We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect match with new stylish spirit of Taipei!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambience Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambience Hotel
Ranked #5 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect match with new stylish spirit of Taipei!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

My wife and I came to Taipei to visit her family and friends. I had previously lived in Taipei for a year--but that was thirty years ago, and I really did not know what to expect. We chose Ambience based largely on TripAdvisor ratings--and I have to say it was one of the best travel decisions ever made. This hotel is clean, elegant, very comfortable, totally high tech. Rooms are well designed with fancy bathroom fittings, great shower and bath tub, plenty of bath accessories. Very comfortable bed. We stayed on the top floor and had a magnificent view of Taipei to the south and east. The breakfast that was included with our $91 per day rate--after discounts for staying ten days and a special internet rate--was absolutely first class, with both western and Chinese specialties--you'd pay at least $20 for that at other hotels. There is free laundry service on site and a swimming pool. While some have said there is a problem with the location of this hotel, I beg to differ. Three buses that will take you everywhere in the city stop within a few steps of the front door and hotel staff can direct you if you feel nervous taking a bus but can't speak or read Chinese. The new MRT metro system is a 15 minute walk if you prefer that. My wife and I felt like walking one night and we made it from the Taipei Rail Station to the hotel in about 20 minutes. There are several excellent and inexpensive Chinese restaurants one to two blocks away that are packed every night and offer a wide range of seafood and other dishes. This is a can't-miss choice in Taipei, unless you want rock bottom room rates in a very basic place or can't stand to stay in anything but an American-owned hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morganhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    320
    54
    8
    4
See reviews for
268
435
173
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zenzennyc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

-Clean, Stylish and great value for money!
-Well design lobby and room
-Fast and smooth check in service
-Staff are professionally dressed yet stylish
-Bed is comfy esp pillow, we missed 3 days breakfast becoz of that
-Once you step into the hotel, you will feel the ambience, light stylish hip music, nice scene all over and tv on elevator showing runway clips, plus latest Bvlgari II parfum available for you in the check in desk and lobby crouch area.
- The 10 mins walk to the mrt station isnt a problem for us.
-with such good value for money, and is one of the best hotel I have stayed in Asia considering the price, I cant ask for more
- will definitely go back if I travel to taipei again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenzennyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Many East Asian hotels are dreary places with too much dark wood and shades of beige. The Ambiance is an eye-popping exception. It's a 'concept' hotel and proud of it and it pretty much works. But the essentials are still there: efficient, charming, English-speaking receptionists, well-designed and clean rooms (I stayed in a Deluxe, Room #302), free wireless broadband, an excellent bathroom, a good breakfast, and so on. If you just want a bed for the night, you can stay anywhere. But if you want the hotel to add to the enjoyment of your stay then this is the right place for you. I'll certainly stay there again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mpaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

Pros: Clean, great service, friendly staff. I liked the bathroom as well... nice big bath in the bigger rooms. Its worth the upgrade. Free wireless is great as well. Free TV and Movie channel including some naughty movies!! The breakfast was good - but with so much great Taiwanese breakfast food, why bother!! Some great eats 50m down the road.

Cons: When we got there the non-smoking room did smell a little like cigerettes... Half and hour with the window open and that wasnt an issue. The only other minor (and i stress minor) issue was the location was not the best. Its a ten minute walk to the metro which was no good in the rain. However its only about 100ntd (AU$3) for a cab... So when we were feeling lazy we would just cab it.

Conclusion: I would be more than happy to stay there again... I really enjoyed the hotel. Much better standard than the hiltons and other larger chains. Clean, new rooms... The hotel had a great vibe to it...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robzillaHawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

To sum up this hotel, "Excellent" is the word.
1. Location. Very good. Although it's not close to an MRT station, it's only 10 min taxi drive from Taipei Main Station, which cost just under $100 NT. It's walking distance to the boutique Japanese restaurant area and Kuan Hua market (where you can cheap and nice IT stuff and mobile phones)
2. Room. The room is a little bit small but it's tastefully decorated. Very clean. Nice and comfortable bed. LCD, DVD player, free internet. We stayed on level 11 with view to the city. Shower box is HUGE and it has nice powerful shower heads. Very comfortable shower.
3. Breakfast. Excellent choices of Taiwanese and Western style breakfast. Personally I think the choices are better than some of the 5 star hotels in Australia. The breakfast is complimentary.
4. Staff is courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. They made our stay very comfortable. Check out time is 12 pm so we get to enjoy to room a bit longer.

We highly recommend this boutique hotel, great for leisure, romance or business.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

The location is quite central,but u have to take cab to everywhere,as there are no metro station nearby as well as not many nice restaurant nearby.however,taking cab to tapei station and the closest metro station Zhongshan only cost twd100 ,which is not expensive if u are travelling with a few.we are staying at executive business room,
Hotel room is rather small,do not recommend for third person or extra bed in the room,especially if u have loads of luggage,breakfast lounge is really small only 11small tables which catered for 22-30pax at one time,hence we have to wait every
morning for breakfast.
As the name of the hotel,the ambience of the room ,lounge us pretty good ,if you have young kids,I suppose you will opt for other hotel for more room space as well as facility like swimming pool etc.
During the week of our stay ,Taipei is very cold ,around 10degree ,ambience do not have heater and double glazed window, we were freezeing in the room,which contribute to a really lousy stay overall.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcs-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

I was on my trip to Taipei with lots of expectations and excitements. The Ambience, despite its name is so design orientated, warm and provides the best service that keeps reminding me to revisit. The hotel is petite, with beautiful and whimsical interior, bar and lounge area. I stayed in a standard Queen Room for 4 nights in Feb 08. Love the free music, complementary DESIGNR toiletries, roomy shower and strong shower heads that can work., well, for me, like a massage handle. The rooms are always kept dry, with SOOO comfortable bedding, pillows and the amazing Phillippe Stark chair and Ferrucio Laviani furniture. The staffs are so friendly and attentive to all my needs. Thank you Ambience for providing me a remarkable experience ♥
For the first time I actually feel sad leaving a hotel…

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fafa0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
4.6 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Tianmu Branch
1.2 mi away
Cityinn Hotel Plus - Fuxing N. Rd., Branch
1.3 mi away
Swiio Hotel Daan
Swiio Hotel Daan
#3 of 565 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#36 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch
0.9 mi away
Hotel 73
Hotel 73
#15 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambience Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambience Hotel

Property: Ambience Hotel
Address: No.64 Section 1, Chang'an East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Songshan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambience Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most anticipated project combining the visionary talents of famous Taiwanese architect Wei Ming Lee and designer Ted Su, led by an ambitious and dynamic team of hospitality professionals, Ambience Hotel is the first offbeat and contemporary boutique hotel designed to breathe style and excitement into Taiwan's capital city. Ambience Hotel's 60 avant-garde guestrooms and suites feature a unique decor blend of polished steel, glass, white granite and calf-skin leather upholstery. Completed with free high speed wireless internet access, Video-on-Demand movie system, and luxurious Botanicus bath and body products, Ambience Hotel provides the service and amenities of a luxury hotel within a strikingly modern yet intimate environment. Combining comfort, functionality, and cutting edge design, Ambience Hotel is the ideal place to stay for business and pleasure in Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambience Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing