We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Ranked #104 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but..”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The location is the best thing of this hotel. I have stayed in the standard room for one week. The location is a plus for everything. However, when I first checked in, I have already notice that one of the coffee cup was dirty and the slippers in the room was already opened. It's not my cheapest choice so I was kind of shocked about this. I have called the front desk, the agent did come up to my room in a short time and changed it for me. The service was fair, but the sleep quality was good.

Room Tip: Room is not very big but good enough for one person, if you travel with another partner, maybe you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelinChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your suggestions and we are sorry that the amenities were not in place while you stayed with us the first night.
However, we thank you for choosing Hotel Puri and we hope to see you in the near future.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    266
    85
    10
    10
See reviews for
143
108
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Please note that this review is for the FAMILY ROOM aka Deluxe Double. I wanted to specially highlight the toilet facilities. It is divided into 3 parts for the family room. The basin is placed near the door, the shower room is on the right of the room and toilet to the left. Both the shower room and toilet are ridiculously small. My knees touches the door when I sit on the toilet bowl and I am only 158cm tall. Both the doors are semi transparent which doesn't make sense as the room is meant for 4 adults hence it causes inconvenience for our family as I stayed there with my mother, sister and brother.

Putting the toilet aside, I would say Hotel Puri has its pro. The pros is that it is located at Xi Men Ding, just 5 minutes walk from the MRT and it is convenient for shopping and eating. It is value for money for its location. The room looks posh and the bed is comfortable. I would never stay at the family room in the future but I might consider the twin sharing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NekiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your suggestions and we are sorry about any inconveniences that may have caused you.
However, we have made some changes about the room type in the last few months and now the family room is bigger with two double beds and toilet/shower are in one place.
We do hope that you give us a second chance and come back to stay with us in the future and we thank you for your detailed comments shared on TripAdvisor.

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is my first trip to Taipei and we have booked this hotel based on the comments from friends and tripadvisor.
A small and newly renovated hotel in an alley of XMD. The location is great.
The hotel is near to the walking street of XMD and the MRT station.
The walking distance is around 3 mins to both walking street and MRT station.
You may go for a night shopping spree or walk at the XMD walking street, movie street and famous food stall with a short walking distance from the hotel.
But it is located in an alley where only motorcycle can go into the lane.
Just make sure you have a map with the correct address and nearby landmark... or else you will easily miss this lane and take a long time to search for the hotel.
The room is indeed small in size but it is very clean and tidy.
The room furniture is decent and clean.
Toilet and bathroom are separated and small.
The room that I stayed was without window. So, we will probably overslept with no natural sunlight to wake us up.
The customer service is nice and friendly.
This is indeed a good hotel to stay in XMD, Taipei!

Room Tip: Rooms with window is better. Beware of mosquito is you plan to open up the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing such detailed comments about us on TripAdvisor, All of our staff are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us,
We hope to see you soon in the near future.
Ps: We do provide electric insect repellent upon request, in case guests are in need of those

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We took a Freego bus from the airport, the lady at the ticket counter and the driver recognized Hotel Puri, just mention it to them and they will let you know where to alight. We had to change bus in the middle and got confused on which bus to take next. Just ask around to sort it out.

The hotel is located in an alley not accessible by cab, but the main road is only a few steps from the hotel. The nearest exit from Ximen MRT is Exit 6. Expect a small hotel lobby.

Check-in process is relatively fast. We got the highest floor which is 6. The room was newly renovated and very clean. We got a really small room and no window, definitely not for the claustrophobic.

The toilet area is joined with the main room; there is no door or partition. The shower and toilet bowl are on separate cubicles. The shower floor doesn't drain the water properly, result: puddle. The towel rack is too near the shower head.

The bed is a queen-size and pretty comfortable. Only 2 pillows are provided though and we never bothered asking for extra. Below the side table is a safety box which is not that 'safe' because it's only attached to a removable wooden panel.

There are complimentary wired and wireless internet provided. Ask for the WiFi password at the check-in counter. The TV has many channels but mostly Chinese. There is also free gourmet coffee near the entrance at the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g7corda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed comment, and around September last year (2012), we have made some improvements in the rooms such as adding curtains between the bed section and the bathroom for more privacy, the drainage is relatively fast so it won't result in puddles, and also we provide extra pillows and sheets upon request.

However, we hope your stay was pleasant and enjoyable, we hope to see you again in the near future when you visit Taipei

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Location of the hotel was fantastic, just steps away XimenDing shopping district and MRT station. There is a nice spa just across from the hotel. Hotel Staff are helpful. rooms were a little small but was sufficient for the both of us. Bathroom didn't have a screen or shower curtains so the bathroom was pretty much 'flooded' after a shower which wasn't really ideal.

But overall, the location superseded everything so will definitely place this hotel in mind again when travelling to taipei

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phyllisphua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

It's nice to know that your enjoyed your holiday staying with us and we thank you for choosing Hotel Puri as your stay in Taipei.
We hope to see you once again the next time you visit Taipei

Regards

Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

A small boutique hotel situated in an alley where cars (read: taxi) cannot drive through. But when our taxi dropped us off, it was but a short walk down that alley. Just make sure you have a map with the exact location to save you from walking around in circles (which we did).

The first room we were given was small & without a window. Though suffcient, the room is not designed for relaxing in. When we were moved to another room on a higher floor, it was bigger - had a window and a bathtub! This was definitely a better room, at the same price.

The shower stall and toilet were separated and I would call the toilet a closet! It's that small. The wash basin is situated outside in the main room area but partitioned by a half wall.

Other than the size, the room was cosy, clean and comfortable.

Location-wise, it was superb - right smack in the middle of Ximending & close to the subway to anywhere.

Do not expect much from the Front Desk as they could not offer much information. In fact, we gave them all our tourist information brochures which we collected from the Tourist Information office. Suggest Google-ing for help...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor, with a window and not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAngi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Superviser 主任 at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving us comments on TripAdvisor so that we could make more progress and improvements. As for the bathroom design we retain such style out of the respect for the designer's style and idea,however, your comments will definitely be included in the considerations for future renovation of the hotel.
We do apologize for any discomfort that you felt during the stay with us, we would definitely train our staff better to provide more comfort and enjoyable environment for our guests.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon the next time you are in Taipei.

Regards

Supervisor

Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in a triple room for two nights. While the room is generally clean with decent furnishing, the experience was marred by the poor layout.

The toilet, sink and bathroom are separate from one another, making it not only inconvenient but created unnecessary wasted space.

The toilet is tiny and it is a wonder how the guests are expected to maneuver with ease with the door closed.

The bathroom only has a bathtub with no shower curtain and hence the bathroom ended up semi-flooded after use. A shower stall would be a better option for practical reasons given the space constraint.

The toilet and bathroom doors provide inadequate privacy.

Will not recommend for adult travellers travelling with parents.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quincy0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puri_2011, Supervisor at Hotel Puri Ximen Branch, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your suggestions and comments shared about us on TripAdvisor, we are truly sorry that any inconveniences that might have caused you trouble during your stay with us, we seek to make the adjustments on our next renovation for better space accommodations.

Once again, thank you for choosing Hotel Puri as your stay in Taipe,

Regards
Supervisor
Andy Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Muzik Hotel - Ximen Station Branch
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puri - Taipei Station Branch
0.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#38 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#49 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
0.1 mi away
Cho Hotel
Cho Hotel
#99 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Ximen Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Ximen Branch

Property: Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Address: No.6, Lane 27, Chengdu Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan (Formerly Good Ground Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Taipei
#46 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#56 Best Value Hotel in Taipei
#69 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Ximen Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri Ximen Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Ground Taipei
Hotel Good Ground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing