We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall ok stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capital Hotel Arena
Ranked #279 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overall ok stay...”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a bit of 'hiccup' with the preparation of the room and the staff looked a bit surprised when we checked in, was a bit worried whether we had the reservations.

Depending on which corner of the building you stay, you may end up with a room smaller than what is usually shown in the hotel photos. My parents' room was a bit small for 2, whereas I got a bigger room, spacious enough to have a separate small hallway. However my room was not cleaned properly before I moved in and 1 of the tables had chilli oil on it. I cleaned part of it with a piece of tissue but housekeeping did not seem to notice it during turn down in the evening... Other than the initial hiccups, the rest of the 2-night stay was pleasant. Breakfast was pleasant enough and the location is quite convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms ending -12 are generally smaller in size. Ok for 1 person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairew_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
12
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed at Hondo Hotel for a week in March 2012, and was very happy with the experience. It was a family vacation, and we had two rooms (next to each other but not connected) on the 6th floor. Rooms were spacious and clean, beds were comfortable, bathrooms were large, and showers were hot. Did not watch much TV (we were sightseeing all day and night), but we did connect to the free wireless internet and the speed was surprisingly good. The location of the hotel is great, on a main street with a lot of food/shopping options. When we visited, there was construction on the street (I believe they are renovating the metro?), but it did not effect our stay. The metro stop we walked to was about 5-10 mins away. I would say the highlight of the hotel is the breakfast buffet. Pretty amazing. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasonjr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our 1st room was located on the 6th floor but we had to move to the 8th floor since there was an issue with the wireless internet on the 6th floor. The room on the 8th floor was nicely decorated, spacious, 42" flat screen TV (cable channels in english, CNN, HBO, Cinemax, National Geographic, Discovery, TLC, etc...) and the wireless was working well. There was a hot water boiler for Coffee and Tee, complementary bottled water and soft drinks, a small fruit bowl with fruits and crackers and cookies which they refilled every day for us, that was really nice. The sheets were white and in good condition. The pillows and mattress were nice and firm. The bathroom was clean, big and spacious, equipped with a lot of nice toiletries. Breakfast was very good, there is a lot of warm dishes usually Chinese food, and the menu changed every day. I liked the different Chinese food choices thus I really enjoyed breakfast. My Husband preferred more western style breakfast thus he had Toast and eggs, the eggs were easy over and very well prepared. The Staff were also nice and friendly.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there very much. A nice spacious room, free wireless, nice Hotel Staff and good location.
A Tip for those who like to jog, the Hotel is located right across the Taipei Municipal Stadium, which is open to the public for jogging/running every day between 6-9am and 6-9pm. We jogged there a few times during our stay and it was a lot of fun to jog uninterrupted in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRA-SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Spent 9 Nights on a Business trip, Felt comfortable as it was easily accessible by road and nearer to Taipei Arena and Good shopping complexes around... its location is quite centrally located and well connected to the highway, not much of traffic hassles.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VenkyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narita, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

How to get: from Taoyuan Airport you can take express buss which goes or to Taipei Main Station (then take MRT to Nanjin East) or direct express bus to Nanjin East Road (depend on the schedule and bus company)******check internet******or bus that goes to Dynasty Hotel.
Then just walk along the main street and you will easily reach the hotel.
The hotel has been recently renew, the rooms are clean spacious and very quite.
The bathroom is also very nice with shower and bathtub separated.
In the bathrooms you can find amenities such of toothbrush, comb, manicure set, razor,shaving cream and so on....
The rooms are very comfortable.
There is free internet inside rooms and next to elevator at the ground floor.
Staff is very nice and kind.
The breakfast is good. You can have local food as well as continental breakfast, cappuccino, coffee and espresso.
The location is pretty good, also considering about the good Taipei`s taxi fare.
Nanjin station is about 7 min walking from the hotel.
The price worth to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelcouple2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Booked through Expedia. Huge room w/2 queen beds and ultra large bathroom with large tub and separate shower. (Expedia and hotel website said beds were 'double' - so we had a pleasant surprise). Very good rate that included good quality breakfast buffet for all 4 of us. Buffet was mainly good local food, but had a few western choices as well. Staff was friendly and service was very good. Two negative points; the room smelled strongly of cigarettes when we arrived, and the air conditioning controls were not understandable. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigersharkSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ping Chen City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Hi, I used HotelClub.com to book this room because of the communication issue. It didn't help. The mis communication occurred throughout the experience. I called twice telling them the room I wanted after booking it and confirmed. It didn't help because they said yes to everything. We arrived and had to look at 3 different rooms. Then their credit card service was down. I used a Taiwan bank Visa card. Then they had to run the card again at checkout. Then two more phone calls to explain everything again. They know just enough English to make it appear like they speak English but not work out the problems. They have a credit card problem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meyers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Capital Hotel Nanjing
#328 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Songshan District
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel Taipei
Capital Hotel
#141 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#40 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Simple+ Hotel
#114 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Capital Hotel Song Shan
#228 of 570 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Arena

Property: Capital Hotel Arena
Address: No.55-1 Section 4, Nanking East Road, Songshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly Hondo Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hotel Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital Hotel Arena (Former Hondo Hotel), functioning as a hotel, a resort and a business place, is situated within busy Nanjing E Rd. business area. With convenient transportation, Shin-yi area, where big malls, Taipei 101, Taipei World Trade Center, Taipei Arena, night fairs, and other business areas are, are just blocks away.A business or tourist friendly hotel situated in the middle of everything from shopping malls and museums to religious temples. The guest rooms are trendy and equipped with telephones, mini bars, and air-conditioning. Wake up to a complimentary breakfast from the restaurant or just grab fresh pastries and an espresso from the coffee shop. The business center can accommodate corporate gatherings and meetings so conducting business should be no problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Capital Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hondo Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing