We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, right in the heart of Ximending”
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #267 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, right in the heart of Ximending”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Location of this hotel is good. Staffs are helpful and friendly and helped us ordered stuffs wuth no extra charge. Overall it was a pleasant stay..except for 2 nights while I was brushing teeth, the tap water was yellow.. Luckily I was using the paper cups they provided... Checked with the staffs the next day, and was told maybe they were cleaning the water pipes..but hmm..we weren't informed at all.. Another thing is..we stayed at level 7...so there was no wifi reception at all..so for people who need wifi, might help by requesting for lower floor rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shive81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    182
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
69
47
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Great location, is in the heart of Ximending, and its only 5min walk to the subway.

We were attended by a friendly front desk assistant, he checks in us with a welcoming smile, and explain hotel facilities to us in a friendly manner.

The nigt we were looking for some good steamboat, and another front desk assistant introduce us to a restaurant where the locals go and it was so good and totally worth the price.

The room was clean and perfect for girls like us who look for reasonable price and comfy bed.

Thr only downside is the toilet flush does not work very well, even the one at the breakfast place. Theres 4 of us occupied the room, and coincidently we need to use the toilet, where the only solution is to walk to the coffee shop across the street as the toilet was stuck again.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we enjoyed our taipei trip very much. Will definitely introduce my friends to stay here.

KUDOS to the always friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pohling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Well located in the heart of Ximen. Nothing fancy but quite decent for the price they charge. Friendly staff who are always willing to help with little tips on where to go and what to eat. Taipei lives up to it's reputation for great street food. Come out of the entrance of the hotel and you are right in the thick of eating and shopping. Good value for money. Had a great stay. Will return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmund_nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Paid on line through Agoda for 3 nights stays in Rainbow Hotel and realize during check in that we have paid 25% more than walk in rate. The reception told us that it is more expensive through Agoda and advice to call direct for reservation. Lesson learn, Agoda don't usually have good deal. The room turn out to be old and run down. Although it has good location but with the money we paid, it is not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mettayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in heart of Xi Meng Ding. We went shopping immediately after checking in. However, the downside was we had to bear with the noise in our room. I had no problem falling asleep as I used ear plugs every night. We had a triple room which was very spacious and cost us about US$90 per night. Recommend not to choose the room at the same level as their cafe coz it's very noisy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choo_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

had a great stay, nothing more to ask for (since we don't stay in the room very often)

good in it's own way and staffs are certainly very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is kind of bland though but it's heaven once you stepped out of the hotel! (lotsa good food in ximending)

Wifi signals are rather strong on my level.. walking distance to train stations and not far away from most of the main attractions in taipei. got assigned a room with TWO KING BEDS xD

not a bad choice to stay in if you're just looking for a good room and reliable service to depend on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked two triple rooms for 4 nights but was given free upgrade for one of the rooms. The quad room was huge with two queen beds and big bathroom. The triple room was slightly smaller, but still had space for walking and opening luggages. Wifi was terrible as everyone mentioned. The people in my party who did not buy prepaid sim cards could not use the wifi in the hotel at all. So if u want to stay at rainbow hotel, please buy the local sim card if u need internet.

Breakfast was provided if you book directly from the hotel website. It's also cheaper than booking from other sites. Edible but not fantastic, not for fussy ones. The food is mostly simple vegetarian fare wtih almost the same dishes everyday. They make an effort to change the type of vegetables though. I liked the eggs the most. There's nothing to lose if you plan to sleep through breakfast hour anyway. There are lots of food stalls outside the hotel if you need better breakfast.

The staffs are very friendly! They greet u all the time. I could say even all the taiwanese shop owners we met throughout the trip are friendly people.

Soundproofing in the hotel is bad. We could hear noises at night...people talking and listening to music from outside can be heard from the room. I would also like to highlight that on our 4th morning(3 oct), drilling noises in the hotel could be heard as early as 9am in the morning. This woke us up from our sleep.

The location is the best, right smack in the liveliest area of ximending and very convenient!

Pros: location, friendly staff, great value, free breakfast
Cons: weak wifi connection, poor soundprooofing, tiled flooring. maybe carpeted flooring would make the rooms feel cleaner

Tip: come down at 11pm when all the makeshift stalls appear selling food, clothes and random stuff. The popiah ice cream and sweet potato balls are so good!! The other stalls sell unique things.Then watch the stall owners run away with the trolley carts when the police comes. What an eye-opener.

The famous Ah Zhong mee sua is along one of the shops below KFC on the left. Best mee sua in taipei ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvholiday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Wanhua District
East Dragon Hotel
East Dragon Hotel
#172 of 571 in Taipei
141 reviews
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#101 of 571 in Taipei
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ECFA Hotel Wan Nian
#230 of 571 in Taipei
143 reviews
Via Hotel
#49 of 571 in Taipei
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Property: Rainbow Hotel
Address: No.36 Hanzhong Street, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing