 TWD and takes 10 minutes. Cab to the airport costs about 1000 TWD and takes about half hr. Hotel staff were friendly and speak good English. Room was very good value and size, clean and comfortable for most people- I found the pillows a bit too squishy for my liking. Having good quality oolong tea and a beautiful teapot and teacups to serve it from in the room was a bonus! There was a good selection available for breakfast, although definitely more catered for the oriental. Was nice to have fresh soya milk for breakfast, mind you. The only Western foods seemed to be sliced bread and jam! Our only problem with the hotel was the music in the corridors of our floor could be clearly heard, annoying us and keeping us up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Calabria, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I have already stayed this hotel before and I felt so comfortable,therefore I decided to stay this hotel.The room is so clean and luxury the same as before.The restaurant is clean.They have really good services!i would live to stay this hotel next time!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Miragro4415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
2.2 mi away
Ark Hotel - Chang'an Fuxing
0.4 mi away
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
#32 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taipei Morning Hotel
Taipei Morning Hotel
#41 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
0.8 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#43 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#38 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Wu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Wu Hotel

Property: Dong Wu Hotel
Address: No.258 Section 2, Yanping North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dong Wu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dong Wu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing