We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Shin Shih Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shin Shih Hotel
Ranked #370 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Room is of reasonable size and I stayed in a twin room, but the hotel is quite outdated. Great location as it is near to Shuanglian station and many places to eat out. Staff are polite. Breakfast so-so, I ate out the second day. With the price I paid for this hotel, I am sure I can get similar places to stay around Taipei Station as well. I would give rate of 3.5.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydiaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 143 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

For the price I paid, I must say this is a pretty good deal in Taipei City. The location is great, just 3 minutes' walk from Shuanglian MRT, or if you are up for it, you can even walk to Taipei Main Station, about 30mins (it is linked by an underground mall). There are plenty of local eateries in the area (Dumplings place across the street, next to KFC, is awesome), and in the morning, there is a market outside the station. You can also catch a bus (Bus No. 5201) directly to the airport from the bus stop near the hotel. It takes about 1-1.5 hours, 150TWD, and comes every 20-30 minutes.

The place looks a little dingy from the outside, but don't let that fool you. The room, albeit a little small, was great - very clean and comfortable. They had all the usual amenities - TV, kettle, hair dryer, fridge, and even a jacuzzi bathtub! The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Didn't try the breakfast so I can't judge. Honestly, I have no complains about this place (except maybe the fact that there was no windows).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The overall room service is acceptable except there are other guest smoking. This causes my room to be filled with smoke in the day and in middle of the night. Smoke lingers until next morning. If you are unlucky to have a smoking neighbor, you will get 2nd hand smoke all the time in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hi,

I have been there for one week and I really appreciate my stay. For many reason.
First, the location is perfect. You are at 3 minutes of Shuanglian station. Shuanglian is only at two stations away of the main station one.

Second, the staff are more than kind and are doing more than what they are suppose to do.
I will never forget what they have done for me and my family during my stay.
You will not find this kindness from staff in big hotel.

Third, the price is very reasonable.

The aspects who should be less positive is the lack of pool and gym. However, all seem great for me.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room have the perfect size for one people. However, it's too tight for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

the hotel overall was good. the reception was really good and friendly. they even allow us to check in early as the room was ready. the location is not really in the heart of the city but it is still very good. it is very easy to find and it is just about 10mins walk from shuanglian metro station. the room was nice and comfy. however i didn't quite like the bath tub as it made the whole toilet floor wet... very easy to get around. quite convenient too if you need to find a money changer as the banks are quite near...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeraldcoolpianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel, 2011 and 2012, both times in December. And i have to say, it's a nice little hotel which is definitely worth every cent that you pay.

Good location:
- 5 minutes walk from Shuang Lian MRT station, which is only 2 stops from Taipei main station.
- Good food can be found everywhere around, from right downstairs the hotel, to Ning Xia night market which is 15 minutes walk down the road. That's my favourite night market by the way.
- 5 minutes walk from Cama cafe, I love the coffee there.
- 10 minutes walk from a 24 hours Wellcome supermarket.

Clean & Cosy rooms:
- rooms are small but cosy, beds are comfy too.
- There is a small safe for keeping your valuables, which is awesome.
- Other facilities include electric kettle, LCD TV, hair dryer, etc.
- Both times i stayed there, i got the rooms without window/view, but not a concern for me.
- Toilet is clean, but the room i got for my second stay, the toilet floor easily accumulates a puddle of water after showering. Not a big deal, but I would have a much better experience if water on the floor can be drained off more easily.
- My room had a Jacuzzi equipped bathtub with fanciful coloured LED lights. A new packet of bath oil is provided every day.

Decent Service:
- I do not have much to say about the service, usual check in and out, payments and miscellaneous stuff, pretty much average, no major issue encountered.
- Rental of DVD player is available from the reception.
- Room service was pretty good too, clean and tidy up the room daily, pretty much what you would have expect.
- Both times i stayed there, i have never tried the breakfast. But from the other reviews, it seems that the breakfast is not good. Anyway, awesome food is always less than a minute away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TadaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel overall is good. Convenient to travel around Taipei because it is very close to MRT station (5 mins walking distance). You can even take a public bus directly to Taoyuan Airport. But the room size is small, hardly enough space for me to put 2 luggages.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZhiHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel I Journey Taipei
Hotel I Journey Taipei
#142 of 578 in Taipei
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wish Hotel
Wish Hotel
#284 of 578 in Taipei
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#47 of 578 in Taipei
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dahshin Hotel
Dahshin Hotel
#382 of 578 in Taipei
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Hotel Bnight
0.4 mi away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#41 of 578 in Taipei
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shin Shih Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shin Shih Hotel

Address: B1-F12, No.8 Minsheng West Road, Chung Shan, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $54 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shin Shih Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shin Shih Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shin Shih Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing