We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, though location only so so”
Review of Dong Wu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dong Wu Hotel
Ranked #115 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel, though location only so so”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay here. Staff very helpful. It's perhaps not quite as good as the tripadvisor award might suggest. It's good value though it's not particularly close to any of the sights you want to see. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The only low point was the breakfast which is a bit weak: not much choice, not very hot, not particularly well cooked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    182
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
99
152
103
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great room (505), spacious, well looked after. Good public transport though MRT is a little far away if you were taking luggage. Deserves its high rating. Only issue which has been mentioned by other reviewers is that the hot breakfast items in the buffet are lukewarm at best and often quite cold. I guess that may be the norm. Paid 2240 TWD for business single (actually for two people). Can get a cheaper room apparently. We are budget conscious and this was a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pncAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 3 times already. I want to recommend this hotel to anyone who is budget conscious and is looking for a quiet comfortable sleep in a quiet neighborhood. Hotel itself is also walking distance to several less known point of interest in Taipei. Next to the hotel, it's Taipei one of oldest elementry school. Few hundred meters south of the Hotel, it's the first "IMEI", a taiwan household brand of snack/food, bakery shop. "Dihua" street is right behind the hotel and hotel is near several night markets.

It's somewhat of offbeat part of Taipei but this is what made the location of this hotel unique. It's not in the fancy Taipei's eastern district nor in the central of Taipei where all the shoppers and tourists from China juggle for space.

As far as transportation goes, MRT Daqiaotou station is 5 to 10 mins of walking depends how slow and fast you can walk. Of course, taxi in Taipei is abundant. If you can read Chinese or understand traditional Chinese name in English, bus stop at "Chongching North rd" (5 minutes walk), can pretty much take you to most of places in Taipei. Bus #304 takes you to the National Palace Museum.

If you are looking for price and location and want to experience Taipei by living like the local, this is the perfect hotel. I would return here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrekker_3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel was very good value. We stayed at another, almost identically priced, budget hotel in Taipei. The two hotels are in the same price range, similar locations, and similar descriptions--but Dong Wu was miles better.

Location: very close to a MRT stop, ~5 min walking, no problem. Also surrounded by convenient stores, restaurants, etc.

Breakfast: didn't get to try this, though it is complimentary our flight was too early

Room: very clean, quite spacious, good amenities. Feels relatively new / modern.

Service / staff: very friendly and helpful. I speak Mandarin, but the hotel staff also is proficient in English. Helpful especially in calling taxis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kding90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent seven nights at the Dong Wu Hotel. The hotel is in a great location. It’s in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to the Daqiaotou Metro Station. It is also only about a 10 minute taxi ride (cost of NTD100) from the Taipei Railway Station. We arrived in Taipei at the Taoyuan International (TPE) and, as suggested by the hotel staff, we took bus no.1819 from the airport to the Taipei Railway Station. A cab queue was directly opposite the bus arrivals area.

Our room was spacious and had a window overlooking the main street (Yan-Ping North Road). However, there wasn’t any noticeable street noise except when the trash trucks arrive at 4:45PM and play a cute musical jingle to alert residents to bring out their trash. The room rate included free internet (LAN and wireless) and breakfast. The room was nicely furnished and included a small refrigerator, water boiler, complimentary bottled water and complimentary teas (including an excellent Oolong tea) and coffee.

The breakfast at Dong Wu is very good and features both Asian and western dishes. It’s a self-service buffet and has both tea and an espresso coffee maker. The food items were always hot and fresh and replenished when needed. In the breakfast room you can find magazines and newspapers in various languages.

As noted above, the Dong Wu has a great location. Almost directly across the street is the Ma-Tsu Temple. Another 15 minute walk takes you to the Xia Cheng Huang Temple. Then, using the metro you can reach other sites such as the Chiang Kai-shek Memorial, Longshan Temple, Taipei Zoo, Confucius Temple, Baoan Temple, etc., etc. The staff at the Reception Desk speak excellent English and can provide assistance if you have questions regarding how to access any area of town. They actually helped us go to a suburban Costco store (we bought some wines there and had to try their seafood pizza). Lastly, there is a Carrefour within walking distance if you need any items, including beer, wine & spirits. Also, there’s a Family Mart next door if you want to purchase ice cubes (a small bag is NTD20). A 7-11 is just down the street in the opposite direction.

Perhaps best of all, the Dong Wu Hotel is an excellent value. We highly recommend the Dong Wu Hotel and will patronize it when we next return to Taipei!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

After reading through the reviews here, I was very expectant of amazing service at Dong Wu, but sad to say it doesn't quite reach what I expected.

Do not be mistaken though, overall the hotel is very well kept and the staff are fine, just that it didn't leave an impression on me like my previous stays in HongKong and Thailand, more glaring is perhaps because the storeowners and taxi drivers I met there are so service-oriented that I ended up being disappointed at the hotel.

Let me go through everything there:

Rooms:
The place is well kept with all necessities provided for, room is always kept clean and nice. The room was much bigger than the exterior of the hotel suggests, and I was pleasantly surprised by that.

Location:
Not the kind of centralized area like Ximending, but generally pretty accessible as it is just a few stops away. Having to transit betweens trains was a chore, and the area is pretty quite at night which raised some safety queries when we were on our way back to the hotel, but Taiwan is one of the safer places I have seen so far, so it shouldn't be a big issue. Good food around the area, Family mart is just downstairs and makes it convenient for us to stock up on food and drinks. There's a night market within walking distance, not a very big one though, but overall we felt it was a pretty fine location.

Staff:
Not much interaction with them, only on the first day when we were asking for directions. And I'm not sure why, but smiles at the reception were not very frequent at all even though we made it a point to smile at them. No greetings at all during our stay, sorry to say that, but it was made all the more glaring as the lobby was mostly empty, so when we smiled at them we were pretty surprised their reactions were usually a blank look back at us, not quite expected since everyone else in Taiwan was so friendly! If you ask for directions or help they are always ready though with a map.

Overall a good stay here but I would try another hotel the next time round. I'm hoping I'm not too harsh because this is really a good value hotel. Just that I might have expected friendlier staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drarrag2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids, 5 and 7 years) stayed here for three nights in late March/early April 2013).

Over all a very good choice for accommodation, especially for the price. We booked directly with the hotel through their website, and they were very efficient with good English. Our room was big (family room with one single, one queen and a sofa bed), as was the bathroom, which had a bath. Not new, but very clean. There was a good breakfast, all things considered, with western options, included in the price, served in the restaurant downstairs (basement?!). The staff were very helpful and spoke English.

Whilst not right downtown, we liked the local vibe of the hotel's location, and it is close to the MRT station, though we hardly used this as the taxis are so cheap and nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 881SophieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
2.2 mi away
Ark Hotel - Chang'an Fuxing
0.4 mi away
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
#36 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taipei Morning Hotel
Taipei Morning Hotel
#44 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
0.8 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#43 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#39 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Wu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Wu Hotel

Property: Dong Wu Hotel
Address: No.258 Section 2, Yanping North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dong Wu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dong Wu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing