We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean place but awkward toilet placement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Ranked #101 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“clean place but awkward toilet placement”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

very good location, but was difficult to find at first as it's in located in the alley. but when we reached, the services are fine but no wifi!! very bad as i need it to use google maps and call back home. anyways its near the mrt. nice bed and shower head pressure as i find it important. there's shopping all around that area so its good.

as the bath area and the toilet area is separated by a door, whenever my friend bathes i'll quickly go use the toilet as if the door closes on the toilet, i can't even pull my pants up without bumping my hand on the toilet door. really weird design with frosted door. i thought it would be ok but in the end it is still weird when i arrived.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room. ours is in the middle of the junction where people would need to walk past so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Puri as your stay in Taipei, however, we retained the bathroom design out of the respect for the designer's style and idea,however, your comments
will be included in the considerations for future renovation of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to serve you again in the near future

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    267
    85
    10
    10
See reviews for
144
108
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The location is really really good if you want to be right in the middle of the buzz. However, we really had a shock when we reached and was told to walk into the rather narrow and uneven path. We booked 3 different rooms for our family - Standard Double, Superior Double and Triple Room and stayed at 2 different point of time during our trip. The Triple Room are all the same - SMALL and quite a headache to fit three adults. Hardly any walking space with 3 luggages in the room. We also noticed that there are different kind of Standard Double room - our 1st was rather small and the 2nd one was bigger and even came with a bathtub. Not sure why is there such a difference when we paid the same price.

Anyway, the rooms are clean and fairly well-equipped though I was quite amused by the small and light weight safe that can be easily carried away (luckily nothing bad like that happened). The hotel allowed us to deposit our luggage for a couple of day while we were at other part of Taiwan (BIG BONUS!) and they have a luggage room for this. So need not worry about lost luggage.

I will recommend this hotel to people who do not mind living at really small lane and busy places (my dad couldn't get over it so I guess young people would prefer this place more)

Room Tip: our rooms at level 6 were better than those we had at lower level, perhaps you want to ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiaoyi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay with us and thank you for sharing your thoughts about us on TripAdvisor.
We hope we can see you in your next stay in Taipei in the near future

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The location is the best thing of this hotel. I have stayed in the standard room for one week. The location is a plus for everything. However, when I first checked in, I have already notice that one of the coffee cup was dirty and the slippers in the room was already opened. It's not my cheapest choice so I was kind of shocked about this. I have called the front desk, the agent did come up to my room in a short time and changed it for me. The service was fair, but the sleep quality was good.

Room Tip: Room is not very big but good enough for one person, if you travel with another partner, maybe you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelinChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your suggestions and we are sorry that the amenities were not in place while you stayed with us the first night.
However, we thank you for choosing Hotel Puri and we hope to see you in the near future.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Please note that this review is for the FAMILY ROOM aka Deluxe Double. I wanted to specially highlight the toilet facilities. It is divided into 3 parts for the family room. The basin is placed near the door, the shower room is on the right of the room and toilet to the left. Both the shower room and toilet are ridiculously small. My knees touches the door when I sit on the toilet bowl and I am only 158cm tall. Both the doors are semi transparent which doesn't make sense as the room is meant for 4 adults hence it causes inconvenience for our family as I stayed there with my mother, sister and brother.

Putting the toilet aside, I would say Hotel Puri has its pro. The pros is that it is located at Xi Men Ding, just 5 minutes walk from the MRT and it is convenient for shopping and eating. It is value for money for its location. The room looks posh and the bed is comfortable. I would never stay at the family room in the future but I might consider the twin sharing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NekiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your suggestions and we are sorry about any inconveniences that may have caused you.
However, we have made some changes about the room type in the last few months and now the family room is bigger with two double beds and toilet/shower are in one place.
We do hope that you give us a second chance and come back to stay with us in the future and we thank you for your detailed comments shared on TripAdvisor.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is my first trip to Taipei and we have booked this hotel based on the comments from friends and tripadvisor.
A small and newly renovated hotel in an alley of XMD. The location is great.
The hotel is near to the walking street of XMD and the MRT station.
The walking distance is around 3 mins to both walking street and MRT station.
You may go for a night shopping spree or walk at the XMD walking street, movie street and famous food stall with a short walking distance from the hotel.
But it is located in an alley where only motorcycle can go into the lane.
Just make sure you have a map with the correct address and nearby landmark... or else you will easily miss this lane and take a long time to search for the hotel.
The room is indeed small in size but it is very clean and tidy.
The room furniture is decent and clean.
Toilet and bathroom are separated and small.
The room that I stayed was without window. So, we will probably overslept with no natural sunlight to wake us up.
The customer service is nice and friendly.
This is indeed a good hotel to stay in XMD, Taipei!

Room Tip: Rooms with window is better. Beware of mosquito is you plan to open up the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing such detailed comments about us on TripAdvisor, All of our staff are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us,
We hope to see you soon in the near future.
Ps: We do provide electric insect repellent upon request, in case guests are in need of those

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We took a Freego bus from the airport, the lady at the ticket counter and the driver recognized Hotel Puri, just mention it to them and they will let you know where to alight. We had to change bus in the middle and got confused on which bus to take next. Just ask around to sort it out.

The hotel is located in an alley not accessible by cab, but the main road is only a few steps from the hotel. The nearest exit from Ximen MRT is Exit 6. Expect a small hotel lobby.

Check-in process is relatively fast. We got the highest floor which is 6. The room was newly renovated and very clean. We got a really small room and no window, definitely not for the claustrophobic.

The toilet area is joined with the main room; there is no door or partition. The shower and toilet bowl are on separate cubicles. The shower floor doesn't drain the water properly, result: puddle. The towel rack is too near the shower head.

The bed is a queen-size and pretty comfortable. Only 2 pillows are provided though and we never bothered asking for extra. Below the side table is a safety box which is not that 'safe' because it's only attached to a removable wooden panel.

There are complimentary wired and wireless internet provided. Ask for the WiFi password at the check-in counter. The TV has many channels but mostly Chinese. There is also free gourmet coffee near the entrance at the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g7corda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed comment, and around September last year (2012), we have made some improvements in the rooms such as adding curtains between the bed section and the bathroom for more privacy, the drainage is relatively fast so it won't result in puddles, and also we provide extra pillows and sheets upon request.

However, we hope your stay was pleasant and enjoyable, we hope to see you again in the near future when you visit Taipei

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Location of the hotel was fantastic, just steps away XimenDing shopping district and MRT station. There is a nice spa just across from the hotel. Hotel Staff are helpful. rooms were a little small but was sufficient for the both of us. Bathroom didn't have a screen or shower curtains so the bathroom was pretty much 'flooded' after a shower which wasn't really ideal.

But overall, the location superseded everything so will definitely place this hotel in mind again when travelling to taipei

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phyllisphua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

It's nice to know that your enjoyed your holiday staying with us and we thank you for choosing Hotel Puri as your stay in Taipei.
We hope to see you once again the next time you visit Taipei

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puri - Taipei Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#34 of 571 in Taipei
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airline Inn Taipei Zhong Hua
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#49 of 571 in Taipei
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Ximen Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Ximen Branch

Property: Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Address: No.6, Lane 27, Chengdu Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan (Formerly Good Ground Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Taipei
#46 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#54 Best Value Hotel in Taipei
#69 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Ximen Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri Ximen Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Ground Taipei
Hotel Good Ground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing