We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with clean comfortable rooms”
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #274 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location with clean comfortable rooms”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in a deluxe double ... The room was spacious for my friend and I to spread our suitcases out on the floor, something which the standard rooms seem to lack! Bed was comfy, however pillows could be fluffier and not so flat. The room was always kept clean, towels were changed, carpets didn't have any visible dirt stains. Would definitely stay here again when I go back to Taipei!

Location-wise, could not be better. 3 min walk to Xi Men Metro station, 10m aways from Starbucks, next door to a very delicious milk tea shop (try their Yakult Green Tea with pearls), 20m away from local food stalls, selling yummy carrot cake, oyster omelette, and many other local foodfare. This hotel is literally right smack in the heart of the action of Xi Men Ding. And after the end of each day, my friend and I just looked forward to getting back to our nicely made room to rest. Seeing the green sign from afar brought relief to our aching bodies!

The staff were always helpful and always smiling and friendly, what more could we ask for? Any question was readily answered and it made the whole trip so much more enjoyable. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more to get the Deluxe to enjoy more space ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizarrebeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    182
    70
    19
    5
See reviews for
70
48
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Booked this hotel for six nights for a 3-person room

This hotel is located in the centre of ximending, we arrived on a sunday afternoon so the taxi dropped us at the end of the street as no vehicles are allowed on sunday.However it was only a 3-minute short walk So no issue for us.

Room was cleaned and the front desk staff are very friendly and you can ask them for recommendation of food and places of interest. Hotel also provide laundry service with a laundry shop, they provide same day laundry service and charged by the weight of your clothing . It cost us NT250 for 8 pcs.

Breakfast is provided and selection are porridge with a few type of pickled vegetables, there are bread ,scrambled egg,juices (cordial),coffee tea .

The nearest Ximen mrt is only a few minutes walk and we use exit 6 and there is a Chengdu starfruit ice store( not fresh starfruit) just next to the exit and I love the starfruit with ice.

The famous pork rib shop and the modern toilet restaurant are all within two or three streets from the hotel,5 minutes walk.

We were there for the nights of 6,8 to 11,13 nov, the room we had on 6 nov was room 302 and the window is facing another building so no noise here

For 8 to 11 nov our room was 503 and the window is facing another building so no noise here but the room has smell of smoking so I bought a bottle of pillow and room spray although the housekeeper did try to spray the room for us after our complaint.

For 13 nov we were given a 6 person room 612, this room is facing the street so I could hear the noise in the morning and I was glad that I only got this room on the last night in Taipei.

If you are a light sleeper then I don't recommend this hotel as won star hotels and east dragon hotel are nearby rainbow hotel but these hotels are away from the ximending noise

But for the price and convenience of the location I think this hotel is worth a stay

Room Tip: Try to request room facing the other side away from the ximending street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Icerosetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Love staying this hotel cos the staff always put up a smile. The room and the bed is very clean inwhich everyday have the toiletries been replaced. They have free internet service which you can use it from 7am to 10pm. The location of this hotel is right in the centre of the Ximen shopping district and easily access Ximen Mrt station 6 . Will recommend to friend and will stay there in my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEN1255Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My second stay at this hotel this June, my first stay dated 2 years back. It was definitely worth every penny and would recommend to the people around me =)

ROOM:
Stayed there for 5 nights in a family room for 4 (2 Queen beds). Clean and spacious. Mini-fridge, TV, hair-dryer, hangers, coffee and tea sachets and bathroom neccessities replenished daily. Booked directly with the hotel and paid less than SGD$40 per person per night, breakfast included. What other better deals can you get out there??

Breakfast: Porridge with little dishes like chilli bamboo shoots, eggs, vegetable etc and toast, buffet-style. We were almost the first few guests in the breakfast area throughout our stay there, that we didn't realize they do serve hotdogs and sandwiches at around 8plus a.m. We were always done before 8.15am. Haha! My teenager cousin got bored with the breakfast after the third night. Fret not, there are many eateries just around the hotels for you to get an alternative breakfast.

Services: Friendly front-desk receptionists that practically knew all tourist spots like the back of their hand. Just asked if you do not know how to get to a certain location and they will gladly direct you there. They also provided laundry cleaning, which charges reasonably by the weight of your clothes. We sent our clothes for cleaning twice during our stay and we get back our clean and ironed clothes that very night itself. Need to check out of the room but your flight home is hours later?Just leave your luggage in their lobby and you can go wander around and come back for it later. It's safe.

Location: In the Heart of Ximending. Bustling with youngsters and street artistes at night. Which makes it awfully safe to walk around at night. =) Too early to go to bed? Stop by one of the cafes and have a light supper. Roam around the alleys and do abit of shopping. Grab some fruits or bubble tea or snacks and watch the street artistes showcasing their work of art. Or really, just stop and people-watch. There's so much to do just before bed-time. =)

Con: The only fault if i need to find is the rule that we need to hand over our hotel room's keys to the front-desk everyday before leaving the hotel. That's still ok cos they will safe-keep it for us. The problem is they need no proof of identification when we are back to retrieve the keys. Just quote your room number and they hand the keys to you. No questions asked. On my first visit there, my friend decided to be naughty and just quote a random room number and the receptionist handed that key over to her. We were like....."OMG, it's so dangerous!!?? What if some thieves walk into the hotel and do the same? Won't our belongings in the room be stolen?" After letting our thoughts known to the receptionists, they explained that they normally take note. I guess we should all take precaution on our part by safeguarding our important documents like passport and money and not leave it around in the hotel room ya.

Overall, a great place to stay in. The strategice location was a big,fat bonus to it. It rained almost every night when we were there and we had to shorten our planned route for the day and head back to the hotel earlier. But thankfully, there's so much to do around the area that we didn't think of it as a wasted day.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on the higher floors as it is quieter. You can hear the hustle and bustle of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cloversze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Location and accessibility to nearest mtr was excellent. A lot of snacks and food nearby to eat, very hassel free. Next to the hotel is the bubble tea. Hotel do provide breakfast but very simple. I would recommend to walk around you will be able to find a lot of better alternatives for breakfast. Room was quite small and at night will be bit noisy till late night so not recommend for those looking for place to relax away. If you want convenient hotel to move around, this is the one..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda_22005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the rainbow hotel for 6 nights last week and for the location, I could not ask for more. It's located right at Ximending and just 5 min walk to the mrt station.

Before we left Sg, I called to enquire about how we were getting to the hotel and they were helpful to suggest that they can arrange for a taxi from Taoyuan to the hotel. When we landed, the driver was there with our vehicle and we arrived at our hotel safely.

There are great little eateries around the hotel and at night when we returned, there are street vendors selling food even at midnight.

The rooms are pretty old but equipped for a weeks stay. Bedsteads were changed and floors are clean.

For the location and accessibility, it's a good stay. Anyway in Taipei you visit the night markets till very late and only go back to sleep!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

No frills hotel located right in Ximending. We had fun staying here because it was smack in the shopping district. Staff were friendly and helpful. Clean, comfortable and great value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#109 of 575 in Taipei
535 reviews
Wanhua District
East Dragon Hotel
East Dragon Hotel
#180 of 575 in Taipei
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wanhua District
Muzik Hotel - Ximending Xining Branch
Via Hotel
#51 of 575 in Taipei
459 reviews
Swiio Hotel
#32 of 575 in Taipei
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Property: Rainbow Hotel
Address: No.36 Hanzhong Street, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing