We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you book early”
Review of Villa 32

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa 32
Ranked #117 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Make sure you book early”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

An Oasis in the city of Taipei
You wouldn't know how beautiful this Villa is until you walk pass the hotel entrance
Excellent security
Outsiders will not be allowed to simpily walk pass the entrance of the villa
Excellent customer service
Excellent food
Close to Subway (25 mins walk slowly) - a very nice quiet walk up the hill to experience the area. No need to take a taxi
Excellent Onsens
Excellent facilities
a beautiful place

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkpraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    37
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
66
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Just 30 mins from Taipei Station, Villa 32 is located at about 15 mins walk uphill from Xin Beitou station. The 2-storey European guest room is spacious and well-equipped with L'Occitane amentities and plenty of Evian water. Villa 32 definitely gives a feeling of exclusivity as soon as you enter. It is excellent for ultimate relaxation. After a hot spring soak, the skin feels very soft. Fruits and Hermes cutlery are provided in the room and also used in the restaurant. It would be good if pick up service is provided at Xin Beitou station instead of having to get a taxi or walk up to the hotel. Definitely a gem in Taipei! Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deruderu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We recently visited Taiwan for the first time and spent 5 days in the fabulous Taipei. For those who haven't been before, it is a vibrant, friendly and wonderful place to visit. One of the highlights of our week was taking a short overnight trip to Beitou.

Only about a 20min MRT ride from the centre of town, Beitou is famous for it's hot springs. Surrounded by lush greens, the small town is host to a variety of different spas both public and private where one can spend time bathing in their hot spring baths. We found out about Villa 32 online and were told by many locals that this was the best spa in town. We decided to splurge and treat ourselves to their 'Journey Package' which included an overnight stay, 90 minute massage, gourmet dinner (not including wine) and breakfast and butler (which we didn't use). It was wonderful and thoroughly recommended.

The hotel itself is small but has been decorated in a seamless fusion of east and west styles. It's both zen and stylish at the same time - you can tell that no expense has been spared. As soon as you walk through the door, you instantly feel relaxed. We loved all the furnishings and artwork on the walls as well as the great selection of art & design books on the tables to read.

We stayed in the Matsu Suite (one of only 5 rooms) which is one of 2 Japanese suites. Our room had it's own private Japanese garden and hot tub. Exquisitely decorated in traditional style with rice paper sliding doors, tatami mats, Japanese toilets (which we love) and all the mod cons such as wi-fi, shower, complimentary mini bar and TV etc.

The massage was fantastic and the hot baths was amazing. They are unisex and clothing is not permitted. There are about 10 different baths of varying temperatures with dry & wet sauna and L'Occitane toiletries, aftershaves available. Fluffy white towels, Evian water on tap - it is like a 5 star boutique hotel. There is also a lounge area where you can rest which has snacks, magazines, books and TV.

Dinner was a set degustation menu of Italian/ French food which was quite good and beautifully presented. The wine list is also extensive and very impressive. Service was attentive perhaps too attentive in some cases. We had to tell the staff to slow down the frequency of the dishes as they were coming out too quickly but maybe this is how Taiwanese eat? In any event, everything is orchestrated and timed to precision. All the staff have discreet earphones so they are always in touch with the kitchen and other staff. At one stage, I joked that it appeared we were being served by secret service staff as that is how they looked in their black suits & ties. It is a very exclusive place.

Overall, it is a very enjoyable stay which provided a lovely contrast to the metropolis. We would definitely visit again though perhaps just for a day trip with a hot bath and lunch afterwards. It is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mister7Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

After watching a CBS Eye on Taiwan special on Villa 32 right before our trip to Taipei, I knew that it was something that I wanted to do on our trip to Taiwan.

Reading the Tripadvisor reviews on the exclusivity of it, we made it a point to book our private hot springs room and afternoon tea before leaving the U.S.

Getting to Villa 32 is quite easy by public transport. Take the MRT red line to Beitou and then transfer to Xinbeitou (pink line). At this point, everyone is going to the hot springs so it gets more touristy. After you get off the stop, Villa 32 is about a 10 minute gradual hike uphill.

The hotel is understated and tranquil from the outside and the inside. There's definitely a luxe feeling once you step in and are greeted by the staff. We had to pay for our hot springs room upfront ($3,000NT) which was sort of odd as most people expect to pay for a service after it's not done not before. After payment we were led to our private room: a small 2 person hot springs bath tub, private shower, private bathroom, robes, loccitaine products.

The hot springs was nice and relaxing but something about being enclosed and not being in nature took away from the hot springs experience. Our view outside was disappointedly not scenic. Overall it was nice to be able to shower in our own private space after we were done with our soak but if they allowed the general hot springs area to be co-ed, I think we would have much rather liked to be in a bigger space since the room felt slightly claustrophobic and we felt the room was slightly overpriced for a 90 minute soak.

There was a miscommunication regarding our afternoon tea leading us to have an one hour break between our hot springs appointment and afternoon tea. Time went by fast though as Beitou as some pretty neat public areas to check out (watch out for the sulfur for those with sensitive eyes)

Afternoon tea while relaxing was disappointing. For $25/person (approximately) we barely got any food, instead of sandwiches, the savories were topped on crackers and there were definitely twice as many sweets as savories. As an avid fan of afternoon tea, I was really disappointed in the quality of the food for the price.

I'm not sure I would highly recommend Villa 32. If you want exclusivity and privacy this might be your spot but as for us, I think we would have enjoyed a more relaxing outdoor hotsprings setting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

we had the most wonderful time at Villa 32, it was so good, we went back a second time. the staff were friendly and helpful, the space was beautiful. in fact, they switched the mens and ladies area when we went back, so we got to try out both spaces ( we preferred our first time though, in the adjacent building).

a really nice treat to have!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borninaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

OK for the high premium paid for private bath room since the onsen water was changed for every use. However the limitation to 90minutes was hardly enough to relax and was quite a rush. We were told by local friends we were very lucky to call only one day in advance (and during the Ching Ming holidays) to get private bath rooms or even a booking at all. Since it was quite exclusive, the place was not packed with noisy tourists. Did not managed to get lunch booking where Hermes utensils were used. We were stopped by a waitress when we tried to take photos in the restaurant area - there were no one in the restaurant yet, don't understand what was the big deal. One experience is enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I could come here every time I visit Taipei. First, it is so easy to get to. Never would you imagine could you take the MTR ten stops or so from the city and take a pleasant walk up a hill to find this hot spring hideaway nestled behind trees and up in the hill, overlooking the Thermal Valley.

Separate sex sections each of 8 natural spring baths. 2 cold (26deg and 18 deg), 6 hot (38-43deg). More than half are in the open but semi-sheltered. Adequate and powerful Sauna and Steam room. It is so pretty and modern, it is like a multi-tiered modern and minimalistic villa in Bali or Phuket.

Service is so good, so attentive and thorough that they might even annoy you if you are not used to it. But this is Taiwan, get used to it, they really mean it and care.

Love how the place is filled with L'Occitane, fluffy towels, Evian. The upstairs & indoor resting area provides English Tea by Wedgwood (Delicious!), Jasmine Green by TWG (luxury Singaporean boutique tea company) and apples (yes only apples!!)

IMPORTANT TIP:
1) Book your visit, regardless of it is is hot spring (private/public), spa, lunch or tea.
2) If you have not booked for lunch or tea, then make sure you have breakfast, lunch before you go to the resort. You cannot add this once you are there, because they have fixed no. of reservations.
3) There is a restaurant there that only serves for the lunch and tea reservations. Other guests cannot pay ala carte for its services. You have no options once there, which is unfair and does not make sense.

As we did not book lunch and did not know there would be no catering services, we arrived after light breakfast, but after less than an hour in the springs, you get more hungry as you soak, so an apple half way was able to keep us going for another 30 mins.

You really do not get to enjoy the full experience because you would really like to go out and eat lunch. Which is a shame.

FYI. You cannot soak too long in the springs anyway, need to sit up and out and take a rest. However, there is a TV, magazines, Zen room and even a sleep room, so you could just take time out completely and then go back in (if provided you dont have an empty stomach!)

I went at 11am, which is good to beat the crowds and spacious in every spring. Because you are separated by gender, I highly suggested that you go with friends. Couples can book a private room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Beitou District
Hotel DOUBLE ONE
Hotel DOUBLE ONE
#71 of 571 in Taipei
328 reviews
The Gaia Hotel, Taipei
#91 of 571 in Taipei
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal Beitou
#126 of 571 in Taipei
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 32? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 32

Property: Villa 32
Address: No.32 Zhongshan Road, Beitou District, Taipei 112, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#52 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa 32 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hundred and eight years after commencing the exploitation of the Taiwanese hot springs, Villa 32 has further enhanced for you the natural well-being life has to offer by drawing on the delights of nature that surrounds it. Located in Beitou, tucked away between impressive mountains in a geothermal valley, this spacious Villa has only five guest rooms – each with its own natural hot springs tub. It welcomes you into a private atmosphere in the midst of lush vegetation covered in mist from the hot springs. Mr. Ming-Hong Chiu has succeeded in crafting a delicate and relaxing atmosphere by artfully combining water, stone and trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa 32 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa 32 Hotel Taipei
32 Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing