We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin door, poor sound isolation, good service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Ranked #101 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thin door, poor sound isolation, good service, great location”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The door was really thin. I didn't pay attention when I read about thin walls here before booking. I am not sure because our room is at corridor near lift or all the rooms are the same. But I got woken up every day by the neighbours who passed by our door waiting for lift.
The gap under door was as high as 4-5 cm,i had to put our shoes there to try protecting privacy.
The service was good though and it took less than 2 mins to MRT.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessliny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comment here with us on TripAdvisor, and sorry to hear that you did not get a better sleep because of the noise coming from under the door. We now have placed a thin iron bar to the room that you were staying for better privacy so only as thin as an envelope could go through.
Thank you once again for your comment and for choosing Hotel Puri. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Supervisor

Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    267
    85
    10
    10
See reviews for
144
108
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

So i have been to Hotel Puri around a month ago, is time to leave some comment. Our stay was about 4nights, we stayed at the top floor and it was a 3 person room. Everything is nice and clean, as for the lobby receptionist are generally very polite, the lift is quite small is similar to those in apartments of Japan. When we went into the room everything looks clean and new. Only problem is the space is barely enough, we had 2 29 inch suitcase after opening them both we have not got enough space to move around. The toilet itself is worst, when you sit down and open up your legs your knees wikk knock on the wall, please only stand up after your opened the door, i have knock my face few times to the glass! However the showeroom is mega size if you compare with rest of the facilities, you could actually lay on the floor! Water pressure is very good as well. During our stay we only had one problem, is leaking from roof light on top of the single bed, this happened during midnight when typhoon came. I simply shuffle a towel around the lights to solve it. I have forgot to mention it when i leave the hotel. Overall this hotel is well recommended if your are not alot bigger than average size asians!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bear807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear valued guest

Thank you for leaving comments on TripAdvisor with us so we'd know where to improve on. As for the bathroom/toilet design, each room is different out of the respect for the designer's idea, and we also noticed the leaking few weeks ago since another typhoon came,but now the room is all fixed up and all good, so the next time if you wish to stay with us would be no problems at all.

We would also like to thank you for choosing Hotel Puri as your stay in Taipei, hope to see you soon in the near future.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable barely enough space for two person to move around but it was alright. Convenient as it was just a stone's throw away from Ximen MRT. Hotel staffs were friendly and resourceful. The pillows were too soft and sink in too easily though. Overall I had a great experience and would stay here again the next time I visit Taiwan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment shared on TripAdvisor and also just a reminder that we provide extra pillows upon request, thank you once again for choosing Hotel Puri and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Been here before when it is formally called Good Ground Hotel years back. Compared back then, the overall renovation is better and the room is cleaner

The hotel is located at a great location, 3 min walk to the nearest Ximen MRT. Scariest part is when you have to walk a small alley way into the hotel when all the shops around are closed. But
overall, I am still contented on the location.

Great service by the service staff. Especially the night crews which provide detail and helpful insight of where to go and how to go to our destination. Thumbs up for 1 of the service crew by the name Victor; he is super helpful and always on the ball when we have questions to ask.

Room overall is clean. I got my request fulfilled by having 1 big bed instead of 2-single bed. Got to commend on the pillow as it was too soft and hard to sleep on. I have to request for a 2nd pillow to stack on before sleeping

Regards,
Derrick

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed comments shared with us on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel location, facilities and service. Your positive comment will be passed on to our team (especially Victor )and I'm sure this will be a big encouragement to them.

Thank you so much again for choosing Hotel Puri. We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Regards
Supervisor

Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was my second stay here after a year ago.

The receptionist were not as friendly as before. Hotel rooms were still clean and presentable, though abit small.

The towels had a weird smell that my family and I shared the same thoughts. We didn't really like it. They might have used a different detergent from my previous stay.

Overall, it was not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shitla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for spending your precious time writing up the comment for us on TripAdvisor and we are truly sorry that you did not feel the same way that you felt since your first visit. We will definitely spread this incident to our receptionists so that the guest would not be able to have this kind of feeling again.
Also we will check with our laundry service company to see if they have used different detergents for the towels, once again, please accept our sincere apologies.

However, we thank you for choosing Hotel Puri again and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future so that you could see the better changes of us.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel Puri is conveniently located in XiMenDing. It was a 3 minute walk from the MRT station. Arriving at the hotel after our morning flight, we left our suitcases there as it wasn't time for check-in yet. We came back at night to find that they've already placed our suitcases in one of the two rooms we booked.

The rooms are small but spacey enough to place our 2 medium sized suitcases and walk around. Basic amenities were provided, including television, hair dryer, and they even had a universal plug so in case you didn't bring an adapter you'd still be able to charge your electronics. The shower area was adjacent to the toilet area, and there was a sliding glass door. When you pulled the glass door to the toilet area, the shower area would be left open. This is used to save space I guess, and it didn't create that great of an inconvenience for us. While one person showered, the other would just sit in the toilet with door open. They also had a curtain that separated the toilet/bathroom area from the sleeping area.

The beds were alright, not super comfy but good enough for the cheap price. The downside of this hotel was they only provided 1 room card for us, so when someone wanted to leave the room (ximending is super convenient so we could easily head out and buy food/drinks at night), they would have to come back and ring the doorbell....but what if the person in the room is taking a shower/sitting on the toilet..

Overall the rooms were good and we were satisfied. The hotel room was clean and quiet, and they kept everything simple. Customer service was good and they were helpful in providing information on transportation. I would choose this hotel again if I'm travelling with a tight budget or want to travel cheap. Emphasize the excellent location again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weixbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for the time you spent writing up these comments and we are grateful for all the details you are mentioning about our facilities and services. and guest could have the second key card upon requesting,just simply ask our front desk staff~ ^^

Once again we thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel was located at a very convenient location - just 1 minute walk from Ximen MRT and there are lots of things to do there and lots to eat. The staff are also very helpful in providing their assistance and recommendations, however, do also cross check google maps, as sometimes they tell you the longer way instead.

Had to wait for check in, but they provided free beverages / food, and you can also use the computer / wifi, which is free. It is also very affordable for such a convenient location. However, after 12am, the alley on the way back to the hotel is abit dark (as shops are already closed), so just need to be careful.

The room is small though, and there is no wardrobe as well, only a few hangers to hang your clothes. However, it is very clean and well maintained, so you can see that they put in a lot of efforts in cleaning the rooms.

In addition, before you leave the hotel you need to pass them your hotel card - good because then you don't have to worry about losing it.

I will not hesitate to stay in this hotel again next time I am in Taipei.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melchong91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time writing up the comments about our hotel, We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with us.
We look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puri - Taipei Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#34 of 571 in Taipei
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airline Inn Taipei Zhong Hua
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#49 of 571 in Taipei
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Ximen Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Ximen Branch

Property: Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Address: No.6, Lane 27, Chengdu Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan (Formerly Good Ground Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Taipei
#46 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#54 Best Value Hotel in Taipei
#69 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Ximen Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri Ximen Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Ground Taipei
Hotel Good Ground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing