We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meander Taipei Hostel
Ranked #2 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and excellent staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was in Taiwan only for 5 days, and Meander helped make my trip so wonderful and convenient! Everything about the place screamed that it upheld cleanliness and respect. The staff was wonderful. They had tips pertaining to all the adventures I wanted to do while in Taipei and Taiwan and were so friendly. I stayed at Meander two nights, then rode around a little bit of the island on rented motor scooters the next two nights. They held my excess bags at the front desk and I did not worry one bit about them (of course I did not leave valuables, but that is common sense). When I returned everything was just as I had left it and I got to enjoy one more night at Meander! Next time I visit Taipei I am certainly staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spencer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeanderCrew, Ivan at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello Spencer, thank you for all the positive review. You guys are so cool because you've chosen a local way to travel in Taiwan, which is adventurous but also memorable. Hope you enjoy your staying here, and maybe next time you can plan a longer vacation, travel to other small islands around Taiwan. See you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    88
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
30
236
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Pretty close to being the perfect hostel! The common floor is great, the staff is incredibly helpful and really makes you feel at home. Rooms are nice and clean, everyone gets his own locker, nightlamp and power socket right next to the bed. The common room can get really busy and interesting in the evening, there's a beer fridge or seven eleven just around the corner if you need to stock up on beer or whatever you need. ;)
And also big up to Travis and rest of the staff for being so welcoming and nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Maciej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Maciej!!! Thank you so much and really appreciate your big favor for us. How's everything in Poland? I'm glad to have met you in Taiwan. Must come back again and next time I may have chance to show you more around Taipei. Take care!! Hopefully to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I must admit Meander Hostel's open area/lobby is very nice, comfortable and well designed. The place is big and clean as they are well maintained with daily clean up. Self cleaning culture also play a very important role in Taiwan. The room spacing is moderate however equip with all the things that you need. Not forgetting to mention that all their staffs are very friendly and helpful. They smile, greet and even talk to you whenever appropriate.

漫步是我到过同一个级别中最好的旅店。它拥有一个很好的休闲环境,也特别干净。我特别喜欢在楼下的休闲区待也不愿在房间待着。它的员工也很友善也乐于助人,跟他们聊天也是一种享受。。

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Payunglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Google Translation
這次很開心能夠認識你們,這幾天和你們相處很愉快,是個令人難忘的經驗。也謝謝選擇漫步,讓我們有機會可以接待你們。你們都很可愛、很熱情,希望漫步能成為你們在台灣的旅程中一個難忘的住宿回憶。期待下次與你們相遇,漫步隨時歡迎你們回來!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I really enjoyed my 5-day stay at The Meander Taipei hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the facilities were impeccably clean, tidy, and aesthetically pleasing. The rules here are in place for the protection and comfort of everyone, and it was very easy and a pleasure to abide by them. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: The dorm-style rooms, from what I saw, might be a bit cramped. I would suggest splurging for a doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank gec2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Meander Taipei as the place to stay in. We're glad to have you at our hostel. It was also a pleasant experience for us to spend time with you. We look forward to your next visit. Hope to see you soon again in Taipei.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our stay here at Meander taipei hostel was excellent! The hostel is really well designed and very comfortable. The common area is huge and also really great to meet new people. You can enjoy playing darts or table football. The dorms and bathroom are very clean an the Meander crew is just awesome! A special thanks goes to Naomi her husband Michele. My experience with stinky tofu in Taiwan was something new ;-)
Thank you for making my stay so memorable! I hope you to see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martin_binz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeanderCrew, at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Martin,

This is Naomi and we are happy that you were enjoy and happy to stay here, you know that you had promise with me,said you will definitely come back and visit us again, dont break your promise :P haha Hoping We can see you guys again soon!!!! Wish you all the best, and Thank you again for choose Meander Taipei Hostel :)

Cheers,
Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights with my family here in their 5 bed room dormitory(private toilet) & it was a great experience!

My chinese is not so good and had to book tickets leefoo village & they helped me to check online & key in details etc. Very warm friendly & quiet environment.

Walking distance from Xi Men Ding. Near to cinemas and good food places. I would definitely stay here again! I would recommend if you are going there with a bunch of friends!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank witdrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeanderCrew, Naomi at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello, thank you for your support, we're all glad and encouraged to know you enjoy your staying. And it's also our pleasure to be helpful. We'll keep doing our best. Next time you visit Taipei, please come and visit us. See you again someday!

Cheers,
Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Meander Taipei Hostel for 3 main reason.

1. It is really clean and the places provides shoes for shower, pillows, bed sheets, and a very comfy blanket
2. The staff is really nice and helpful. If you need any advice or direction they will help you out. Lam helped me book a restaurant for my birthday and was super helpful.
3. It is in a centralized location. Meander is a quick walk (~10 minute) to Ximen station, which is easy to get to most attractions.

I had a great time at the hostel and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank summerinmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeanderCrew, Ivan at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hello, thank you for your support, we're all glad and encouraged to know you enjoy your staying. And it's also our pleasure to be helpful. We'll keep doing our best. Next time you visit Taipei, please come and visit us. See you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
#35 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Just Sleep Ximending
#21 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uinn Travel Hostel
#3 of 241 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Wanhua District
TW Hostel Taipei 1st Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meander Taipei Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meander Taipei Hostel

Property: Meander Taipei Hostel
Address: No.163 Chengdu Road, Ximending, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meander Taipei Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meander Taipei Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing