We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Friends Yo Lai Regency
Ranked #378 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location is good, can earn a 3 star. But, the rest; i.e. Customer Service, room, breakfast, wifi, etc, is way below 2 star!

We were in a group of 14 persons, in-total 5 rooms. We bought the package from travel agent, check-in on 25-Dec-2012, check-out on 26-Dec, check-in again on 28-Dec for another 3 nights.

When we arrived at night on 25-Dec, we were all tired and cold. There was no one helped to carry our luggage. We are one family, consists of young toddler and old folks. There is a few staircase before you can reach the very small lift, so mind you, you need to carry your luggage up to your room all on your own.

The breakfast is on the top floor, supposed to start at 7am. Mind you again, they are not ready by that time which I cannot comprehend because it's only porridge and bean curd, peanuts, fried eggs, can food, which are the simplest things to do in the kitchen. They don't even have enough hot water for you to refill. Oh, another thing that you MUST remember, you need to clear your own plates and cups from the table.

Ok, talking about friendliness. Mind you, you won't get a smile from the receptionist. When we checked in again on 28-Dec, we requested 1 twin room, but they gave us a double bedded room. I called and received a very rude response from them and requested me to go to the front desk. When I was there, again, they started to speak in a unfriendly manner and told me that I should not complaint to them as my booking is through the travel agent. What I can do is to talk to my tour guide. He was rude and I told him what is the different between a twin and a double. He told me twin is more expensive. Ridiculous! When I was talking, he just picked up a call without being excused! It's really not acceptable.

If you really want to have a smooth and happy holiday, I will not recommend you to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xinrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I did experienced the same customer service with the below customers.

Yo Lai is the worst hotel I ever stayed.

First let talk about the dining part. As it is a 3 star motel styled, we dun expect sumptuous food for Sure, but the replenishing is rather slow, porridge wasn't refill for like for den 30 minutes, I went to the counter n ask, the server said , "can u please wait! " in the definite harsh tone. My brother wanted a coffee from the coffee machine, there is no more coffee powder, he tried the machine twice, went to the counter. The ladies say no more coffee powder, den ask him to bring the powder filler to the counter. Well, they are not busy at all, 3 ladies and gathering at the counters for chatting session. Okay, the restaurant is very small, so no much ppl there at around 9am. I am thinking why the ladies cannot come out to deal with the coffee maker part. trying to be nice, he helps to bring the filler over. After the breakfast, we are requested to bring the plates back to the counters. Am I having my breakfast at a hawker centre or food court? When we do so, the ladies said oh u are not from china, china ppl wun do this. It is ridiculous, being a hotel, I think it is not wise to have such hectic comments. We annoyed and proceed.

Second - we are supposed to go back to airport by 3:45pm, the driver from the tours group had not arrived by 4pm, I went to the reception for assist. She look at me with a very stern look and act like didn't see me. I expressed my tones again and she just pointed at the public telephone, call and ask.

I dun think a hotel service to be in such way, maybe not to blame that I took up the hotel cause of the tour package, think they allied with tour agents so we r to stay there, I somemore extend 2 extra days because e tour agent recommend to, But I seriously hope that someone can do something

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire_chua85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I am writing this letter first thing I touch down to Singapore due to the urgency and would like to express my greatest displeasure regarding my hotel stay in Taipei. This is the first time my wife-to-be and I are going to Taipei and is indeed a privilege to have such an encounter.

We were on a 8 days 7 nights trip for a wedding photoshoot and would like to experience the well-known Taiwanese warmth. We stayed with Yo-lai hotel located at NO.23-1 ,SHUANG CHENG STREET , TAIPEI , TAIWAN , R.O.C for 7 nights and even upgraded our room to one of the top few range to show our support, furthermore, we did not have nasty requests as we would like a pleasant stay. On the day of check-in, the hotel requested us to pay the full amount; we gladly obeyed to pay all in cash.

It turned out otherwise. The room as no Wi-Fi as it claims and the room was smoky each time we came back to the hotel. To make matter worse, on the last day of stay, the hotel charged us for over-stay. First of all, we were not informed on any check-out timing throughout the 8 days of stay. I then requested to speak to the manager to explain to him; he ended up demanding me to pay the penalty and threaten me that he will cancel the transport to airport. He hang up my call very rudely without even discussing with me personally. Feeling helpless, I requested from the service counter if I can call my bridal studio located in Taipei for advise and the service officer shove me off to use a public pay-phone.

I hope you can understand the helplessness we felt as a first-timer to Taipei and is this how a tourist should be treated? Is it the kind of service we should receive? My wife and I were indeed very upset over the whole incident and sincerely hope we can get an answer/ good explanation from the top management.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Asiacustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Great hotel!

Budget to the max. But still worth it. 3 and a half star. free breakfast at the top floor. We stayed for 10 days. Cheap laundry just a stone throw down the hotel. 7 eleven down the road. And A NIGHTMARKET just down the road which serves great great food! there's bubble tea stalls too and a soya bean snack store!

We absolutely loved this hotel despite it being a lil run down. the lobby is small but cosy. The staff are great EXCEPT the grumpy females. The male manager and senior staff (usually takes night shift) is extremely helpful, will help u to research the places you want to go and give you the map. FREE airport transfer to and fro too. and free once a day 'hotel will fetch you to anywhere within the city' trip. awesome!

Hotel is far from the train station but taking a taxi is real cheap and safe.

GREAT HOTEL!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaptainPEEsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

1. i book direct with the hotel its cheaper a little husttle due to their computer system but it went well its better to email them for reservation
2. a very good average hotel
3. it may be far from mrt but they give a free roundtrip ride everyday
we avail of 1 ride in the morning and we walk to hotel from mrt at night its a long walk but were on vacation so its ok with me
4. staff speak english and accomodating especially a senior guy at the counter
5 for budget traveller try this you will not regret
6. i take time to write this review because i dont see much reviews about friends yo lai
7. hopefully the next time i go back to their hotel they dont increase their hotel rate due to good reviews

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We arraged with the hotel direct without making any advance payment. Three of us stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Its def beyond my expectation. First we engaged their private airport pick-up service for NT1100 one way, when we return, they offered to send us FOC! Plus they provide daily transport to n from hotel to anywhere in the taipei city with their private car (FOC as well)but with advance booking.
The room is spacious, clean, equipped with hair dryer, kettle, internet wireless, LCD TV etc.. not that I can complain about except the bed is very hard but surprisingly it wasnt destruct our sleeps at all (surprise). Clean bathroom with bathtub with complete set of toilettries.

Overall, we got more than what we expected. I would rate it a 3& 1/2 star hotel but I def will recommend to my friends, def will come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lovjemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: お任せでしたが不満はありません
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kunipapa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Rose Boutique Hotel Shuangcheng Hall
0.8 mi away
Friends Yu-Yu Hotel
Friends Yu-Yu Hotel
#339 of 578 in Taipei
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taipei Lotty Hotel
Taipei Lotty Hotel
#291 of 578 in Taipei
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silken Hotel
Silken Hotel
#433 of 578 in Taipei
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green World Hotel Sansui
Green World Hotel Sansui
#159 of 578 in Taipei
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cai She Hotel
Cai She Hotel
#488 of 578 in Taipei
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Yo Lai Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Yo Lai Regency

Address: No.23-1 Shuang Cheng Street, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $62 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friends Yo Lai Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friends Yo Lai Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing