We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable and awesome breakfast”
Review of Rich Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rich Garden Hotel
Ranked #191 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed a total of 5 nights at this hotel.

Location: just slightly over 7 min walk from Ximen station Exit 3. Excellent for shopping and going back for a bit of siesta before coming out for more shopping/eating.

Hotel amenities/service: Staff are extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast is provided and it is really awesome. First thing I think of upon waking up haha. It's a simple buffet style and largely unchanged over the 5 days we were there but still very excellent. Breakfast consisted of porridge/rice, with chinese dishes like omelette/scrambled eggs, ham and sausages, simple stirfried vegetables, salted peanuts, pork floss. Also has a simple variety of bread for toasting with butter/jam and cornflakes. Simple and delish, like home-cooked breakfast.
The hotel also has transport services to Taoyuan Airport - either NT200 each for a bus (which would take multiple stops) or NT1000 for a cab (can split amongst your travel group). We took the cab which came very punctually and the driver was very professional and careful.

Hotel room: quite a large room, large comfortable bed, good working TV and wifi in the room. Carpeted floor. Complimentary bottles of mineral water every day with tea/coffee bags and 2 packets of black sesame/lemon biscuits. The shower was very awesome with some high-tech new fangled kind of shower. Although the furnishings are the heavy old fashioned kind of chinese furnishings, it was all very comfortable. Lots of places to hang your washed delicates haha.

Amenities around hotel: This was not an issue at all since it is only 7 min walk away from Ximen where all the major shopping and eating stuff are. There is also a very old school shop selling very delicious pork/chive baos just 3 min to the right of the hotel (after coming out from the main entrance). One for NT 20 and so warm and oily and delicious.

Overall:
- plus points are many. The only thing is that some may find 7 min walk a little far, but I would say, it is just right. And anyway in Taipei one would expect to done a lot of eating so what's a short 7 min walk to burn away the calories? Would stay here again definitely. Go try the chives bao too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simpletravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Rich Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Once you enter the hotel lobby, you will instantly feel that the hotel is time warped in the eighties. The decor has obviously not been updated. When you enter the hotel room, take a good look at the carpets, which are badly stained. Even the wallpapers are full of scratches from luggage bags brushing against them because there is hardly any room to move around.
The morning breakfast is nothing to shout about. Given the great array of interesting and affordable breakfast in Ximending and elsewhere, there is really no need for breakfast at the hotel.
With plenty of competition from other hotels, I will never come back. In fact, I moved out after one night and stayed at the Cityinn, a much newer and cleaner hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Denise9776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very friendly and obliging staff. Clean rooms and bathroom except for a carpet that needed cleaning. The chairs in the hotel room were oriental design, and still had heavy plastic covers on the seat cushions. Free Wi-Fi and the room and in the lobby. Although I had a room facing the main street, the street noise was not bad. Breakfast was limited but adequate with a mixture of Asian and Western food. Since I arrived before check-in time and left after check-out time, the staff were kind enough to check my bags both times with no charge. Whenever I entered or left the hotel the staff were there to assist me if needed. The hotel is a few blocks from the nearest MRT and close to lots of shops and food places - although most don't open until late morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfortable rooms. Nice details on the room furnishings. Breakfast spread was great!
Toilet was choked but staff attended to it quickly.
Location is ideal as it is not directly beside the busy xinmending area but not too far too with a 10 mins walk.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AdrianLooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed in Rich Garden Hotel for my last 2 Nights in Taipei, and it was the most comfortable stay of my 7 nights there. I dont know what blanket they use, but it's the best I've ever used in my entire life! It's thick and yet soft. Would buy it if I could! Location wise, it is a short 10minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Ximending.

1 negative point about the hotel, is that the Wifi was weak in my room. My phone was able to detect Wi-fi at the entrance of my room, at my bathroom, but not on my bed. Being an essential and critical must-have of all travelers, I sincerely urge the management of the hotel to look into the Wi-fi strength and coverage of the hotel.

Will I stay in this hotel again? Definitely!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I just spent a few days in this hotel to visit Taipei.
This hotel is really well located. It's closed from Ximen station and only one station from Taipei Main Station. SO you can easily enjoy Ximen area (some bars at The Red house, and the night market). It's quiet useful from the airport (you can take a bus from the airport to Taipei Main staiton. After, you can reach the hotel via Ximen station).
The hotel is quiet old. Everything is clean, but it's more appropriate for a business trip than a romance trip. We enjoyed it because it was only for few days, and really close from some interests things. Fro example, you can reach The Memorial of Chang-Kai-Shek, and The Peace Memorial by walking 15mins.
We had the breakfast included. It's quiet enough but there is not a lot of choices.
Our room was a bit small, and there was a smoking smell during all our stay.
I think it's convenient if you don't stay for long and if you spend more time visiting Taipei.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menteuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This Hotel is close to (walking distance by aged couple) bus, MTR station, Markets, and a large convenience store just a block away. Staff were very friendly and could speak English our room was comfortable and clean on the down side if you could call it that the breakfast was Asian orientated there was plenty of it and we enjoyed it.We will stay there again when we return to Taiwan

Room Tip: We stayed on the Fourth floor with window overlooking the front of hotel and main road.The room was...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Burgary Hotel
Burgary Hotel
#186 of 573 in Taipei
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airline Inn Taipei Zhong Hua
0.1 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#111 of 573 in Taipei
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
0.2 mi away
Cho Hotel
Cho Hotel
#90 of 573 in Taipei
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rich Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Garden Hotel

Address: No.178 Section 1 Zhong-Hua Road, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $74 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rich Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rich Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rich Garden Taipei
Hotel Rich Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing