We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room pathetically small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #90 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room pathetically small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

stayed there for 3 nights, technically there's no bathroom but just a bathing area, where one can hardly place your dirty or clean clothes. The area is too small to even properly place one's legs while using the night stool. Room perfectly clean and excellent staff. Just a three minute walk from metro and numerous shops and restaurants are just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving comments for us on TripAdvisor and we apologize for any inconveniences that the bathroom design may have caused you. Out of the respect for the designer's idea, we retain such style,however, your comments will definitely be included in the considerations for future renovation of the hotel.
We would also like to thank you for choosing Hotel Puri and we hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.


Regards
Supervisor

Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    264
    83
    10
    9
See reviews for
140
107
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is centrally situated in ximending. After check in hotel, we were headed straight to hunt for food and shopping. At night, when we were exhausted and back to room to rest, discovered that there is water leakage from the air conditional in our room. It was pretty serious. The whole area in front of bathroom are wet. We informed the reception and be told that all the rooms are fully booked. We are not able to change room. No choice. We had to stay and hear the water leaking sound all night long. It was a bad experience. Althought we get to change room and have an apologise biscuit on the other day, it still spoilt our mood and holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpack_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments shared on TripAdvisor and we are truly sorry that your stay was unpleasant, and was not able to change you to another room while the room was flooding.
Please accept my sincere apology and please do get in touch with me the next time when you come to stay with us.
Once again thank you for choosing Hotel Puri and we hope to see you very soon.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel location is good, near XMD shopping area, near MRT station which is very convenient for us to travel to other part of Taipei.
Hotel Staffs are all very helpful and friendly. We reached the hotel early in the morning like 7am, but was too early for their check in timing, therefore they allowed us to store our luggage with them and went out for breakfast. But they shops in XMD don't open till 11+ am.. therefore after breakfast we had nothing to do or nowhere to go, so the staffs actually allowed us to slack in the lobby and log in to their wifi to surf the net.. But in the end they allowed us to check in one hour before their actual check in timing as they have rooms available by that timing and it was on the higher floor of the building.
Hotel Room is small but is enuf for the two of us with our two pcs of luggage. The room, toilet & shower room were all quite clean with nothing for us to fault. Their room cleaning services was also very good and fast. Bed was quite comfortable, as we are able to sleep in till 11+ am everyday of our stay.
Extra services, we requested for the hotel to airport transfer service, the driver came on time as we requested, car driven was very comfortable & smooth through out the trip to the airport. Driver was also very helpful when alighting he even went so far to fetch a trolly for our heavy luggage and help us unload all our luggage before going off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving such nice and detailed comments about us on TripAdivosr, all of our staff are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us this time around. We hope to welcome you back soon in the nearest future.
Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Puri, and have a nice day~!

Regards
Supervisor

Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Situated in one of the small lanes within the heart of ximending, you will find it interesting that along this narrow lane, there are also other shops selling cosmetics and fashion. In the day, this lane is crowded but at night after shops are closed, the lane will become real dark so have to take extra caution especially for the ladies.

Location is great, a short walking distance from exit 6 of ximending station and of course, just a step to all the shopping in ximending.

Room wise, I have stayed in both the deluxe room and the triple room during my 4 nghts stay with the hotel. Both are fine, nothing to complain and yet nothing too spectacular. But it's worth pointing out that we were given a spacious bathroom with a tub for the deluxe room we stayed which we appreciated greatly. Carpet in the room looks dirty and I will not walk about without my slippers on. The bathroom and toilet are separated, which is not a bad idea for more than 1 person staying in the room since both amenities can be used simultaneously. Bathrooms are well designed with nice floor tiles but the toilets are so small that once you sit on the toilet, your knees will hit the glass door. Basic items like water, shampoo, toothbrush set, bedroom slippers are provided.

Shopping wise, the 24-hour 4-storey high Watsons just round the corner allows you to shop any time. Since you are in the ximending area, 24 hours ktv and food can be easily found.

Staff wise, they are very polite. No matter how late or early you pass by the reception, they will stand up and bow to you.

Well, with taipei's hotel industry getting so competitive, i would strongly recommend the hotel to upgrade their interior to stay relevant. That being said, with the experience we had, it was coupled with a good value we paid for the hotel rooms. For deluxe, we paid around S$100 per night and for triple room, it was around S$130 per night.

Room Tip: I assume rooms ending with "02" are rooms with the nice spacious bathroom that has a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cashewnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your detailed comment written for us in TripAdvisor, and we are now running a small renovation around/inside the rooms so that the next time you come to Taipei, don't forget to drop in to see us and the changes around Hotel Puri.
We would also like to thank you for your comments on our friendly staff, our entire team is thrilled to hear that you liked their services.
Have a good day and hope to see you soon.

Regards
Supervisor

Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The door was really thin. I didn't pay attention when I read about thin walls here before booking. I am not sure because our room is at corridor near lift or all the rooms are the same. But I got woken up every day by the neighbours who passed by our door waiting for lift.
The gap under door was as high as 4-5 cm,i had to put our shoes there to try protecting privacy.
The service was good though and it took less than 2 mins to MRT.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessliny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comment here with us on TripAdvisor, and sorry to hear that you did not get a better sleep because of the noise coming from under the door. We now have placed a thin iron bar to the room that you were staying for better privacy so only as thin as an envelope could go through.
Thank you once again for your comment and for choosing Hotel Puri. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Supervisor

Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

So i have been to Hotel Puri around a month ago, is time to leave some comment. Our stay was about 4nights, we stayed at the top floor and it was a 3 person room. Everything is nice and clean, as for the lobby receptionist are generally very polite, the lift is quite small is similar to those in apartments of Japan. When we went into the room everything looks clean and new. Only problem is the space is barely enough, we had 2 29 inch suitcase after opening them both we have not got enough space to move around. The toilet itself is worst, when you sit down and open up your legs your knees wikk knock on the wall, please only stand up after your opened the door, i have knock my face few times to the glass! However the showeroom is mega size if you compare with rest of the facilities, you could actually lay on the floor! Water pressure is very good as well. During our stay we only had one problem, is leaking from roof light on top of the single bed, this happened during midnight when typhoon came. I simply shuffle a towel around the lights to solve it. I have forgot to mention it when i leave the hotel. Overall this hotel is well recommended if your are not alot bigger than average size asians!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bear807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear valued guest

Thank you for leaving comments on TripAdvisor with us so we'd know where to improve on. As for the bathroom/toilet design, each room is different out of the respect for the designer's idea, and we also noticed the leaking few weeks ago since another typhoon came,but now the room is all fixed up and all good, so the next time if you wish to stay with us would be no problems at all.

We would also like to thank you for choosing Hotel Puri as your stay in Taipei, hope to see you soon in the near future.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable barely enough space for two person to move around but it was alright. Convenient as it was just a stone's throw away from Ximen MRT. Hotel staffs were friendly and resourceful. The pillows were too soft and sink in too easily though. Overall I had a great experience and would stay here again the next time I visit Taiwan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment shared on TripAdvisor and also just a reminder that we provide extra pillows upon request, thank you once again for choosing Hotel Puri and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - ZhongHua Branch
0.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#38 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri - Taipei Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#51 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
0.1 mi away
Airline Inn Taipei Zhong Hua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: No.6 Lane 27 Chengdu Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan (Formerly Good Ground Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Taipei
#44 Family Hotel in Taipei
#46 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#69 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Ground Taipei
Hotel Good Ground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing