We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very thoughtful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
City Suites Taipei Nanxi
Ranked #95 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very thoughtful hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

As we were travelling in a tour group, time was seldom enough for us to buy fruits but city suites thoughtfully provided every room with a small but impressive variety to ensure that every traveller that passes through it's doors are well and healthy.

The rooms were equipped with high-tech toilets and were very clean. The rooms had different themes, all of which were cosy and comfortable. The staff at the restaurant for breakfast was extremely attentive and attends to your every need sometimes even before you ask for it. It's really a very good hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole_Nai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    230
    39
    5
    4
See reviews for
114
85
53
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at City Suites ex Japan. The service was outstanding - most of the staff speak English, Japanese and of course Chinese. They are ever so helpful. The rooms are clean, modern, and spacious. The bathrooms in particular are designed with very good taste in mind. Each morning the breakfast had a good spread with a wide array of options. Only issue was the free Wifi access was not so compatible with Apple devices (iPad and iPhone). If all else fails there are 4 laptops in the lobby which guests are free to use. Location wise the hotel is no trouble. Generally there is always a taxi on the street and getting anywhere is very cheap. I would definately stay in this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: Stayed on 8F - quiet as a mouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The hotel's location was not as bad as mentioned in previous reviews. The mrt stop, Zhongshan, is about 1km away, but still walkable (10-15 mins). Taxis are quite affordable with a 20mins ride at TWD 200. Rooms looked slightly dated but it's not a major issue. Quite near to the Taipei Main Station, which is really convenient if you're planning day trips out of Taipei. If you're hungry at night, there is quite a nice night market around the corner on Ming Shen road. I found it to be better than the other more "famous" night markets which were too crowded, if you just want to try some local food.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yithui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks while on business and I loved it. The breakfast buffet is fantastic with fresh fruits, scrabled eggs, varous kinds of meat, vegies and cereal everyday. Coffee is always available.

I found the staff very helpful providing recommendations on places to visit and eat.

The rooms are clean and comfortable.

I enjoyed going for a walk along the narrow streets around the hotel both in the morning and in the evening. The streets seemed safe and interesting and the 2-28 park is near by. The restaurants around the hotel weren't noteworthy but many places to grab a sandwich, pizza or quick meal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We got a free night at this hotel when traveling back to the US from Asia. The room we got was pretty basic, it was not as big as other rooms of the hotel that we had seen the pictures of. However, the room was very clean with the exception of the two armchairs in the room. The bathroom is a bit on the small size, but quite modern and again very clean. The bed was very comfortable, and again very clean :) There were two armchairs in the small sitting area next to the bedroom area. We did not spend much time in that sitting area because we were able to see (despite the limited lighting in the room) some stains on the chairs.

Our room was the one at the end of the hallway on the 5th floor, next to a stairway. The hotel was pretty quiet. We got free breakfast and there were only a few guests in the breakfast area. The food was not bad, but I think I was not quite so used to Taiwanese food. My husband liked the food there more than I did.

I think the only disadvantage is the location of this hotel. We thought it was somewhat closer to Taipei. It is actually only about 5 mins away from the airport. Though there are bus / train station nearby, due to us not being able to speak Mandarin / Chinese we decided to take a taxi when we went into Taipei. Each ride to Taipei cost about 1200 Taiwanese dollars, almost $ 40. Which is not bad for a city price but because we went into Taipei twice, the costs of those 4 taxi rides did add up.

The hotel staff was very helpful. Each time they took the time to explain to the taxi driver where we would like to go.

Good - Clean room, quiet, nice and clean bathroom, free breakfast, good coffee!
Bad - Location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcopoloRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The hotel was great but only one problem was it's location. It is not in the center of Taipei nor near the tourist destinations. However it is near the Taipei main station and the bus terminal. You would need to take a cab to the train and bus stations but if you don't mind walking it took 20 mins to the train station for me. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. They knew very well about the town. I saw many Japanese staying at this hotel and as well as locals from other parts of Taiwan. There is a DVD player in each room so you might want to rent a DVD on your way back to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pooky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

New and clean simply/nicely designed small hotel. Location is ok, accessible to anywhere in Taipei if 10 minutes walk from the metro station does not bother you. The hotel is very close to the famous old town with wholesale shops/outdoor dining street. You can find lots of convenience stores as well as the wine shop nearby.

The single room (double-bed) I stayed was probably less than 30 sqr. metres, but the bathroom facilities were like 5 star hotel, with big powder space and separate bathtub/shower booth. They also provided my room with L'occitane amenity!

The hotel style is more like for business travellers with minimum service, but I will definitely stay there again in Taipei for leisure trip.

The good: High quality bathroom, L'occitane amenity, bathrobe, DVD player. Efficient room cleaning. They might have free internet access (I don't really remember).
Neautral: 10 minutes walk from the station.
The bad: The walls are very thin, you can hear your neibours' noise. No in-room dining.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BijouxDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
1.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#66 of 576 in Taipei
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citysuites Taipei Beimen
Citysuites Taipei Beimen
#201 of 576 in Taipei
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
FX Hotel - Taipei Nanjing East Road
1.3 mi away
The Riviera Hotel
The Riviera Hotel
#41 of 576 in Taipei
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#128 of 576 in Taipei
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites Taipei Nanxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites Taipei Nanxi

Property: City Suites Taipei Nanxi
Address: No.169 Nanjing West Road, Tatung District, Taipei 10341, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#45 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Suites Taipei Nanxi 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To provide businesspersons and travelers from different parts of the world with a quiet space for relaxation is the central idea behind Taipei Nanxi. Therefore, the spacious guestrooms equipped with imported furniture and carefully chosen equipment (such as tea sets, network connections, and 5 music channels) are designed to make every guest to fully experience quality guestroom facilities during their trip. Taipei Nanxi is a 10-storey hotel with 80 guestrooms.At the meeting place in the lobby, there are 24-hour WiFi networking connections, coffee and tea services for business guests.There are also two independent conference rooms in the hotel (each accommodating 30 people) for business guests to hold conferences right inside the hotel.Every guestroom is equipped with imported bathing items and carefully selected imported furniture for guests to fully enjoy themselves. Taipei Nanxi is designed by the internationally renowned fashion designer Wu Zhongyue.Natural “wood”, “water” and “stone” are the base tones of the hotel’s interior design. The entire building is in a light brown color to ensure that guests can immediately relax themselves the moment they first step into the hotel.The classy reception lobby with an elevated ceiling is equipped with furniture made by famous designer Gallery Su. Classical music from the romantic and modern schools is broadcasted throughout the hallways on every floor to provide business guests with a refreshing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Suites Taipei Nanxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing