We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location in the heart of Ximending” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #213 of 566 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location in the heart of Ximending”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Good location, but it could get really noisy due to the bustling street.
Very near the subway too, so it's easily accessible to many places within a short timeframe.
Pretty quiet in the morning, but it gets lively from afternoon onwards to late at night.

Room Tip: No restaurant/swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    180
    70
    17
    3
See reviews for
69
43
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

5 min walk to Ximending station, very convenient location if u like the hustle and bustle of this area, if u intend to stay in the room during the day, note that you might hear the music playing from the streets in the room, however, after the shops are closed around 10pm, you can get a relatively good night's sleep. Overall, a pleasant stay. The reception staff are very friendly and makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank y_c10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

First i booked double room from agoda and i got a room same as photos that i attached.It's good enough and i checked in 12 am (early for every hotel).Look like old customer just leaved room.i smell like smoking still there anyway, i out for travel and back after 6pm.then decide to upgrade my room.A staff very nice.She was up grade my room for five hundred TWD to 8th floor,and i like it very much! Bigger..cozy and without smoking smell.Love everything in this room.by the way, this room very good location.It's heart of Ximending.i recommend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank anyamagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is my second visit to Taiwan and I have chosen to stay at Rainbow Hotel again. Excellent location and hotel staff. There are shops, restaurant, 7-11 and Metro Station within walking distance. I have a standard room with my sister. The room was small but it doesn't matter to us as we only need a room to rest and sleep in after a day of shopping. The only complaint is that there is only 1 lift for the 8-storey high hotel and it is super slow. However it would not stop me from staying there for my next visit to Taiwan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn4088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Traveled to Taiwan for the first time in Feb 2012 and decided on Rainbow Hotel, which is very well located. Although at first we couldn't find the hotel, upon reaching Ximen, it was cause we direct translated the word "rainbow" in Chinese to the locals there, so they didn't understand what we were talking about. I love the vicinity as in the early afternoon, the youth-friendly shops are opened for shopping and there are a lot of food available. From bbt, to fast food such as KFC, Starbucks and convenience store! It is a really happening area and it is just 5 minutes away from the Metro Station! In the night, the night market carts starts to come and set up, where they sell items from clothes to pouches, to socks and also the cart food such as corn :-)

Our room was very clean, with a bathtub. The receptionist were very nice and friendly. The breakfast provided, was good and reasonable too! :-) The Wi-Fi connection, however, was not as strong. It was pretty limited (I guess it depends on your gadget as well). It is really worth the price for the stay cause of the good customer service they provide and its centric location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyKYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is the second time we are traveling to taipei and my wife requested that we book our hotel within the Ximending area. She fond of shopping especially bargain items. Unknowingly, I never knew that it was located on the crossroad of the busiest shopping area in Ximendeng. Our room was a double deluxe and was located at the corner of the building. The room size was just right and the toilet was at the corner with the window you can view the activities at the crossroad itself. The toilet was surprisingly clean. Even if you don't need to make up the room, by the time you get back in the evening, it was cleaned and tidy. The hotel was within walking distance to MRT, restaurants, shops, street artist, and street performers which is very popular in Ximending. When you are tired the whole day in the tour or shopping, you can just walk to your hotel and rest. The noise outside was not noticeable from our room due maybe to its double window glazing. The staff was very accommodating too. We were booked without breakfast but we requested to charge it in our stay and it was reasonably cheap at only NT$50 PAX. The breakfast was satisfactory serving scrambled egg, vegetables, bread, hotdog or ham, coffee, milk tea, and fruits. I would recommend this hotel to my friends going to Taipei.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed at Rainbow Hotel in Nov 2011 with my hubby (that time was still boyfriend).

It was our first trip and my hubby recommended this place.

The hotel is at a great location of Xi Men Ding.. the happening place in Taipei where youngsters hang out here..

The receptionist was very friendly. Because we arrived before the check in time, they were helpful to keep our luggage with them at the lobby first, even though the lobby is very small, but we were alright with it.

The hotel room was quite alright with the price we paid, but there was no view. The wall was quite thin, we can hear the cleaner lady outside in the morning from our room.

There's a cinema nearby, which we went to catch a movie while waiting to check in.

There's a pharmacy opposite the hotel, which is convenient for us to get some toiletries when needed.

There's restaurant everywhere nearby and shopping too!!!

I wish there is more variety with their breakfast though.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay there being a great location to travel around with the subway station just 2-3 mins away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmycjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#89 of 566 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - ZhongHua Branch
0.1 mi away
Diary of Ximen Hotel I
Diary of Ximen Hotel I
#253 of 566 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
East Dragon Hotel
East Dragon Hotel
#168 of 566 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
ECFA Hotel Wan Nian
ECFA Hotel Wan Nian
#215 of 566 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airline Inn Taipei Zhong Hua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Property: Rainbow Hotel
Address: No.36 Hanzhong Street, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 566 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing