We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at Shin Shih Hotel”
Review of Shin Shih Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shin Shih Hotel
Ranked #384 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Experience at Shin Shih Hotel”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 19th to 24th December and I must say I'm left with pleasant memories, with minimal hiccups here and there.

Location:- The hotel is conveniently located about 2 mins away from Shuanglian MRT, which is 2 stops away from Taipei Main Station. Remember to get out via Exit 1 so that you won't have to cross the road back to the hotel. If you are coming from the airport, just buy a ticket at the Evergreen bus counter (150NT) and hop on the bus that comes once every 20 mins. The whole journey takes slightly less than an hour and you get down on your 3rd stop. Just inform the driver where you want to get off just to be sure.

If you want to go back to the airport after your stay, just wait at the same bus-stop. The bus comes by every 20 mins (you gotta flag it down) and you pay just before you get off the airport (150NT). It takes slightly longer from the hotel to the airport because the bus stops at more places.

The hotel is located opposite a hospital, but in case you think it'll be noisy, the number of ambulances on siren I heard at night numbered at most two, and the sound is quite muffled. You don't have to worry about traffic noise, especially if you are staying on a higher floor.

There are many quaint eateries surrounding the hotel. Check out the Lao Dong Beef Noodle shop located just opposite the Shuanglian MRT, it's good. From the hotel, turn left and walk straight, past the MRT, and continue for about 10 more mins, you will hit Ningxia Night Market. It's a small night market with two rows of food stalls, but enough to get a bite and also play some fun games.

There is a convenience store just a couple of steps away and to the right of the hotel entrance. Beside the convenience store is a police post, and it is pretty safe to walk around at night.

Hotel Room:-
I stayed in their superior single room. It's small but cosy. If you plan to bring more than one luggage, I suggest you ask for a larger room. The only space I can find to put my luggage is at the foot of the bed near the door, and if I want to open the door, I've to close up my luggage else it's a squeeze.

The LCD TV is of a respectable size, with sufficient channels for you to kill some time at night before you sleep. There is also complementary bottles of water everyday in the fridge, plus a safe. The wardrobe is pathetic, with 2 hangers, so you might want to bring a few hangers in your own luggage if you want to hang out more than 2 articles of clothing.

Bathroom is big. There is a jacuzzi bathtub but I didn't use the jacuzzi feature as the wall socket where the wire leads out from has came off and I don't want to end up electrocuted in the bath. The bathtub is those standalone ones and water will splash out and soak the floor, a minor inconvenience for me but some might mind wet bathrooms.

The bed is cosy, and aircon is working well, except it gets too cold, but then again it'll depend on the season you are travelling, and I traveled in the cold season.

The rooms are generally noise insulated from each other. However, you can hear the voices of people when they are walking outside the corridor, and if you can hear them, they probably can hear you too.

If you ever get a room, ask for a high floor, and ask for one that is situated deeper inside. Every floor has 4 rooms, but one of the room is just situated right next to the lift. It's really strange and if you value more privacy, find a room that is located deeper in.

Hotel breakfast:-
For this price, I must say that the hotel breakfast is good! The variety is not what you will get in those larger hotels. They serve the usual ham + egg, bread and buns, plain porridge with 3 side dishes (the variety changes everyday), coffee, tea, juice, hot soup and fruits. You get to eat a satisfying and hearty breakfast, and it is quite appetizing. You get free flow of coffee 24/7 also from the coffee dispenser.


In general, the hotel staff are very friendly and can speak pretty good English. There are a couple of maps available at the reception area. All in all, I'm satisfied with my stay and if you are on a budget, this is a wonderful place to park yourself at for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor that is not beside the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JY2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    75
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
31
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is located near to Shuang Lian Station. There are eateries, Watsons, Cosmed and market near the area.

Room and bathroom is big and comfortable. One thing bad is their power supply. the kettle refuse to work and we took one whole day to charge a phone (usually it takes only 2 hours or so).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleenlsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Transport - Direct bus fr airport to door step. Walking distance to mrt. Many nice food within walking distance. Staff (including the cleaners) are very friendly and helpful. The room is small, but it is acceptable. Simple buffet breakfast - not much choices. At any time, you can have free hot coffee/tea from the machine at the cafe (self service). Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Fantastic base for exploring Taipei, right next to the Shuanglian MTR line so it was easily accessible to most places, its immediate surroundings were not bad either - and very near a bar district. Exceedingly accommodating and room service was phenomenal whether it was food, linens, or maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

If I could give 2.5 stars I would, or maybe 3 if it was just a weekend stay but I stayed here for 6 days and I wish had taken the option at the beginning to pay day-by-day rather than upfront as I would probably have checked out after a couple of days.

There is nothing too terrible about the hotel but a culmination of little things.

When I arrived in the evening at 7pm I was told the room wasn't ready as the previous guest checked out - would I mind waiting? I went to dinner nearby and the room was cleaned on my arrival.
I never got the safe to work - had an error message. I reported it on the 1st day and no-one ever came to check it.
The wifi kept breaking for the first 3 days, I had to keep reporting it. They apologised and generally rebooted it straight away.
The bed was too firm for me and had uncomfortable pillows.
As previously mentioned, the hotel is opposite a hospital and, on the 7th floor and not on the front of the hotel, I heard ambulances all night, especially on weekends.
Though the room has a window the adjacent building is so close the room is dark all the time.
The room was generally clean but when I went to plug in something there was lots of dirt around the plugs.
There is no cupboard or suitable place for clothes. There was one small half-unit with 2 hangars only suitable for a shirt to hang.
Breakfast is very uninspiring with a handful of items to choose from. The nearby bakeries are much better.
Walls are thin. Could hear other guests in the morning though they were very loud mainland chinese shouting at one another.

The good things about the hotel:
1. Location! 2 mins walk from Shuanglian MRT on the red line. Many buses nearby, plenty of shops and restaurants and cafes around.
2. Apart from the safe issues the staff were very helpful and spoke both English and Mandarin well.
3. Bathroom was clean and a good size. Also had a jacuzzi bath.
4. Free water every day, wifi throughout hotel and coffee in the lobby 24 hours.

My reviews of hotels are generally positive and I go to Taipei frequently but I wouldn't stay here again. The nearby Yomi is only slightly more expensive but much better.

Room Tip: Four rooms on a floor. _02 and _03 will be dark as the immediately face another wall. _04 will face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with a 2 year old kid. We booked the executive room and stayed at level 11..a very big room,big bathroom..with low price..really worth it!eventhough it is just opposite the hospital but due to higher floor..we didn't really affected by the siren of the ambulance at night..the toiletries given was great!!its really worth the value that we pay..we will definitely stay here again next time...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wywong80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

My family stayed at the hotel from 17 to 22 Dec 2011.
The hotel is located minutes away from Shuanglian MRT and the bus stop of 5201 that we took from the airport,
The Shuanglian MRT is the starting point of underground street where you could visit in the event of wet wheather.
The rooms are clean and the front desk staff are helpful. The only issue is the hospital which is directly infront of the hotel. We stayed at 11th floor so that's not much disturbance.
Overall, I rate this hotel good and value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel I Journey Taipei
Hotel I Journey Taipei
#102 of 571 in Taipei
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wish Hotel
Wish Hotel
#278 of 571 in Taipei
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#46 of 571 in Taipei
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lihao Hotel
Lihao Hotel
#425 of 571 in Taipei
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dahshin Hotel
Dahshin Hotel
#376 of 571 in Taipei
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
#38 of 571 in Taipei
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shin Shih Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shin Shih Hotel

Property: Shin Shih Hotel
Address: B1-F12, No.8 Minsheng West Road, Chung Shan, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shin Shih Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shin Shih Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shin Shih Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing