We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Dong Wu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dong Wu Hotel
Ranked #116 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and by far the best hotel you can find in Taipei for such a little money !!! Absolutely great and nice staff and the rooms are perfect. You can t find a better place for this price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canineLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    182
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
99
152
103
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our first time visiting Taiwan, and based on the reviews, we decided to stay at the Dong Wu. The building is about a 5 Min walk south of the subway station, kitty corner from a grade school and next to a convince store that is open 24 hours. The building is in a working class neighborhood that is very safe and convenient. The staff is multi-lingual and speak English. They were helpful and friendly, providing us with towels when we decided to go to the hot springs.

The room, as well as the rest of the property was spotless. The beds were firm and very comfy. Perhaps the best hotel beds I've slept in. Our room had a western style toilet and a stand up shower with no tub. Very roomy and convenient. The bathroom had a marble counter-top and was quite up-scale. In addition to soap, shampoo, and body wash, the hotel also provided a razor, comb, toothbrushes, and toothpaste. In the room is a safe, large screen TV, refrigerator and desk. Wireless internet is free.

What a GREAT breakfast! It changed slightly each day. Scrambled eggs, (slightly runny), Congee, Soy milk soup, bacon, Kim Chee, pickled radish, toast, omelets, Miso Soup, mixed vegetables, waffles, toast, croissants, fresh fruit, rice soup........ Wonderful! Much appreciated was the espresso/ cappuccino/ coffee machine. The machine ground the beans, steamed the milk and made GREAT espresso and cappuccino. My wife and I both like good coffee in the morning, so this was better than any hotel with a free breakfast we have ever been to. Of course, there is a selection of teas.

We booked our room through the hotels web site where the offered a discount just for using their website. The room with a double bed came to about $63 per night.

A note to westerners: I have not traveled very much in Asia, but a number of hotels including the Dong Wu have some of the room's lights as well as the air conditioning set up so that they will not work unless your room key is inserted in a slot in the room. This prevents guests from leaving the room with the lights and air conditioning on when they are not in the hotel room. Very wise. I'm surprised it hasn't caught on here in the states.

Should we find ourselves in Taipei again, we would certainly return to the Don Wu.

To the staff of the Dong Wu: Thank you very much for a very enjoyable stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is an excellent little hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. We had a family room, which was a good size (though not so much room between the beds and the wall) but it included a lounge area with sofa and big screen TV. The bathroom had a bath/shower and all the little extras that make a hotel stay nice. The decor is very nice and the overall feeling of the hotel is one of a good comfortable 3-4-star hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. The location is very good - right next to a Family Mart, around the corner is a fascinating old street to wander, buses and very close by, and Carrefour is 2 streets over, plus an excellent night (food) market is nearby. Our room on the top floor had a good view of the river. This is an excellent choice in Taipei.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We took the airport bus and it dropped us about 10min from Minquan metro station. After which we took the metro one stop down to Daqiaotou to our hotel. We went through a long walkway in the metro (quite a quiet and secluded walkway for women) with about three flights of stairs to climb and no lift in sight. Exit by Yongle Primary Sch which is the nearest exit to the hotel. Total walking time including the arduous climb with the luggage is about 15min. The staff were very helpful and provided us clear directions to places of interest (eg xinmending, shilin). We were also allowed to keep some food items we bought in the hotel while we toured the rest of Taiwan as we were returning to spend our last night here. It really helped to lighten our load. The rooms were small and so was the bed (we had a double room for two pax). One of the shower rooms w/o bathtub had a very small shower area where you need to close one door in order to open another. But the room had all the necessary facilities like a hair dryer, safe, tv, wifi. Breakfast was mediocre with a small spread of egg, bread, porridge. The small cafe where we had breakfast was cosy and a good place for reading a book or surfing the net with iMac computers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbenezerSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a Stopover after travelling through Europe. This hotel was fantastic! The room was spacious and clean and the hotel staff were very accommodating. As far as rooms go, this was a highlight on our trip.

It is located in a more residential part of Taipei however I believe it added to the experience.

I am considering returning to Taipei soon as there is so much to see and do there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was our first trip to Taipei, and we chose Dong Wu because of its high ranking in the Tripadvisor. After our five days' stay in Dong Wu, we are very impressed by its professional services and comprehensive amenities. Not mention its clean and tidy room condition, it even provides a bathroom scale which I encountered first time; this equipment is useful to access my baggage before going to airport :). In addition, during rainy days, we easily borrowed umbrellas from the hotel: simply took one at the hotel entrance, no deposit needed! In short, we are very satisfied with Dong Wu, and we would love to recommend it the first choice when visiting Taipei.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights a little luxuriously as a single in a business double room. The room was on the 7th floor overlooking the busy traffic intersection, but noise was not a problem. In fact, nothing was a problem. I found the buffet breakfast wide-ranging and excellent. Try the dumplings. And the breakfast runs as late as 10 o'clock. Oh yes, there was one small problem. The Macs in the breakfast room. I'm a longtime Mac user but found them awkward to get into. Other people were calling for help. The hotel wifi though was strong and consistent. Skype worked perfectly.
As has been said, the station and a Carrefour supermarket are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
2.2 mi away
Ark Hotel - Chang'an Fuxing
0.4 mi away
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
#36 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taipei Morning Hotel
Taipei Morning Hotel
#45 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
0.8 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#44 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#39 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Wu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Wu Hotel

Property: Dong Wu Hotel
Address: No.258 Section 2, Yanping North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dong Wu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dong Wu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing